You are not logged in.

#1 2003-11-27 08:56:20

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

I wanted to use Arch as my gaming plataform instead of Mandrake, but i dont know how to handle the rpm file in Arch...

Any help appreciated.


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#2 2003-11-27 09:20:36

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

Install rpmunpack & cpio. Then to extract the contents of the .rpm do :

rpmunpack < your_pkg.rpm | gzip -d | cpio -idmuv

and simply copy the files included in a dir in your system (eg, /opt/winex).

Offline

#3 2003-11-27 13:11:03

nifan
Member
Registered: 2003-04-10
Posts: 102

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

or you can download the sources by cvs and make an arch package tongue


______
"Ignorance, the root and the stem of every evil." - Plato

Offline

#4 2003-11-27 13:54:27

Moritz
Member
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: 2002-10-12
Posts: 166

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

you can create the package, but it's not allowed to publish it....

Offline

#5 2003-11-28 04:14:20

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

Thanks!

Im downloading the pkgs right now....

I dont build it from CVS, becouse i have the builds already, and the CVS version doesnt include some propietary stuff, also, as a "release" (3.2) its supposed to be stable... or at least, the games they say work, should work.

But i been compiling CVS version till now, only, not in Arch or a pkg... also i dont have broadband so i wouldnt be able to upload the file... sad


Moritz wrote:

you can create the package, but it's not allowed to publish it....

Thats in the licence??? I know the get kind of mad when they hear about published pkgs, and also menace with changing the licence... but being prohibited??


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#6 2003-12-01 19:02:03

ColdSteel
Member
From: Lill' Town of Shildon
Registered: 2003-10-17
Posts: 4

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

This works for me, but you'll need to be a subscriber. Install pygtk and python, then download point2play small package tgz. Unpack this to / (as root). Run Point2Play and setup your account and then use Point2Play to download the latest version.

One nice thing about this method is that the point2play icon appears in the gnome menu under others  big_smile


Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped.

Offline

#7 2004-03-19 05:26:52

Sp00n
Member
Registered: 2002-09-14
Posts: 23

Re: How to use WineX rpm in Arch??

why not download the slackpkg and extract it at  /
tongue no messy rpm junk needed

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB