You are not logged in.

#76 2005-07-12 13:03:19

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Yes, they were quite appropriately wrecked by dibble. There is a modified PKGBUILD somewhere though, either in this forum's ATI thread, or in the newbie one's, I can't recall.

Offline

#77 2005-07-12 13:14:06

khazdar
Member
From: ohio
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 123

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I vote for kernel26cko too !

Offline

#78 2005-07-12 13:39:17

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

mmgm wrote:

Yes, they were quite appropriately wrecked by dibble. There is a modified PKGBUILD somewhere though, either in this forum's ATI thread, or in the newbie one's, I can't recall.

eh?  that's me!  i'm one and the same person!  :?

Offline

#79 2005-07-12 14:37:59

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

mmgm wrote:

... wrecked by dibble.

That sounds like dibblethewrecker to me! Although, he wouldn't actually wreck anything to do with his beloved Arch. It's slander, I say! Libel lawyers at the ready  :twisted:

Offline

#80 2005-07-12 23:42:46

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

It's in [community]!!
Yay!

Edit: Haven't tryed it yet, but I have a teeny, tiny, comment. It may be quite smart to use $_origver and $_patchver in the source array. It'd probably make updating the package a whole lot easier. Otherwise, I have never made a package of this size and complexity, so I can't make any smart comments, sorry.

Offline

#81 2005-07-12 23:55:51

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

mmm - it'd be bad to use them in the source array because a) it can be more confusing wink and b) it screws up the source urls in the AUR wink

Fair comment tho smile

Offline

#82 2005-07-13 00:14:54

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Umm, yet another comment.
This installs stuff under the same dir as the old package, apparrently, as I'm getting tons and tons of file conflict errors. Question is, how do I go about installing this without the risk of losing my current kernel and being left, well, pretty much fucked?

Edit: Everything installed fine, I also installed the version of ati-drivers with my cheap little patch and it seems to have fixed the old problem without causing any new ones, so it'd be nice to see it as part of the next release  wink .

Now, I'd really appreciate it if someone could please tell me how to set the resume2 parameter.  :oops:

Offline

#83 2005-07-13 00:56:04

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Yeah, for those of us brave enough to download the PKGBUILD when it was named kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2 and make it ourselves, how should we go about switching to the newly named 'kernel26cko'?

Offline

#84 2005-07-13 01:05:04

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Cerebral wrote:

Yeah, for those of us brave enough to download the PKGBUILD when it was named kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2 and make it ourselves, how should we go about switching to the newly named 'kernel26cko'?

What I did was simply re-enable the default arch kernel in lilo.conf to be on the safe side, and just force pacman to overwrite files. In case you break anything, you'll still be able to boot the arch kernel.

As a continuation of my previous post, I found the howto for resume2 a few pages back, but it says that not setting my suspend-enabled kernel as default can severly mess things up. Unfortunately, I cant set this as default meaning I'm gonna have to not set it at all, unless anyone has any ideas.

Offline

#85 2005-07-13 01:26:27

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

mmgm wrote:

What I did was simply re-enable the default arch kernel in lilo.conf to be on the safe side, and just force pacman to overwrite files.

I was considering that, but then pacman will still think you have a package called kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2 on your system, and if you ever remove that package, all your modules and src for kernel26cko disappear too.

Anywho, since I was brave enough to download and make the PKGBUILD myself, I figured 'what the hell?' and got brave enough to do the following:

pacman -R ati-drivers
pacman -R kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2
pacman -Sy kernel26cko
pacman -S ati-drivers

and then I had to rebuild my madwifi drivers and reinstall them too, along with editing the necessary grub entries.

Seemed to work -- gotta love Linux, you can remove the kernel you're currently RUNNING from the filesystem, including all drivers, reinstall the whole lot, and everything's good. big_smile  Maybe I got lucky, I dunno.

Offline

#86 2005-07-13 07:14:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

No - it always works like that!  When you upgrade the default kernel it does exactly the same smile

It was going to write a howto explaining how to migrate from the old -cko2-swsusp2 pkg to the new cko pkg but it was very late, i was very tired and made a bit of a mess of the cvs commit - what can I say?  I'm still learning smile

Offline

#87 2005-07-13 14:46:56

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Just trying this kernel out since it hit community and so far so good.  Of course I had to try to get the bootsplash working at the same time which took some fiddling around on my part to get working.  But it is now and looks great!

Thanks for the package dibble!

Offline

#88 2005-07-13 18:27:26

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

great kernel dibble big_smile *it is as fast as ever* with all nice things, even got gensplash working with it big_smile *no problems at all*


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#89 2005-07-13 19:01:51

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

wohooo - vote for gensplash wink

Offline

#90 2005-07-13 20:36:20

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

way ahead of you dibble big_smile

already done big_smile

haven't tried silent init-scripts yet...but that I will do some other day


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#91 2005-07-13 20:52:39

ezar
Member
Registered: 2005-06-05
Posts: 10

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I installed kernel and hibernate-script but...
I have a problem... somebody can help me?

[cesar@cesar boot]$ sudo hibernate --kill --force
Some modules failed to unload: nvidia
hibernate: Suspend reported the following errors:
- Suspend was aborted (see dmesg).
[cesar@cesar boot]$ cd /var/log

Offline

#92 2005-07-13 21:14:33

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Do a dmesg  and look for "suspend" somehting...my guess are that you haven't enabled compression in the config-file, which seems to be needed


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#93 2005-07-13 21:37:14

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

dibblethewrecker wrote:

wohooo - vote for gensplash wink

Damn - I keep forgetting to vote... roll

<hi-ho, hi-ho, to the AUR we go>

Yeah, gensplash is excellent - thanks dibble.  big_smile Not bothered with the silent stuff myself - I like my boot messages...

I've made a theme out of encelo's Arch logo - looks great. If anyone wants it, shout and I'll upload it somewhere.

dibble, any news on that "No backgrounds on vc/s" bug? After setting CONSOLEFONT, I have it on all vc/s - except vc/2. Weird..

ezar - I sympathise. I went for swsusp2 without reading anything - the old "how hard can it be?!" approach - and had predictably awful results. I felt even worse when I finally got round to reading the (very short) 23 June news entry here.  :oops:

The nvidia module thing? Don't know about that, I'm afraid.

Offline

#94 2005-07-13 21:41:20

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

tomk wrote:
dibblethewrecker wrote:

wohooo - vote for gensplash wink

Damn - I keep forgetting to vote... roll

OT (Sorry) - gensplash is in [community] already, so what exactly am I voting for?

Offline

#95 2005-07-13 21:43:24

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

the kernel26cko pkg has all the correct settings for suspend AFIAK so that should not be a problem if you have pacman -S kernel26cko from [community]

I should also stress that this is a thread about the pkg not swsus2 problems - a new thread is the best way to fix those smile

Offline

#96 2005-07-13 22:10:56

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

tomk wrote:

OT (Sorry) - gensplash is in [community] already, so what exactly am I voting for?

To have it promoted to [extra].

Offline

#97 2005-07-13 23:01:55

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Thanks for the quick answer to my dumb question - clearly, I have to stop drinking.

Offline

#98 2005-07-14 05:59:11

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I decided to give kernel26-cko a try. I am running it right now and frankly, do not notice a difference. Maybe it is my older hardware (700 MHz, 320 MB RAM), maybe it is me - I don't know.

I should try glxgears or something to text it. Since I don't feel a difference I may just switch back to my custom vanilla kernel. Who knows, maybe after using -cko for a while I will notcie that vanilla is slower . . .

Offline

#99 2005-07-14 08:59:51

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

rmbalfa wrote:

I decided to give kernel26-cko a try. I am running it right now and frankly, do not notice a difference. Maybe it is my older hardware (700 MHz, 320 MB RAM), maybe it is me - I don't know.

I should try glxgears or something to text it. Since I don't feel a difference I may just switch back to my custom vanilla kernel. Who knows, maybe after using -cko for a while I will notcie that vanilla is slower . . .

Try doing something taxing, that would normally slow your system. You'll find it doesnt slow it as much.

Offline

#100 2005-07-14 22:10:43

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Try doing something taxing, that would normally slow your system. You'll find it doesnt slow it as much.

This is a little bit off-topic but, I tried taxing the CPU (with -cko) with glxgears but it seems to be limited to 75 FPS. Last time I ran it was using 100% CPU, now only a few percent.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB