You are not logged in.

#351 2011-02-15 08:56:51

broken pipe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 238

Re: The i3 thread

could someone pls help me how to include those system information into the i3 bar at the bottom? which packages are needed? is it possible to create a systray within this bar to safe space on the screen (in my config trayer is running above the bar and wastes imo too much space)

Offline

#352 2011-02-15 10:22:54

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

broken pipe, you need to start Conky like this:

conky -c ~/path/to/conkyrc | i3-wsbar -c "dzen2 -dock -h 18 -w 1024 -ta l -fn '123-9'"

(this is just an example)
And include the information you want in your 'conkyrc'. I have this in mine:

background no
use_xft yes
# xftfont 123:size=8
out_to_console yes
out_to_x no
update_interval 2
total_run_times 0
# own_window yes
# own_window_type dock
# own_window_transparent yes
double_buffer yes
border_inner_margin 0
border_outer_margin 0
use_spacer none
if_up_strictness address
short_units yes

TEXT
^pa(550)^fg()^i(/home/archman/.i3/icons/cpu.xbm) $cpu% · ^pa(600)/ ${fs_free /}/${fs_size /} · ^pa(700)/home ${fs_free /home}/${fs_size /home}^pa(823) · ^i(/home/archman/.i3/icons/power-ac.xbm) ${execi 2 acpi -a | grep -o "on-line"}^fg(red)${execi 2 acpi -a | grep -o "off-line"}^fg() · ^pa(908)^i(/home/archman/.i3/icons/pacman.xbm)${execpi 60 /home/archman/.scripts/pacupdate.pl} · ^pa(945)^i(/home/archman/.i3/icons/mail.xbm) ${execpi 300 /home/archman/.scripts/gmailcheck} · ^pa(984)^fg(white)${time %H:%M}

Looks like this: http://ompldr.org/vN2ZpMg/desk.png

So basically, you need Conky, i3-wsbar and dzen2.

Have fun. smile

Offline

#353 2011-02-15 14:48:39

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

You don't need to have i3-wsbar. You can use the internal workspace bar, just use conky with dzen2, and specify the x and y coordinate explicitly:

conky -c ~/path/to/conkyrc | dzen2 -h 18 -w 780 -ta l -x 500 -y 782

(Also, make sure NOT to dock the dzen)

Last edited by kcirick (2011-02-15 14:49:31)

Offline

#354 2011-02-17 03:50:42

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: The i3 thread

kcirick, when I run the conky via CLI, I can see my conky being displayed. However, putting it in i3config as

exec conky -c ~/path/to/conkyrc | dzen2 -h 18 -w 780 -ta l -x 500 -y 782

doesn't show my conky. any ideas?

EDIT: Never mind, putting it in .xinitrc works. I have always been unsure whether its better to start apps from within the WM's config or from xinitrc


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#355 2011-02-17 04:11:12

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

Inxsible wrote:

kcirick, when I run the conky via CLI, I can see my conky being displayed. However, putting it in i3config as

exec conky -c ~/path/to/conkyrc | dzen2 -h 18 -w 780 -ta l -x 500 -y 782

doesn't show my conky. any ideas?

You probably checked this already, but the x and y coordinates are top left of the rectangle that dzen draws. I'm not worried about the x coordinate, but for the y-coordinate, make sure it is set to (monHeight - dzenHeight). For example in the example above, my monitor is 800 pixels in height, and since I specified the height of the dzen bar as 18pixels, the y coordinate is 782 (800-18). Does the dzen show conky when you set x and y coordinate to (0,0)?

Edit (reply to Inxsible's edit): Interesting that it doesn't work if you put it in the config. I always start it from xinitrc so I guess that's why I didn't notice. Perhaps i3 reserves space for the internal bar when it first initializes, and it doesn't let dzen draw in that space? (totally pulling that out of my behind... I haven't a clue why)

Last edited by kcirick (2011-02-17 05:34:42)

Offline

#356 2011-02-23 09:08:28

Jelle
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2011-01-30
Posts: 84

Re: The i3 thread

Just sharing my love for i3, I'm really enjoying this WM. The only thing I'd like is the ability to save window layouts. Anyway, here's my startup desktop; other applications are assigned to other desktops at startup.


tN2l3cw

Offline

#357 2011-03-07 21:10:58

Atsutane
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

And here comes the PKGBUILD for the second preview. Though it's still more helpful to use the tree branch directly with a modified i3-git and report issues upstream.

# Maintainer: Thorsten Töpper <atsutane-tu@freethoughts.de>

pkgname=i3-tree
pkgver=pr2
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="An improved dynamic tiling window manager - tree preview"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://i3.zekjur.net/tree/"
license=('BSD')
replaces=("i3-wm")
depends=('libxcursor' 'xcb-util' 'libev' 'yajl')
makedepends=('bison' 'flex')
optdepends=('rxvt-unicode: The terminal emulator used in the default config.'
            'dmenu: As menu.')
options=('docs' '!strip')
source=(http://i3.zekjur.net/downloads/${pkgname}-${pkgver}.tar.bz2)
md5sums=('988a480393a0c193ed1dcd222d9c643d')

build() {
  cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver"
  
  make
}

package() {
  cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver"

  make DESTDIR="$pkgdir/" install
  
  install -Dm644 man/i3.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3.1
  install -Dm644 man/i3-msg.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3-msg.1
  install -Dm644 man/i3-input.1 \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/man/man1/i3-input.1
  install -Dm644 LICENSE \
    ${pkgdir}/usr/share/licenses/${pkgname}/LICENSE
  
  make clean
}

# vim:set ts=2 sw=2 et:

[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#358 2011-03-08 09:10:07

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: The i3 thread

Atsutane wrote:

Though it's still more helpful to use the tree branch directly with a modified i3-git and report issues upstream.

This might be the right time to show my i3-tree-git PKGBUILD: http://pastebin.com/0JskrvKN For the lazy guys wink

Offline

#359 2011-04-03 18:47:49

broken pipe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 238

Re: The i3 thread

is there any way to use system notifications just like notify-send? i tried to send a notification from console but i couldn't see any popup sad ...

Offline

#360 2011-04-24 12:17:43

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 371

Re: The i3 thread

Hi,

I have a couple of questions on the tree branch, more specifically on i3, i3bar (tree-branch) and i3status (master branch). I use the latest git versions.

First, it seems that it is not possible to combine the -m switch (i.e. auto hide) and top position in i3bar. Is this correct?

Second, I really like the simplicity of i3status config! However, I'd like to call arbitrary commands. More specifically, I want to check if I have any unread mail, for example using conckymail, or something similar. This does not seem to possible at the moment, unless, maybe, one could use the Run-watch plugin in creative manners... Correct?

Third, in previous iterations of i3 I was able to start i3bar or similar using

exec i3bar ...

in the config. At the moment this does not seem to work, at least not on config-reload. Should exec be working in the tree branch yet?

Fourth, I'd like to kill clients using Mod4 + backspace. However, using

bindsym Mod4+backspace kill

in the config does not work. I am guessing backspace has another fancier name.

Fifth, in wmii I had configured my bar to accept commands on mouse clicks. E.g. when I clicked on the date it would open gsimplecal. This is probably not possible with i3bar. Does anybody have a simple idea on how to archive this effect? I.e. an `interactive'-like i3bar.

Thanks,
Rasmus

Last edited by Pank (2011-04-24 13:02:08)


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#361 2011-04-25 18:56:42

Atsutane
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

Pank wrote:

First, it seems that it is not possible to combine the -m switch (i.e. auto hide) and top position in i3bar. Is this correct?

Currently that's not possible. Edit: I just asked Merovius why that is:

<Merovius> Atsutane: If you would combine them, all windows would constantly being resized and the whole tree/table had to be recalculated constantly.

Pank wrote:

Second, I really like the simplicity of i3status config! However, I'd like to call arbitrary commands. More specifically, I want to check if I have any unread mail, for example using conckymail, or something similar. This does not seem to possible at the moment, unless, maybe, one could use the Run-watch plugin in creative manners... Correct?

Not for now, file a feature request at the tracker, I'll talk with Michael about this.

Pank wrote:

Fourth, I'd like to kill clients using Mod4 + backspace. However, using

bindsym Mod4+backspace kill

in the config does not work. I am guessing backspace has another fancier name.

It's case-sensitive, the symbol is BackSpace (use xev to get symbols and keycodes).

Pank wrote:

Fifth, in wmii I had configured my bar to accept commands on mouse clicks. E.g. when I clicked on the date it would open gsimplecal. This is probably not possible with i3bar. Does anybody have a simple idea on how to archive this effect? I.e. an `interactive'-like i3bar.

It is not and it won't be implemented.

Last edited by Atsutane (2011-04-25 19:29:47)


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#362 2011-04-25 20:18:28

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Pank wrote:

Fifth, in wmii I had configured my bar to accept commands on mouse clicks. E.g. when I clicked on the date it would open gsimplecal. This is probably not possible with i3bar. Does anybody have a simple idea on how to archive this effect? I.e. an `interactive'-like i3bar.

I believe that effect can be done using i3-wsbar with dzen2, since dzen2 can possibly be made 'clickable'. Give a search on that one, it might be possible. smile

Offline

#363 2011-04-25 23:02:06

RiceKills
Member
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 72

Re: The i3 thread

Is there a way to change the border style without adding a keybind? like in the config?

Offline

#364 2011-04-25 23:19:02

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 371

Re: The i3 thread

Atsutane wrote:

Currently that's not possible. Edit: I just asked Merovius why that is:

<Merovius> Atsutane: If you would combine them, all windows would constantly being resized and the whole tree/table had to be recalculated constantly.

Of course. That makes sense. Overlay magic could be used, I guess, but that would be annoying.

Not for now, file a feature request at the tracker, I'll talk with Michael about this.

Okay. I'll do that. Edit: here

It's case-sensitive, the symbol is BackSpace (use xev to get symbols and keycodes).

Of course. Sorry, I should have figured that one out myself.

It is not and it won't be implemented.

Fair enough.

archman-cro wrote:

I believe that effect can be done using i3-wsbar with dzen2, since dzen2 can possibly be made 'clickable'. Give a search on that one, it might be possible. smile

You are right. But I thought wsbar was being replaced by i3bar in the tree branch? I might have jumped to conclusions, though. Interesting none the less.

RiceKills wrote:

Is there a way to change the border style without adding a keybind? like in the config?

Would this work for you:

i3doc wrote:

This option determines which border style new windows will have: bn for the normal border (including window title), bp for a 1-pixel border (no window title) and bb to make the window borderless.

Syntax:
new_window <bp|bn|bb>

Last edited by Pank (2011-04-25 23:31:30)


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#365 2011-04-25 23:54:05

RiceKills
Member
Registered: 2010-05-31
Posts: 72

Re: The i3 thread

Thats exactly what I needed pank, thanks

Offline

#366 2011-04-26 19:37:04

Atsutane
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: The i3 thread

As the topic just came up: Though my posts seem to be authoritative - they're not, I'm no dev at the project, I just maintain the packages over here. So don't mistake my answers as statements from upstream, most of it is based of my current information I gather from idling in IRC ;-)

@Pank: Point 5: It might be, seems Merovius mentioned something like that once.

So after all, I excuse myself for my bad skills in formulating proper answers, that don't seem to be the way as they should, I'll try to do better in future posts.

(And I really have to improve my english...)

Last edited by Atsutane (2011-04-26 19:39:27)


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#367 2011-04-26 21:06:56

broken pipe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 238

Re: The i3 thread

could someone pls show me how to include a systemtray (i think it works with trayer) into i3-wm's default bar?

Offline

#368 2011-04-26 21:28:20

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 371

Re: The i3 thread

broken pipe wrote:

is there any way to use system notifications just like notify-send? i tried to send a notification from console but i couldn't see any popup sad ...

From the wiki it would seem like you have several options. First, you could install the xfce or gnome daemon. This is probably not what you want, though. So maybe you'd want to check out statnot. Let us know how it works out. Edit: There is also notification-daemon.

You'd probably be able to pipe statnot into whatever bar you are using. I don't have time to look into it at the moment,  but I'll look into bar-stuff (both kinds) post-exams.

@Pank: Point 5: It might be, seems Merovius mentioned something like that once.

It would be useful. As an Emacs-user there are only so and so many useful keyboard shortcuts left. Blessed is the darn Win-key.

So after all, I excuse myself for my bad skills in formulating proper answers, that don't seem to be the way as they should, I'll try to do better in future posts.

On average, Germans are supposed to rule English according to some measures. Consider yourself an outlier! smile
Really, no worries. It better than most (as a somewhat funny note, this summer when I visited D.C. my cousin's (British-American) roomie noted that I probably spoke `more' grammatically correct than most of them; it may just have been a gesture, though).

Last edited by Pank (2011-04-27 20:53:54)


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#369 2011-05-05 19:15:55

nikki
Member
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 12

Re: The i3 thread

I made a quick little modification to make i3 play nice with my systray. It just makes i3 place docks at the bottom right of the screen, but without stretching them (currently i3 stacks them up and stretches them to the entire width). If you want multiple docks you might want it to pay attention to the x position too, but this is all I needed so I left it there. Now I use i3's built in workspace bar, dzen2 for a status thing and stalonetray for a systray. The dzen2 runs without the dock option - I just set its x position and width such that stalonetray has some space left. Here's a screenshot (click on it for a picture of the whole screen, but scaled down):-

Npu1p.png

I also made an AUR package (just i3-git with a patch added).

Offline

#370 2011-05-05 19:20:45

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: The i3 thread

nikki, this is an amazing work. I'm sure many will be interested in this! (since there were quite a few askings about this on irc)
smile

Offline

#371 2011-05-05 19:31:23

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: The i3 thread

nikki can you provide me with a link to the icons that you use in dzen/conky ?

I'd like to put in a volume level in my conky as well. If possible please provide me with your conkyrc as well.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#372 2011-05-05 20:38:35

nikki
Member
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 12

Re: The i3 thread

Glad to be of help. smile

Archive with the icons

conkyrc for conky-cli:

out_to_console yes
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0

TEXT
${if_existing /home/nikki/.newircmsg} ^fg(\#bb2111)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/mail.xbm)^fg() ${tail /home/nikki/.newircmsg 1 2} ^fg(\#224488)|${endif} ^fg(\#af5f00)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/ac.xbm)^fg() ${tail /home/nikki/Today 1 60} ^fg(\#224488)| ^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/phones.xbm)^fg() ${mpd_smart} - ${mpd_elapsed}/${mpd_length} ^fg(\#224488)| ^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/arch_10x10.xbm)^fg() ${execi 5400 pacman -Qu | wc -l} ^fg(\#224488)| ^fg(\#ffffff)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/mem.xbm)^fg() $memperc% ^fg(\#ffffff)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/cpu.xbm)^fg() ${cpu cpu0}% ^fg(\#224488)| ^fg(\#af5f00)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/bat_full_01.xbm)^fg() ${battery_short BAT} ^fg(\#224488)| ^fg(\#ffffff)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/spkr_01.xbm)^fg() ${mixer}% ^fg(\#224488)| ^fg(\#ffffff)^i(/home/nikki/.i3/icons/clock.xbm)^fg() ${time %a %d %b %Y %R:%S} ^fg(\#224488)| 

The first two 'elements' are for notification of IRC messages in file '.newircmsg' (written automatically by weechat whenever I get a new message) and to show a little 'things to do' reminder I have in a file 'Today' (in which I put stuff to remind myself about each day). You probably would want to remove those, but the rest are generic.

The display of number of Arch packages to update is updated only every 1.5 hours (5400 seconds).

Last edited by nikki (2011-05-05 20:42:13)

Offline

#373 2011-05-06 02:55:07

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: The i3 thread

Thanks nikki


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#374 2011-05-06 07:34:45

seiichiro0185
Member
From: Leipzig/Germany
Registered: 2009-04-09
Posts: 226
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Nice, I was searching for an option to get the systray working like this. Will try when I get home from work today!

Applied the patch against the stable verson (PKGBUILD from ABS), works like advertised smile Thanks a lot!

Last edited by seiichiro0185 (2011-05-06 16:25:41)


My System: Dell XPS 13 | i7-7560U | 16GB RAM | 512GB SSD | FHD Screen | Arch Linux
My Workstation/Server: Supermicro X11SSZ-F | Xeon E3-1245 v6 | 64GB RAM | 1TB SSD Raid 1 + 6TB HDD ZFS Raid Z1 | Proxmox VE
My Stuff at Github: github
My Homepage: Seiichiros HP

Offline

#375 2011-05-07 22:41:22

nikki
Member
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 12

Re: The i3 thread

Thank for the feedback, seiichiro0185! Great to see it worked for you! smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB