You are not logged in.

#101 2005-07-15 02:17:16

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

rmbalfa wrote:

Try doing something taxing, that would normally slow your system. You'll find it doesnt slow it as much.

This is a little bit off-topic but, I tried taxing the CPU (with -cko) with glxgears but it seems to be limited to 75 FPS. Last time I ran it was using 100% CPU, now only a few percent.

on a properly configured system, with direct rendering working, glxgears shouldnt touch the CPU.

Offline

#102 2005-07-15 02:47:21

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

OK iphitus, but before glxgears would do thousands of frames per second.

Offline

#103 2005-07-15 04:39:55

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

dibble - I read cko supports gensplash, so I downloaded the packages and whatnot as per the wiki page, but it doesn't seem to work for me with this kernel...  I checked the /etc/rc.d/gensplash script and found that it only does something if /dev/fbsplash exists, bit I don't have that on my system.
Have I done something wrong here?

Offline

#104 2005-07-15 05:03:35

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

if the framerate is limited at exactly 75fps then it could be because of vsync being enabled. just a thought.

Offline

#105 2005-07-15 05:51:56

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

rmbalfa wrote:

OK iphitus, but before glxgears would do thousands of frames per second.

Oops, i misread what you said. Make sure that your graphics card driver is setup correctly, reinstall nvidia or load the module for whatever it is you use.

iphitus

Offline

#106 2005-07-15 06:39:19

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Cerebral wrote:

dibble - I read cko supports gensplash, so I downloaded the packages and whatnot as per the wiki page, but it doesn't seem to work for me with this kernel...  I checked the /etc/rc.d/gensplash script and found that it only does something if /dev/fbsplash exists, bit I don't have that on my system.
Have I done something wrong here?

could you start a new thread and try and give us a bit more detail - i.e. what you have done, your grub entry for example, what video card you have is also important

Offline

#107 2005-07-15 13:14:49

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

You gottit Dib. big_smile

Offline

#108 2005-07-15 14:04:12

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I'm having problems unmounting USB storage devices with this kernel... I even had a hardlock.
But NTFS partitions, unlike the current stock kernel unmount cleanly at shutdown.
Overall performance is OK, maybe slightly slower than the stock kernel.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#109 2005-07-17 08:12:24

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

scarecrow wrote:

Overall performance is OK, maybe slightly slower than the stock kernel.

Seems unlikely to me but YMMV lol

Offline

#110 2005-07-18 07:36:54

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Offline

#111 2005-07-18 08:16:42

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

but the swsusp2 patches have not been updated yet and their is 1 (just one) failed hunk that needs fixing - which i can not do - so we have to wait - booooo!

Offline

#112 2005-07-18 08:45:15

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

dibblethewrecker wrote:

but the swsusp2 patches have not been updated yet and their is 1 (just one) failed hunk that needs fixing - which i can not do - so we have to wait - booooo!

I'll have a look tommorow if i can.

Offline

#113 2005-07-18 09:11:43

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

the 010-soft susp patch conflicts with the new cko3 patch in the drivers/pci.c file.  it's a simple patch fix but not a simple code fix - i'm not sure just correcting the patch file is enough

Offline

#114 2005-07-18 16:58:11

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

man... I was gonna fix this, because I'm bored today, but my server is off.. so I can't ssh home... grrr

Offline

#115 2005-07-19 08:48:28

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

i dont have a linux system till friday to try, so i'm not going to be trying to fix it anytime soon.

Offline

#116 2005-07-19 14:57:42

Rubinas
Member
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 36

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

check this:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … t=powernow

it's very unpleasant to have compile kernel if you have laptop :S

one more problem: kernel26cko cvs isn't working...

geez i have to listen fan beezing :S

Offline

#117 2005-07-19 21:53:45

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I realized that I forgot to change my grub.conf to boot the vmlinuzcko or whatever the file is called, anyway, now I have officially ran a cko kernel. However, things didn't go smoothy at all so I reverted to my own custom vanilla kernel.

Now things are still messed up. I keep getting these "Failed to fork child process (Resource temporarily unavailable)" when I click a button on the xfce panel and "fork: Resource temporarily unavailable" errors when I run program from the terminal.

This can't be good.

Offline

#118 2005-07-28 04:08:09

mmccaskill
Member
From: NC
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 163

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Having cko in pacman is awesome. The only problem I have is using the conversative cpufreq module. Switching from performance causes a weird keyboard/terminal lock. X and the mouse still work but the vc locks and any new terminals won't allow keyboard input. Didn't have that with just ck only with cko. But its no big deal. swsup2 works so I'm happy

Offline

#119 2005-07-28 10:37:55

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Could someone look at the swsusp patches then please?

Offline

#120 2005-07-28 11:01:18

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

-ck4 is out now.. so there might be a cko update one of these days........

iphitus

Offline

#121 2005-07-28 11:41:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

It's not -cko we are waiting for - it's the asshat that maintains the swsusp patches!

Offline

#122 2005-07-28 12:29:44

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

ok, take a try at this, it should compile and run fine....  if it doesnt, blame swsusp, everything else would be fine.

it's ck4+fbsplash+vesafb-tng+reiser4+swsusp.

http://iphitus.loudas.com/arch/kernel26 … 4-pre1.bz2

Enjoy,

iphitus

Offline

#123 2005-07-28 12:58:27

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Hold on, did you not just want to fix the minor conflict in the -cko3 patch and the swsusp patches the tgl supplies as I already mentioned?

Offline

#124 2005-07-28 13:19:41

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

i didnt use the cko patch, i just grabbed all the other patches and chucked em together myself. the only patch that had a failed hunk was fbsplash, but it was just a 1 line modification i did myself, with no issues.

fbsplash was from spock's site, most recent 2.6.12, R4 from namesys, swsusp from tgl, ck from con.

I had a good chat with Con 2 weeks ago on IRC, he doesnt live all too far from me either!

iphitus

Offline

#125 2005-07-28 13:29:34

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

OK - obviously i can't apply those patches to the kernel in [community] tho as it would be like swapping an orange for an apple and still calling it an orange!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB