You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-06 01:52:00

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

wmii-2-rc1

Hey folks,

I'm using wmii2-rc-1, which was released today. It fixes the resize bug in tiled layouts and has some pretty cool other features, like a neat full screen pager. I haven't played with it much, but I really like the featureset. This is a power tiled window manager!

The PKGBUILD is basically jf's package in AUR with the $pkgver changed, but change the links that refer to $pkgver since you can't have a hypnhen in $pkgver. His config patch can be used unaltered.

I'm thinking of phrakture who liked wmi, dumped wmii, and went to ratpoison... he may like wmii, but it may be too powerful. I'm thinking of those people who think gimp doesn't work in tiled window managers. I'm thinking of iphitus cause he's such an ion phreak. I'm thinknig of Mr Green cause he always tries the new window managers. Well, when he's done with Win98. I'm thinking of Xentac because he tried this before me and told me the resize bug was fixed.

I'm thinking a lot of people would like wmii-2. ;-)

Dusty

Offline

#2 2005-07-06 01:55:08

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: wmii-2-rc1

I liked wmi, but didn't care much for wmii... guess I need to try wmii2-rc-1.  Thanks for the info...  smile


oz

Offline

#3 2005-07-06 02:35:06

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

its pretty slick... still some bugs I think, or maybe I'm not using it properly.  I think you could theoretically configure wmii-2 to be similar to wmi without too much trouble.

Dusty

Offline

#4 2005-07-06 15:03:31

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

yeah, I'm still on the mailing list:

For those of you, who haven't used a recent snap or who still stick
with wmi-10 I can say, it is now time to move on. The wmii-2 stuff
feels rather stable and usable already. Please read the welcome.txt
carefully on first start!

The timeframe for wmii-2 final is that I'm going to release it
officially at WTH. But the wmii-2 repository will be forked earlier,
because I want to proceed with wmii-3 development very soon.

Regards,
--
Anselm R. Garbe

I'm keeping tabs on it - Xentac tried wmii too and said he liked it.

The basic reason I dumped wmii is that I do most stuff from screen, so I don't need bells and I don't need whistles.

Offline

#5 2005-07-06 15:21:08

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Have you tried the latest? Its a lot like wmi-10... the layouts concept is still there, but seems to be less flexible.

When he says its going to be released officially at WTH... WTF is WTH?

Dusty

Offline

#6 2005-07-06 15:33:31

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Dusty wrote:

Have you tried the latest? Its a lot like wmi-10... the layouts concept is still there, but seems to be less flexible.

When he says its going to be released officially at WTH... WTF is WTH?

Dusty

What the hell?

I'll take a look t wmii tommorow.

Offline

#7 2005-07-06 19:36:56

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Anselm wrote:

... The wmii-2 stuff feels rather stable ...

thanks but no thanks,
call me when this thing is 100% stable,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#8 2005-07-06 19:46:54

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

no kidding? There's a reason they call it a release candidate. ;-) This is for the early adopters.... er, you use ion3, don't you?

Offline

#9 2005-07-06 19:55:48

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

i'm still on ion2 dusty,
ion has a "very" slow development speed, ion3 has been in beta forever,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#10 2005-07-06 20:00:18

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

wmi is just the opposite. They have a very fast development speed.... stuff isn't in beta for long and the stable releases are broken... wmi, for example, was stable at wmi-1, but wasn't useable until about wmi-8. I'm expecting wmii to be useable by about wmii-3.

But they keep changing it so much!

Dusty

Offline

#11 2005-07-06 20:06:15

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

yes, i noticed that too that wmii develops fast as he**,
one week i heard that wmii was written from scratch and a few weeks later there was already alpha versions up and running,

i don't know whats up with ion3 really, ion2 works for me so i don't really care if it's in beta for years,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#12 2005-07-06 20:14:19

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

xerxes2 wrote:

yes, i noticed that too that wmii develops fast as he**,
one week i heard that wmii was written from scratch and a few weeks later there was already alpha versions up and running

the code base is actually really really small

the meat of the code is libixp which is basically a filesystem (in ram) for window management... i.e. "echo jimmy > /path/to/ixp/clients/5/title" will change a window title...

Offline

#13 2005-07-06 22:23:52

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Dusty wrote:

When he says its going to be released officially at WTH... WTF is WTH?

It could be this?

Online

#14 2005-07-06 22:28:14

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

tomk wrote:
Dusty wrote:

When he says its going to be released officially at WTH... WTF is WTH?

It could be this?

aha! genius, tomk!

Offline

#15 2005-07-06 22:53:16

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: wmii-2-rc1

xerxes2 wrote:

yes, i noticed that too that wmii develops fast as he**,
one week i heard that wmii was written from scratch and a few weeks later there was already alpha versions up and running,

i don't know whats up with ion3 really, ion2 works for me so i don't really care if it's in beta for years,

Ion3's kinda like what fluxbox-devel is now. It's stable and fine. And believe it or not, it is still being developed!

iphitus

Offline

#16 2005-07-07 10:23:34

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: wmii-2-rc1

phrakture wrote:

aha! genius, tomk!

Nah - lucky guess. I just figured it's a bit more likely than this, this, or this. tongue

Online

#17 2005-07-08 19:11:56

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Ok, tried wmii-2-rc1 last night, and I'm digging it

It's *alot* different from what it used to be.

I'm going to take over the AUR package, so expect some binaries 8)

Offline

#18 2005-07-08 19:26:54

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Offline

#19 2005-07-11 18:51:31

kipper
Member
Registered: 2003-08-03
Posts: 49

Re: wmii-2-rc1

so phrack is back from ratpoison  big_smile

Every time I install a version from darcs I find yet another change.  It's can be a pain in the arse to keep track of the sometimes non-trivial changes each time.  But these seem to be slowing down now.

Offline

#20 2005-07-11 18:55:15

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Hmmm, I still haven't uploaded this, have I? Whoops 8)

I'll get to it tonight 8)

Offline

#21 2005-07-11 19:00:28

medicated
Member
From: Storm Lake, IA
Registered: 2005-03-11
Posts: 79

Re: wmii-2-rc1

I'm looving wmii.  I updated to 2rc1 and it has major improvements upon its predecessor.  I'm still getting used to it though and it seems like there are some things that are either really quirky..maybe bugs?  I really like being able to change the page layouts on the fly.  It saves a lot of mouse time..  I can't wait for a "stable" release.

Offline

#22 2005-07-11 19:12:35

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

To the best of my knowledge, its not possible to add types of layouts anymore. Am I wrong about this?

They removed horizontal split. sad

Dusty

Offline

#23 2005-07-11 20:32:20

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Dusty wrote:

They removed horizontal split. sad

because tiled with 2 clients handles that...

oddities I don't like:
* when I "max" a client, it spits it off to it's own page... I should really just rebind that key to set "lmax" instead
* full screen video get's a big thumbs down - it just doesn't work... it plays in the background somewhere
* every now and then. an app will start up and ignore the layout... starting 'behind' the other windows, which appears to freeze everything else because you're focused on a background window - these seems to happen to the alot with a) bittorrent, b) alot of firefox extension dialogs
This may have something to do with the float layout, but as far as I can tell, it's listed as tiled... usually if i switch to grid then back to tile, everything works fine.

Offline

#24 2005-07-11 20:39:47

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

what if you want to have 3 clients horizontally tiled?

I've noticed the bugs you mention. Personally I like the max to full page (not a bug its a feature).

I've noticed that the switching between float and maximized layers seems buggy. I end up pressing mod4-space and mod4-shift-space randomly until all my windows are in the right place.

Some dialogs refuse to go into tiles mode. When you have both floating and tiled windows, its impossible to hide the floating windows like it used to be in wmi-10.

Dusty

Offline

#25 2005-07-11 21:05:57

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: wmii-2-rc1

Dusty wrote:

Some dialogs refuse to go into tiles mode. When you have both floating and tiled windows, its impossible to hide the floating windows like it used to be in wmi-10.

Yeah! that too - I specifically set gxine to "managed = 0" so it doesn't get crammed in the corner when I run it... but I can't pause it and stick it in the background...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB