You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-14 09:36:38

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

[SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

pacman-key --init
gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key...

Not enough random bytes available.  Please do some other work to give
the OS a chance to collect more entropy! (Need 211 more bytes)

Well, I thought that I could resolve it using random bytes from RANDOM.ORG (http://www.random.org/, in particularly http://www.random.org/bytes/), a really useful website.
Is it a good solution, or is it mandatory to generate random bytes using my PC? And in that case, how can I use random bytes generated from that site?

Last edited by metre (2011-10-14 09:48:31)

Offline

#2 2011-10-14 09:38:13

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

i did cat /udev/urandom and move a window

Last edited by wonder (2011-10-14 09:41:21)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2011-10-14 09:40:38

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

wonder wrote:

i did cat /udev/urandom and move the a window

Can you be please more illuminating in the second part of the action? big_smile
I also did "cat /dev/urandom", and after that...?

Thank you!

Offline

#4 2011-10-14 09:42:44

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

so while gpg is asking for more bytes, do cat /dev/urandom and move a window from your desktop, the window with a terminal, with a browser, you can press keys. generate some random moves


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#5 2011-10-14 09:48:20

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

wonder wrote:

so while gpg is asking for more bytes, do cat /dev/urandom and move a window from your desktop, the window with a terminal, with a browser, you can press keys. generate some random moves

Astonishing... thank you, of course it worked, have a wonderful day

Offline

#6 2011-10-14 11:27:03

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 520
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

I installed pacman 4.0 from testing. I did pacman-key --init
but now I can't install anything again
trying to install hplip

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: key "FCF2CB179205AC90" is unknown
:: Import PGP key 9205AC90, "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>", created 2011-04-20? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: signature from "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>" is unknown trust
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature))
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Last edited by hussam (2011-10-14 11:28:25)

Offline

#7 2011-10-14 11:31:12

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

@hussam for now, edit pacman.conf and uncomment SigLevel = Optional TrustAll


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#8 2011-10-14 11:36:10

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 520
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

wonder wrote:

@hussam for now, edit pacman.conf and uncomment SigLevel = Optional TrustAll

ok, thank you smile

Offline

#9 2011-10-15 10:58:04

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

... or sign each new KeyID manually with 'pacman-key --lsign-key XXXXXX'.


1000

Offline

#10 2011-10-15 15:35:02

T-u-N-i-X
Member
From: İstanbul
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 435
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Hey There,

I have an Arch box inside a VM which doesn't even have a DE. I just start it via VBoxHeadless -s VMNAME and do ssh into it. When I initiate pacman-key --init and it asks me for more entrophy, I type things, start another gnu screen session and do cat /dev/urandom in it but it never continues to create keys.

Can someone please help me on this?


Quis custodiet ipsos custodiet?

Offline

#11 2011-10-15 16:46:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

T-u-N-i-X wrote:

Hey There,

I have an Arch box inside a VM which doesn't even have a DE. I just start it via VBoxHeadless -s VMNAME and do ssh into it. When I initiate pacman-key --init and it asks me for more entrophy, I type things, start another gnu screen session and do cat /dev/urandom in it but it never continues to create keys.

Can someone please help me on this?

So you didn't solve it with

When I ran rngd -f -r /dev/urandom and ran pacman-key --init, it completed
in seconds. Issue solved. This is probably about being inside a VM which
limits the entropy level somehow.

?

Offline

#12 2011-10-15 16:52:23

T-u-N-i-X
Member
From: İstanbul
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 435
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Yes just solved it.


Quis custodiet ipsos custodiet?

Offline

#13 2011-10-16 17:39:16

meijin
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 92

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

some keys importing is taking long time (more then a minute per key)
what can i do for helping that out?

Offline

#14 2011-10-16 18:26:19

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

The default keyserver is a round robin which tends to be... bad. Set it to a local keyserver such as hkp://pgp.mit.edu

Offline

#15 2011-10-17 13:54:48

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Thanks for the tip. I replaced keyserver in /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/gpg.conf

Would be great if it could be the default one smile

Last edited by fredbezies (2011-10-17 13:56:48)

Offline

#16 2011-10-17 17:21:03

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Opened bug #26487 related to this issue : https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/26487

Offline

#17 2011-10-17 18:05:42

swanson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-05
Posts: 759

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Pacman 4.0.0.2 seems to be working fine on my two arch machines. I had to remove pacman-color though.

Offline

#18 2011-10-20 04:01:07

ShionjiYuuko
Member
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

I got errors like this:

(17/17) checking package integrity                                                              [########################################################] 100%
error: libarchive: key "5C2E46A0F53A76ED" is unknown
error: linux: key "771DF6627EDF681F" is unknown
error: linux-headers: key "771DF6627EDF681F" is unknown
error: pth: key "1EB2638FF56C0C53" is unknown
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

the previous upgrade was fine, but on this last upgrade pacman didn't show developers' names and emails, and didn't retrieve keys from server.  I wonder why...

== edit ==

default gnupg server is the cause. points the server to pgp.mit.edu solves this, and makes importing keys faster

Last edited by ShionjiYuuko (2011-10-20 04:04:34)


始まりの荒野を独り もう歩き出してるらしい、僕は灰になるまで僕で有り続けたい
http://about.me/nnhnkn | http://identi.ca/nnhzkn

Offline

#19 2011-12-13 03:41:22

Monty
Member
Registered: 2011-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

im trying to install alsa-utils and i get "unknown trust" errors, i acepted those keys before changing keyserver to pgp.mit.edu and before editing pacman.conf to accept all, so im a bit lost on how to accept those keys and install this package... i'll try installing some other things and check if is still happening with new keys...


Edit: seems like this discussion had been rather high on other threads, i think i need to change key id's or trust levels on those ids, im trying "pacman-key --editkey [keyowner]" and setting local sign or changing values to "fully trusted".... Maybe this will help....


Edit2: Bingo! that worked big_smile

Edit3: well it seems that any new keys gets this "unknow" status for some reason... even though i already edited pacman.conf and pacman.conf.new to accept all, can someone point me in the right direction?

Edit4: by now the only solution i found is to locally sign all the new keys as they come... lets just say its solved, but im open to a better solution tongue

Last edited by Monty (2011-12-13 13:55:29)

Offline

#20 2012-01-17 15:46:24

amsri
Member
Registered: 2011-06-17
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

I solved the problem of "Not enough random bytes available." using the solution given in the following site:

http://theyouri.blogspot.com/2011/11/pa … bytes.html

I am running a GUI Less Arch server installation managed by ssh and I could not have used mouse or window solution given in this thread. I tried accessing websites on the server and webmin but it did not generate the needed random data. Therefore I used rng-tools to generate random data.

Offline

#21 2012-01-17 15:48:13

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

Offline

#22 2012-01-18 00:02:57

Sidhartha
Member
Registered: 2011-12-03
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

rng_tools seems to be out of date...

Offline

#23 2012-01-18 00:20:16

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

It installs fine and I haven't seen a new version, so it may be a mistake.

Offline

#24 2012-01-20 19:37:45

teratomata
Member
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

hussam wrote:

I installed pacman 4.0 from testing. I did pacman-key --init
but now I can't install anything again
trying to install hplip

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: key "FCF2CB179205AC90" is unknown
:: Import PGP key 9205AC90, "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>", created 2011-04-20? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: signature from "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>" is unknown trust
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature))
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

I found that my pacman.conf didn't get updated, but once I moved /etc/pacman.conf.pacnew to /etc/pacman.conf, everything worked.

Offline

#25 2012-01-21 06:07:57

MorningWood
Member
Registered: 2008-06-06
Posts: 68

Re: [SOLVED] [pacman] My 'pacman-key --init' issue

teratomata wrote:
hussam wrote:

I installed pacman 4.0 from testing. I did pacman-key --init
but now I can't install anything again
trying to install hplip

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: key "FCF2CB179205AC90" is unknown
:: Import PGP key 9205AC90, "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>", created 2011-04-20? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking package integrity [####################################] 100%
error: hplip: signature from "Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>" is unknown trust
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature))
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

I found that my pacman.conf didn't get updated, but once I moved /etc/pacman.conf.pacnew to /etc/pacman.conf, everything worked.

I just wanted to say thanks teratomata. I did everything that was mentioned and was continually being asked if I wanted to import keys.  Moved pacman.conf.pacnew to pacman.conf and everything works great!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB