You are not logged in.

#1 2003-11-26 09:48:10

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

Fstab permissions ?

hi
i`m trying to make my vfat partitions accessible for all users, but only root is working, here is a line from my fstab ;

/dev/hda1        /win/hda1    vfat  users,exec,dev,suid,async  1   0

any ideas what to add or change.

also do i need to chmod the mount positions ?

Offline

#2 2003-11-26 09:58:42

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: Fstab permissions ?

Add a umask= entry to your options. See section "Mount options for fat" in mount(8) for possible dmask and fmask options.

Offline

#3 2003-11-26 16:05:09

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: Fstab permissions ?

pcs333 wrote:

hi
i`m trying to make my vfat partitions accessible for all users, but only root is working, here is a line from my fstab ;

/dev/hda1        /win/hda1    vfat  users,exec,dev,suid,async  1   0

any ideas what to add or change.

also do i need to chmod the mount positions ?

Hi,

/dev/discs/disc0/part8 /home/shared vfat   defaults,umask=0,iocharset=utf8       0      0

works for me, note that you need nls support compiled into the kernel to make
that utf8 thing work. Ifyou don't need, just skip the option

bye neri

Offline

#4 2003-11-26 21:35:22

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

Re: Fstab permissions ?

cheers guys
i`ve managed to get it working ok now  lol

any idea if i can get the dvd and cdrw drive to automount when i put a disc in.I noticed some distros use supermount, does this work with arch ??

Offline

#5 2003-11-27 02:01:03

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Fstab permissions ?

pcs333 wrote:

any idea if i can get the dvd and cdrw drive to automount when i put a disc in.I noticed some distros use supermount, does this work with arch ??

If I remember correctly it requires a software to run supermount, not in Arch. From my experience, its not reliable. I am using a mount/unmount CD-ROM device icon (also for Floppy) on my Desktop in KDE.

Mayby you already have an icon... in case not:
1. Right click (or middle depending on your KDE setup).
2. Select <Create New>, <CD/DVD-ROM Device>, <Device>--> select your CD fstab line.

Insert CD and click the icon. To unmount, right click and select <unmount>.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB