You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-08 15:38:41

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

There have been several threads showing that gnome-shell might have a memory leak as well as at least one bug report.  I'll admit to looking at the rss for it every now and then, or in a 2-pt time course in a pretty non-controlled fashion.  The purpose of me making yet another thread on this topic is to solicit a few other Archers to run a script and collect some quality data on this topic.  The goal being to inform a gnome bugzilla task on this if this happens on more than my system.

I ran the following script upon logging in to Gnome on an up-to-date system.  I started the script from another tty (ALT+CTRL+F1) then came back to my graphical X running on tty8 and just let the mouse sit there idle.  I stopped collecting data after 45 min as you can see in the graphic.  On my system, gnome-shell clearly "leaks" memory at a rate of ~2 MB/min.  Here is the script I wrote to simply makes two columns in a logfile, one for gnome-shell's mem RSS and the second for a simple time stamp.  You can graph it if you want but just inspecting the raw data shows a clear trend!

idlel.png

#!/bin/bash
for i in {1..6000}; do
    number=$(ps -A --sort -rss -o comm,rss | head -n 3 | grep gnome-shell | awk '{ print $2 }')
    correct=$(echo "scale=2;$number/1024" | bc)
    echo "$correct $i" >> /dev/shm/mem_usage.txt 
    sleep 60s
done

EDIT: I know there is a much more elegant way to code this tongue

As I said in the first paragraph, I'm looking for some others to confirm this behavior on their own systems via this method.  Please post in this thread with your results to inform a bugreport to upstream.

THanks!

Last edited by graysky (2011-07-09 21:02:57)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#2 2011-07-08 15:47:04

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

it will be nice to say what video drivers do you guys use.


also see https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642652 and post all the memory leaks findings there

Last edited by wonder (2011-07-08 15:48:11)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2011-07-08 15:51:53

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

wonder wrote:

it will be nice to say what video drivers do you guys use.
also see https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642652 and post all the memory leaks findings there

I'm using v275.09.07 of nvidia-utils and the corresponding driver for kernel26-ck.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#4 2011-07-08 15:52:41

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

graysky wrote:
wonder wrote:

it will be nice to say what video drivers do you guys use.
also see https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642652 and post all the memory leaks findings there

I'm using v275.09.07 of nvidia-utils and the corresponding driver for kernel26-ck.

nvidia has memory leaks in their opengl implementation. Just try for a while, for testing purpose, nouveau and watch the miracle


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#5 2011-07-08 16:34:46

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

wonder wrote:

nvidia has memory leaks in their opengl implementation. Just try for a while, for testing purpose, nouveau and watch the miracle

The nouveau module is successfully loaded, and gdm opens just fine.  I tried to get it to work but gnome refuses to let me or others users on the box log in!  All I get upon authentication is, "Failed to load session "gnome" [logout]"

Thoughts?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#6 2011-07-08 16:36:36

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

graysky wrote:
wonder wrote:

nvidia has memory leaks in their opengl implementation. Just try for a while, for testing purpose, nouveau and watch the miracle

The nouveau module is successfully loaded, and gdm opens just fine.  I tried to get it to work but gnome refuses to let me or others users on the box log in!  All I get upon authentication is, "Failed to load session "gnome" [logout]"

Thoughts?

that tells me that you don't have metacity installed and it fails to start fallback mode. It does that because gnome-shell needs 3d and for that you need nouveau-dri and KMS enabled

Last edited by wonder (2011-07-08 16:37:24)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#7 2011-07-08 16:39:35

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

wonder wrote:

that tells me that you don't have metacity installed and it fails to start fallback mode. It does that because gnome-shell needs 3d and for that you need nouveau-dri and KMS enabled

Thanks for the quick reply!  Let me try....


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#8 2011-07-08 16:56:41

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

That did it... is nvidia aware of these horrible memory leaks?  Perhaps I should direct a bug report their way?

EDIT: changed my post based on more data.  The memory leak DOES indeed persist with nouveau.

Last edited by graysky (2011-07-08 18:54:16)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#9 2011-07-08 17:01:10

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

graysky wrote:

Wow, what a difference.  Using my script and letting it idle for 15 min, there is no movement in the memrss for gnome-shell (idle), constant at 51.26 MB.  Is nvidia aware of these horrible memory leaks?  Perhaps I should direct a bug report their way?

i don't know. feel free to pester nvidia all you want about performance and memory usage.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#10 2011-07-08 17:05:19

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

wonder wrote:

i don't know. feel free to pester nvidia all you want about performance and memory usage.

Doing so now... how were you aware of the OpenGL leaks?  Must be known to someone smile


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#11 2011-07-08 17:55:21

Griemak
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 46

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

graysky wrote:
wonder wrote:

i don't know. feel free to pester nvidia all you want about performance and memory usage.

Doing so now... how were you aware of the OpenGL leaks?  Must be known to someone smile

Q. OpenGL applications leak significant amounts of memory on my system!

A. If your kernel is making use of the -rmap VM, the system may be leaking
   memory due to a memory management optimization introduced in -rmap14a. The
   -rmap VM has been adopted by several popular distributions, the memory leak
   is known to be present in some of the distribution kernels; it has been
   fixed in -rmap15e.

   If you suspect that your system is affected, try upgrading your kernel or
   contact your distribution's vendor for assistance.

This text appears in nearly every driver released dating back to the 70 series.  It's in the newest release, the drivers you are using, as well:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux … README.txt

BUT... is it related? Looks old...  but it is "known"  smile

There is an unresolved bugzilla that may be related here:
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642652


There are only two ways to live your life: One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle. - Albert Einstein

How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world. - Anne Frank

Offline

#12 2011-07-08 18:51:44

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

This is total bullshit.  It seems that even with nouveau, the memory leak persists.  Upon a reboot and just logging in and sitting at the desktop, nouveau leaks like nvidia did:

idle2i.png

So my original request stays valid: can someone else please try the steps outlined in my first post and report in this thread.  Also be sure to add which video driver you're using.  Hopefully, we can get some data of folks using non-nvidia hardware.

EDIT: Opened a bugzilla to upstream: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=654269

Last edited by graysky (2011-07-08 19:25:03)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#13 2011-07-08 21:22:03

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

Not as much:
gnome-shell-ram.png
http://ompldr.org/vOWVzeQ/mem-usage.txt
http://ompldr.org/vOWVzeg/ps.txt < my running processes

edit: lol, most important information forgotten:

Open Source radeon driver from the radeon repository (kernel26-drm-radeon-testing, it could make a difference...).
HD 4670. And I have the themes extension and the alternative status menu extension installed in gnome-shell.

Last edited by Cdh (2011-07-08 21:23:41)


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#14 2011-07-09 21:04:30

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

Thanks for the post, Cdh.  I marked this as [kinda solved] since I ran valgrind and attached the log which details a definite memory to the Gnome bugreport I started.  I'll make this is [kinda solved] since there isn't a solution yet, but at least one is requested.  Thanks for all the replies!

Last edited by graysky (2011-09-11 10:32:10)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#15 2011-10-08 20:40:15

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 82

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

here gnome shell 3.2 has BIG memory leak. after ~ 3 hours of use it's at 280mb of ram!
on an atom dimondville netbook, intel gma driver.
what the the heck?!

Offline

#16 2011-10-08 21:13:00

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

well, you spammed 2 upstream reports + 2 threads in here with the same message smile

if you don't want to wait for 3.2.1, apply this change to mutter

http://git.gnome.org/browse/mutter/comm … 88fb0c29d7


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#17 2011-10-09 14:32:57

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

I applied the patch, but it still looks like it's leaking - just at a much slower rate.
patch.png

There are two portions of the plot that are highly linear with roughly identical slope (leak = 0.05 MB/min).
linear.png

Last edited by graysky (2011-10-09 15:00:57)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#18 2011-10-09 14:45:19

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

if you want to help plugging leaks you need to compile at least mutter/gnome-shell/clutter/cogl with debug and run
G_SLICE=always-malloc G_DEBUG=gc-friendly valgrind --leak-check=full --log-file=gsdump /usr/bin/gnome-shell --replace

then post in the bug report the log

Last edited by wonder (2011-10-09 14:45:46)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#19 2011-10-11 12:35:22

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 82

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

if this big bug is fixed, why don't we simply push a bug-fix release with the mentioned patch for everyone?

Offline

#20 2011-10-28 09:51:46

ulukai
Member
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 82

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

josephk wrote:

if this big bug is fixed, why don't we simply push a bug-fix release with the mentioned patch for everyone?

Yes, that would be good because yesterday after playing Red Eclipse for an hour (fullscreen opengl game) my Gnome-Shell took 680 MB !!!

I also posted logfiles on the bugreport (https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642652 - I am user Jonathan there) and they still found memory leaks. Tests were done with Gnome-Shell 3.2.1 and mutter 1.8.2.

This should be pushed through asap for all Arch users imo. Better a small leak than a big leak...

Offline

#21 2011-10-28 15:13:58

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

Install xfce4 and call it good.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#22 2011-11-07 17:57:56

Rixx
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

Hi. This problem not occur in up-to-date Sabayon. Maybe they have some patch to solve this problem. I have Intel X3100 and in arch after 2-3 hours gnome3 was unusable. In Sabayon is everything ok. So maybe you should find way there. smile

Offline

#23 2011-11-07 20:05:21

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,346
Website

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

@Rixx - I call shenanigans.  You need to have data on which to base your assertion that arch is bad and sabayon is good.  What was the memory consumption at the 2 h time point on both?  The 3 h time point?  Which driver are you using on each?  Etc.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#24 2011-11-07 20:14:21

Rixx
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

Ok. I will collect some data. But now I am on Sabayon. So cant get data from arch.

Sabayon:
uptime: 8 hours.
gnome-shell RAM in gnome-system-monitor: 82MB
Driver: xf86-video-intel-2.15.0
Mesa: 7.11
Xorg-server: 1.10.4
No extensions.

I know, there are differences  between both distributions. Maybe tomorrow I will install Arch and use your script. Then I will post results here.

Offline

#25 2011-11-08 05:52:46

Rixx
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: gnome-shell memory leak (with data), others needed [kinda solved]

So I install Arch. It runs OK for now. But memory rise up slowly.

101.51 1
101.51 2
101.51 3
101.51 4
101.51 5
101.51 6
101.51 7
102.50 8
102.50 9
102.50 10
102.50 11
102.51 12
103.50 13
103.51 14
103.51 15
103.59 16
103.62 17
104.60 18
104.61 19
104.63 20
104.62 21
105.61 22
105.61 23
105.61 24
105.61 25
105.61 26
106.60 27
106.60 28
106.60 29
106.60 30
106.60 31
107.59 32
107.59 33
107.59 34
107.59 35
107.59 36
108.58 37
108.58 38
108.58 39
108.58 40
109.56 41
109.57 42
109.57 43
109.57 44
109.57 45
110.55 46
110.55 47
110.55 48
110.55 49
110.55 50
111.54 51
111.55 52
111.56 53
111.56 54
111.57 55
112.56 56
112.58 57
112.58 58
112.59 59
113.57 60
113.63 61
113.66 62
113.66 63
113.70 64
114.73 65
114.77 66
114.82 67
114.87 68
114.91 69
116.00 70
116.03 71
116.07 72
116.08 73
116.11 74
117.14 75
117.19 76
117.23 77
117.27 78
118.30 79
118.36 80
118.39 81
118.43 82
118.47 83
119.51 84
119.55 85
119.60 86
119.63 87
119.67 88
120.71 89
120.75 90
120.79 91
120.84 92
121.88 93
121.93 94
122.10 95
122.11 96
122.15 97
123.16 98
123.20 99
123.22 100
123.23 101
123.23 102
124.23 103
124.27 104
124.32 105
124.34 106
124.38 107
125.40 108
125.43 109
125.48 110
125.52 111
126.54 112
126.67 113
126.67 114
126.68 115
126.69 116
127.72 117
127.76 118
127.80 119
127.84 120
127.88 121
128.91 122
128.94 123
128.98 124
129.02 125
129.07 126
130.09 127
130.14 128
130.17 129
130.21 130
131.24 131
131.28 132
131.33 133
131.37 134
131.41 135
132.43 136
132.47 137
132.51 138
132.54 139
132.58 140
133.94 141
133.94 142
133.94 143
133.95 144
133.95 145
134.98 146
135.01 147
135.02 148
135.05 149
136.04 150
136.05 151
136.05 152
136.05 153
136.08 154
137.20 155
137.21 156
137.24 157
137.25 158
137.25 159
138.27 160
138.32 161
138.35 162
138.39 163
138.43 164
139.45 165
139.50 166
139.53 167
139.57 168
140.58 169
140.62 170
140.67 171
140.71 172
140.75 173
141.77 174
141.81 175
141.85 176
141.89 177
141.92 178
142.95 179

But I let run it for all night and my screen get locked. In gnome-system-monitor had gnome-shell 189MB, but it drops to 100 after screen unlock. So I will try again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB