You are not logged in.

#76 2011-11-18 15:16:04

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

It is version 0.1-git. Version 0.2 isn't released yet, but it will be the 'next' release. You can check the releases in the NEWS file.

Oups' sorry didn't see the news title

Next release: 0.2

I've reading / thinking the 0.2 is already out ...

Q: Is it possible / planned to unset border in max layout ?

Offline

#77 2011-11-18 16:26:48

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:
thorsten wrote:

It is version 0.1-git. Version 0.2 isn't released yet, but it will be the 'next' release. You can check the releases in the NEWS file.

Oups' sorry didn't see the news title

Next release: 0.2

I've reading / thinking the 0.2 is already out ...

Q: Is it possible / planned to unset border in max layout ?

No, not yet. Maybe it could be added as an exception. But you probably also wan't to remove the window_gap, isn't it?
Maybe i'll think about a reallymax layout or I will give the option to maximize single clients. But both these features have low priority.

Offline

#78 2011-11-18 17:24:28

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

No, not yet. Maybe it could be added as an exception. But you probably also wan't to remove the window_gap, isn't it?
Maybe i'll think about a reallymax layout or I will give the option to maximize single clients. But both these features have low priority.

You're right gap & border please wink
I'll waiting and continue to explore hbwm ... It seem to be near perfect for me.

Some questions about config / autostart:

Q1: is  default_frame_layout working ?

hc set default_frame_layout 2

but in tag is always the default layout 0.

Q2:  I define tag keys

TAG_KEYS=( ampersand eacute quotedbl apostrophe )

but eacute key don't work all time ...

Edit: ask some config questions  again wink

Last edited by mentat (2011-11-18 19:47:27)

Offline

#79 2011-11-18 20:19:06

tum
Member
Registered: 2010-05-18
Posts: 40

Re: herbstluftwm

@ mentat

Q1 = https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p1011533
Q2 = seems to be known issue ? thorsten should know .

Offline

#80 2011-11-19 00:06:30

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

Thx lot tum for Q1,
sorry I do not understand how I could have missed (yes I've read this thread before).

Offline

#81 2011-11-19 11:27:05

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:

Q2:  I define tag keys

TAG_KEYS=( ampersand eacute quotedbl apostrophe )

but eacute key don't work all time ...

Do you have a french keyboard layout? what is printed when executing

xev|grep keysym

and pressing those keys?

BTW: Do you have deadkeys enabled? i.e. is the char directly printed if you press this key in a normal textbox?

Last edited by thorsten (2011-11-19 11:28:19)

Offline

#82 2011-11-19 12:55:12

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:
mentat wrote:

Q2:  I define tag keys

TAG_KEYS=( ampersand eacute quotedbl apostrophe )

but eacute key don't work all time ...

Do you have a french keyboard layout? what is printed when executing

xev|grep keysym

and pressing those keys?

BTW: Do you have deadkeys enabled? i.e. is the char directly printed if you press this key in a normal textbox?

Yes I have a french keyboard layout (laptop without numpad).
The strange thing is "sometimes", I can access tag 2 after sometime of use but never at startup.

xev print:

state 0x0, keycode 133 (keysym 0xffeb, Super_L), same_screen YES,
state 0x40, keycode 11 (keysym 0xe9, eacute), same_screen YES,

I don't use deadkeys

$ setxkbmap -print -verbose 10

Setting verbose level to 10
locale is C
Applied rules from evdev:
rules:      evdev
model:      thinkpad60
layout:     fr
Trying to build keymap using the following components:
keycodes:   evdev+aliases(azerty)
types:      complete
compat:     complete
symbols:    pc+fr+inet(evdev)
geometry:   thinkpad(60)
xkb_keymap {
	xkb_keycodes  { include "evdev+aliases(azerty)"	};
	xkb_types     { include "complete"	};
	xkb_compat    { include "complete"	};
	xkb_symbols   { include "pc+fr+inet(evdev)"	};
	xkb_geometry  { include "thinkpad(60)"	};
};

Offline

#83 2011-11-19 20:45:44

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:
thorsten wrote:
mentat wrote:

Q2:  I define tag keys

TAG_KEYS=( ampersand eacute quotedbl apostrophe )

but eacute key don't work all time ...

Do you have a french keyboard layout? what is printed when executing

xev|grep keysym

and pressing those keys?

BTW: Do you have deadkeys enabled? i.e. is the char directly printed if you press this key in a normal textbox?

Yes I have a french keyboard layout (laptop without numpad).
The strange thing is "sometimes", I can access tag 2 after sometime of use but never at startup.

xev print:

state 0x0, keycode 133 (keysym 0xffeb, Super_L), same_screen YES,
state 0x40, keycode 11 (keysym 0xe9, eacute), same_screen YES,

I don't use deadkeys

$ setxkbmap -print -verbose 10

Setting verbose level to 10
locale is C
Applied rules from evdev:
rules:      evdev
model:      thinkpad60
layout:     fr
Trying to build keymap using the following components:
keycodes:   evdev+aliases(azerty)
types:      complete
compat:     complete
symbols:    pc+fr+inet(evdev)
geometry:   thinkpad(60)
xkb_keymap {
	xkb_keycodes  { include "evdev+aliases(azerty)"	};
	xkb_types     { include "complete"	};
	xkb_compat    { include "complete"	};
	xkb_symbols   { include "pc+fr+inet(evdev)"	};
	xkb_geometry  { include "thinkpad(60)"	};
};

Hm strange. I really don't know why it is not working. Can you try it with dwm? Do you know a window manager, where it is working?

Offline

#84 2011-11-19 22:07:04

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

Hm strange. I really don't know why it is not working. Can you try it with dwm? Do you know a window manager, where it is working?

Yes it's working with ratpoison. Do you want I try with dwm ?

Offline

#85 2011-11-20 00:55:27

Sirsurthur
Member
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 114

Re: herbstluftwm

Getting the same issue than mentat (french keyboard too). For information, i3 is also dealing well with my keyboard.

Thanks for your nice wm !

Offline

#86 2011-11-20 20:41:40

bloom
Member
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 749
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

I just made this:

moderator edit: Broken image removed. It is causing Chromium to give malware warnings. bloom, at your convenience please post a new image on a host other than kkloud. Thanks. --fsckd

Last edited by fsckd (2014-04-28 13:07:33)


gh · da · ds · cr · ab · fkr

Offline

#87 2011-11-21 01:00:39

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:
thorsten wrote:

Hm strange. I really don't know why it is not working. Can you try it with dwm? Do you know a window manager, where it is working?

Yes it's working with ratpoison. Do you want I try with dwm ?

Sirsurthur wrote:

Getting the same issue than mentat (french keyboard too). For information, i3 is also dealing well with my keyboard.

I just tried it with:

setxkbmap fr
herbstclient keybind Mod1-eacute spawn xmessage noshift
herbstclient keybind Mod1-Shift-eacute spawn xmessage withshift

and it spawns the expected message if i pressthe Mod4-eacute combination. And I couldn't reproduce it; even with various NumLock and CapsLock states. Can you find out some situation where pressing Mod1-eacute is ignored?


Looks good! I am still searching for a nice hlwm-banner/icon (only for the website. T-Shirts, etc). Something like that would be cool. Do you have something similar in a wide-screen-banner-format?

Offline

#88 2011-11-21 07:12:52

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

Sirsurthur, "happy" not to be alone wink

thorsten wrote:

I just tried it with:

setxkbmap fr
herbstclient keybind Mod1-eacute spawn xmessage noshift
herbstclient keybind Mod1-Shift-eacute spawn xmessage withshift

and it spawns the expected message if i pressthe Mod4-eacute combination. And I couldn't reproduce it; even with various NumLock and CapsLock states. Can you find out some situation where pressing Mod1-eacute is ignored?

just try to change "eacute" keybind in autostart :

herbstclient keybind Mod4-eacute spawn notify-send "noshift"

doesn't work. But when I invoque it in terminal it's working ! I try

herbstclient keybind Mod4-eacute use 2

in autostart doesn't work but in terminal working well.

It's seem autostart doesn't like "eacute" keybind init smile

EDIT: typo

Last edited by mentat (2011-11-21 09:02:52)

Offline

#89 2011-11-21 09:09:56

Sirsurthur
Member
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 114

Re: herbstluftwm

Just one precision to what mentat already said, I get the same issue with "egrave" (keybinding is not recognized as for "eacute").

Offline

#90 2011-11-21 11:20:08

bloom
Member
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 749
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

Looks good! I am still searching for a nice hlwm-banner/icon (only for the website. T-Shirts, etc). Something like that would be cool. Do you have something similar in a wide-screen-banner-format?

In order not to bloat this topic, I started a general topic for logo / banner propositions :

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=130686

You'll find a banner proposition there.


gh · da · ds · cr · ab · fkr

Offline

#91 2011-11-21 11:48:40

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:

Sirsurthur, "happy" not to be alone wink
just try to change "eacute" keybind in autostart :

herbstclient keybind Mod4-eacute spawn notify-send "noshift"

doesn't work. But when I invoque it in terminal it's working ! I try

herbstclient keybind Mod4-eacute use 2

in autostart doesn't work but in terminal working well.

It's seem autostart doesn't like "eacute" keybind init smile

I tried it. It does work if I run ''setxkbmap fr'' before reloading the autostart file.

You have to set your keyboard layout _first_ and then you can bind a key to eacute. (i.e. you can't bind keys that are not on your current keyboard layout.. I'll fix this soon). Does it work, if you start the autostart manually with this?

herbstclient reload
# or start it directly:
~/.config/herbstluftwm/autostart

Remember to unbind it before trying an other way to bind it:

herbstclient keyunbind Mod4-eacute

Is herbstclient in your $PATH or does your hc() use herbstclient in a special directory?

Offline

#92 2011-11-21 12:36:50

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

I tried it. It does work if I run ''setxkbmap fr'' before reloading the autostart file.

You have to set your keyboard layout _first_ and then you can bind a key to eacute. (i.e. you can't bind keys that are not on your current keyboard layout.. I'll fix this soon). Does it work, if you start the autostart manually with this?

herbstclient reload
# or start it directly:
~/.config/herbstluftwm/autostart

Remember to unbind it before trying an other way to bind it:

herbstclient keyunbind Mod4-eacute

Thanks thorsten, you find it, its working !
So now, I need to launch the setxkbmap in my .xinitrc ?
When you said you'll fix it soon, does I understand I'll not need to launch setxkbmap with next release ?

thorsten wrote:

Is herbstclient in your $PATH or does your hc() use herbstclient in a special directory?

herbstclient is in my path

#!/bin/bash

# this is a simple config for herbstluftwm

function hc() {
            herbstclient "$@"
}

Offline

#93 2011-11-21 20:38:58

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

mentat wrote:
thorsten wrote:

I tried it. It does work if I run ''setxkbmap fr'' before reloading the autostart file.

You have to set your keyboard layout _first_ and then you can bind a key to eacute. (i.e. you can't bind keys that are not on your current keyboard layout.. I'll fix this soon).

Thanks thorsten, you find it, its working !
So now, I need to launch the setxkbmap in my .xinitrc ?
When you said you'll fix it soon, does I understand I'll not need to launch setxkbmap with next release ?

yes. launch setxkbmap in your .xinitrc before starting your window manager.  But the clean solution is to set the keyboard layout  in your xorg.conf or in xorg.conf.d.

Maybe in the next release you can bind keys that are not on your current keyboard layout. (and it's not a PATH issue indeed)

Offline

#94 2011-11-22 07:02:37

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

yes. launch setxkbmap in your .xinitrc before starting your window manager.  But the clean solution is to set the keyboard layout  in your xorg.conf or in xorg.conf.d.

Maybe in the next release you can bind keys that are not on your current keyboard layout. (and it's not a PATH issue indeed)

thorsten, thanks for all.
I don't see a "buy me a beer" button on your website sad

Offline

#95 2011-11-22 19:43:02

Doomcide
Member
Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 221

Re: herbstluftwm

I noticed a weired bug yesterday: When using xcompmgr and switching to an empty workspace, it looks like the last busy ws I viewed before. So all the apps seem to be on the workspace, but aren't really.

Offline

#96 2011-11-23 21:10:35

guelfi
Member
From: /home/guelfi
Registered: 2011-07-01
Posts: 111

Re: herbstluftwm

Weird, I used herbstluftwm for a few weeks, but didn't notice this thread.
Anyway, it is a great window manager. What I like most about it is it's
incredible flexibility: the combination of the configuration with bash commands
(although I think this was not on purpose, but just a tricky way for the dev to
get around parsing a config file) and manual tiling makes nearly everything
possible.

There are two things I would like to share: Firstly, I made a little
modification to panel.sh to increase the support for two monitors. The
following code snippet, if inserted inside of the big case-statement, highlights
the tag that is visible on the non-focused monitor with another color:

# ...
# this part expects the number of the second monitor in $monitor2
':')
	if echo ${TAGS[@]} | grep "+" >/dev/null ; then 
		# monitor 2 is focused
		if herbstclient tag_status $monitor2 | grep "#${i:1}" >/dev/null ; then
                    	echo -n "^bg(#005577)^fg(#eeeeee)"
		else
                    	echo -n "^bg(#bbbbbb)^fg(#222222)"
		fi
	else
		# monitor 1 is focused
		if herbstclient tag_status $monitor2 | grep "+${i:1}" >/dev/null ; then
                    	echo -n "^bg(#227799)^fg(#eeeeee)"
		else
                    	echo -n "^bg(#bbbbbb)^fg(#222222)"
		fi
	fi
;;

Secondly, after reading the part about GIMP in the FAQ on hlwm's homepage, I
decided to "outsource" the part of my config that deals with layouts and tags.
So, I created a ~/.config/herbstluftwm/layouts folder, where I have a few
scripts, which contain the layout and rules for one tag. For example, here is
the script for my "terms"-tag:

#!/bin/bash

function hc() {
    herbstclient "$@"
}

Mod=Mod4

if ! hc tag_status | grep "terms" >/dev/null ; then
	TAGS=$(hc tag_status | wc -w)
	hc add "terms"
	if [[ $TAGS -ge 9 ]] ; then
		echo "$0: too many tags; will not get a keybinding" >&2
	else
		hc keybind "$Mod-$(( TAGS + 1 ))" use "terms"
		hc keybind "$Mod-Shift-$(( TAGS + 1 ))" move "terms"
	fi
fi

# layout
hc load terms '
(split horizontal:0.500000:1 
  (split vertical:0.550000:0 
    (split vertical:0.500000:1 
	  (clients vertical:0)
	  (clients vertical:0))
	(clients horizontal:0))
  (clients horizontal:0))'

# rules
hc rule instance="newsbeuter" tag=terms index=000
hc rule instance="mutt" tag=terms index=001
hc rule instance="ncmpcpp" tag=terms index=01
hc rule instance="irssi" tag=terms index=1

Seperate scripts have the advantage that
   a) they can be called manually from the command line. As a result of this, by
   now I just have 5 tags at startup, and I manually add tags with specific layouts
   for a specific applications, like the GIMP tag.
   b) the autostart file looks a bit cleaner.

I hope this was an enrichment for you guys, and I'm sorry if I didn't really
respond to any of the issues you talked about before I saw this thread.

EDIT: Noticed that I uploaded a version of my panel.sh where I hadn't fixed a small
mistake. Corrected it. Also removed the window IDs from the layout.

Last edited by guelfi (2011-11-24 20:45:20)

Offline

#97 2011-11-23 21:44:31

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 148

Re: herbstluftwm

guelfi wrote:

Weird, I used herbstluftwm for a few weeks, but didn't notice this thread.
Anyway, it is a great window manager. What I like most about it is it's
incredible flexibility: the combination of the configuration with bash commands
(although I think this was not on purpose, but just a tricky way for the dev to
get around parsing a config file) and manual tiling makes nearly everything
possible.

You got the point smile But both points were on purpose.

guelfi wrote:

There are two things I would like to share: Firstly, I made a little
modification to panel.sh to increase the support for two monitors. The
following code snippet, if inserted inside of the big case-statement, highlights
the tag that is visible on the non-focused monitor with another color:

[...]

This is useful. And currently I don't know a shorter solution for this.

guelfi wrote:

Secondly, after reading the part about GIMP in the FAQ on hlwm's homepage, I
decided to "outsource" the part of my config that deals with layouts and tags.
So, I created a ~/.config/herbstluftwm/layouts folder, where I have a few
scripts, which contain the layout and rules for one tag. For example, here is
the script for my "terms"-tag:

[...]
# layout
hc load terms '
(split horizontal:0.500000:1 
  (split vertical:0.550000:0 
    (split vertical:0.500000:1 
	  (clients vertical:0)
	  (clients vertical:0))
	(clients horizontal:0 0x40003b))
  (clients horizontal:0 0x400015))'

[...]

Actually you shouldn't put special window IDs in the load parameters, because the window ID will be reused for other clients after an X restart or after destroying this window.

guelfi wrote:

Seperate scripts have the advantage that
   a) they can be called manually from the command line. As a result of this, by
   now I just have 5 tags at startup, and I manually add tags with specific layouts
   for a specific applications, like the GIMP tag.
   b) the autostart file looks a bit cleaner.

I hope this was an enrichment for you guys, and I'm sorry if I didn't really
respond to any of the issues you talked about before I saw this thread.

  c) you have to merge much less custom code if there is a new autostart or panel.sh file.

So actually it would be better to have a more modular autostart file by default.

Offline

#98 2011-11-24 16:15:44

guelfi
Member
From: /home/guelfi
Registered: 2011-07-01
Posts: 111

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

Actually you shouldn't put special window IDs in the load parameters, because the window ID will be reused for other clients after an X restart or after destroying this window.

You're right, I probably just forgot to delete some of them.

Doomcide wrote:

I noticed a weired bug yesterday: When using xcompmgr and switching to an empty workspace, it looks like the last busy ws I viewed before. So all the apps seem to be on the workspace, but aren't really.

I had some issues with xcompmgr back when I used xmonad. Some applications would
just leave a completely transparent window when started with dmenu, but worked
perfectly fine if I launched them via the xmonad shell prompt or a keybinding.
Also, every window would disappear if I killed xcompmgr, until I switched my
workspace. My solution: I stopped using it. Not a good solution, I'm aware of
it, but the best I could think of. In the end, compositing window managers are
just unnecessary bloat, and if you must have transparent terminals, you
can always use fake transparency (especially if you use a tiling wm).

Last edited by guelfi (2011-11-24 16:25:30)

Offline

#99 2011-11-24 17:14:52

Doomcide
Member
Registered: 2011-08-22
Posts: 221

Re: herbstluftwm

guelfi wrote:
Doomcide wrote:

I noticed a weired bug yesterday: When using xcompmgr and switching to an empty workspace, it looks like the last busy ws I viewed before. So all the apps seem to be on the workspace, but aren't really.

I had some issues with xcompmgr back when I used xmonad. Some applications would
just leave a completely transparent window when started with dmenu, but worked
perfectly fine if I launched them via the xmonad shell prompt or a keybinding.
Also, every window would disappear if I killed xcompmgr, until I switched my
workspace. My solution: I stopped using it. Not a good solution, I'm aware of
it, but the best I could think of. In the end, compositing window managers are
just unnecessary bloat, and if you must have transparent terminals, you
can always use fake transparency (especially if you use a tiling wm).

That's what I did, too. I just tried it with my new setup, not a must-have.

Offline

#100 2011-11-25 16:15:15

sablabra
Member
Registered: 2008-07-21
Posts: 32

Re: herbstluftwm

Is there a tabbed layout available? It would be really nice to be able to have windows tabbed in one frame. Is this something you plan to implement?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB