You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-13 08:38:55

axel668
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 168

Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

Hi !

Bumblebee (Nvidia ION2 discrete graphics support) seems to be broken for me (Asus Eee 1215N) with the update to Kernel 3.1 - the Nvidia module cannot be found anymore. Nouveau seems to work, but Nouveau performance on my device is worse than intregrated Intel 3D, so this is not really an option. Acpi_call has stopped working, too, btw.

I tried to re- install bumblebee and nvidia-utils bumblebee, but to no avail. For now I worked around this by going back to Kernel 3.0.7, but of course this is not a long term solution.

So I'm wondering, is everyone else having the same issues, and, even better, did someone manage to get bumblebee and / or acpi_call running with Kernel 3.1, and how did you do it ?

Thanks, A.


"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."
(Mitch Ratcliffe)

Offline

#2 2011-11-13 16:05:04

JonathanArcher
Member
From: San Francisco
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 108

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

Same issues here, got the 1015PN. I noticed that the fan is on almost all the time, so the Nvidia card is always active, only then I realized maybe something is wrong with the switching, so I checked the forums and found your thread. No solution so far for me.

Offline

#3 2011-11-15 21:20:02

chthon
Member
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 8

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

I've noticed the same thing with the update to kernel version 3.1 on my asus n55sf.

Offline

#4 2011-11-17 21:22:09

chthon
Member
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 8

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

I've solved it by reinstalling Bumblebee and its dependencies.

This is probably a sledgehammer to crack a nut.  I reckon that as Bumblebee is an AUR package which pulls in other AUR packages to build the custom Nvidia module needed by Bumblebee it isn't quite as well adapted as a core system package to deal with a Kernel upgrade. I suppose the module doesn't get automatically rebuilt against the new kernel sources unless you trigger this -- my (probably naive) solution is a reinstall.

Offline

#5 2011-11-17 22:22:08

axel668
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 168

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

thanks chthon, will try again ... probably they fixed that package in the git


"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."
(Mitch Ratcliffe)

Offline

#6 2011-11-18 04:28:49

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

Bumblebee is working fine. The problem is dkms-nvidia, recompile it and it will work.

Offline

#7 2011-11-18 19:41:01

ubiwahn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

Nothing of these helped. This happened also after kernel 3.1 update.

[   1617.27] Starting X using nvidia...                                     
[   1617.28] Waiting for X server to become available...        
[   1617.30] The Bumblebee X server failed to start. Please check /var/log/Xorg.8.log  
[   1617.30] Waiting for orders

and the Xorg.8.log....

[   452.756] (EE) Failed to load module "record" (module does not exist, 0) 
[   452.756] (II) LoadModule: "dri"
[   452.756] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module dri
[   452.756] (II) UnloadModule: "dri"                           
[   452.756] (II) Unloading dri                                     
[   452.756] (EE) Failed to load module "dri" (module does not exist, 0)
[   452.756] (II) LoadModule: "dri2"                                                         
[   452.756] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module dri2                           
[   452.756] (II) UnloadModule: "dri2"                                                      
[   452.756] (II) Unloading dri2
[   452.756] (EE) Failed to load module "dri2" (module does not exist, 0)
[   452.757] (EE) Failed to load module "fb" (module does not exist, 0)                                           
[   452.757] (EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load the fb module.                                                           
[   452.757] (EE) No devices detected.
Fatal server error:                                                                                               
[   452.757] no screens found

Offline

#8 2011-11-18 22:40:08

axel668
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 168

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

reinstalling dkms-nvidia (and acpi_call) did the trick for me ... thanks cthon smile

Last edited by axel668 (2011-11-19 07:52:19)


"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."
(Mitch Ratcliffe)

Offline

#9 2011-11-19 13:32:28

samsagax
Member
Registered: 2011-03-18
Posts: 33

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

Just a note on this one:

The dkms package provides a daemon: dkms_autoinstaller. Just put it in the DAEMONS array in rc.conf and you'll never notice a kernel upgrade again. The acpi_call module won't work this way but the dkms-nvidia module will.

Offline

#10 2011-11-20 13:22:02

ubiwahn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 13

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

ok,

I added

/usr/lib/xorg/modules

to the section

Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/nvidia-bumblebee,/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

and it it works (at least glxspheres and gears).

Offline

#11 2011-11-20 22:10:27

Silverwing
Member
From: /etc
Registered: 2009-06-23
Posts: 34

Re: Bumblebee and Kernel 3.1

ubiwahn wrote:

ok,

I added

/usr/lib/xorg/modules

to the section

Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/nvidia-bumblebee,/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

and it it works (at least glxspheres and gears).

Worked for me too, thanks for posting (tested with wine and StarCraft II)


Careful what you wish, you might just get it!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB