You are not logged in.

#1 2002-12-07 23:29:42

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

0.4beta iso image is available

We've got a 0.4 beta iso out on some of the ftp servers (ibiblio, but not sourceforge).  If you try it out, please post any problems/results here.  Thanks!

ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distrib … .4beta.iso

Offline

#2 2002-12-08 11:13:04

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

worked fine after figured out a package conflict between kdebase and kdenetwork, part from that it seems fine.

Offline

#3 2002-12-08 11:14:49

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

can you post a changelog or something?


apt-get install arch

Offline

#4 2002-12-08 19:35:59

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

Sure.  here are the major points.

-- New Packages: (pending)
-- Updated Packages: (pending)
-- added nfsmounts to initscripts
-- install script improvements
-- install CD layout modified to run from an initrd
-- modified rc.d scripts to kill with .pid files or pidof
-- rc.sysinit now handles UTC times (user patch)
-- module depenencies are only updated if required
-- all packages rebuilt with gcc 3.2
-- pacman now supports multiple servers and respositories

Offline

#5 2002-12-08 19:44:54

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

Thanks, ody.  That file conflict will be gone in the release.

Offline

#6 2002-12-08 21:26:38

mordantly
Member
From: Westside - CenCAL
Registered: 2002-08-16
Posts: 83
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

im dlin it right now.. ill pop it tonight and take her out fur a test drive.


try to be a man and some day, you'll understand   -ccr
oh dont u worry.. ill be eating ur balls fur lunch tomorrow.   -Hugh "HughMan" Stahl
MoRdAnTlY [Mr. Wolf '91 - '11]

Offline

#7 2002-12-10 16:17:58

dunbar
Member
From: Central New Hampshire USA
Registered: 2002-08-14
Posts: 106
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

D/L in process. Will be looking for a clean install.

Offline

#8 2002-12-11 00:02:34

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

Worked like a charm--the issues of 0.3 with pacman and not being able install more than a base package have been fixed--I'll be updating my page in a day or so.

Great job, as always.  I think I'm going to throw it on a laptop next and see how it does.  (Though as 0.3 did fine with that laptop, I anticipate no problems)
Scott

Offline

#9 2002-12-11 08:34:00

jk
Member
From: Groningen, The Netherlands
Registered: 2002-10-24
Posts: 66
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

some comments from an irc user:

10:26    noxarin| hey guys, just thought id mention incase it hasnt been, for archlinux 0.4 beta, the executable is missing from the
                  enlightenment package
10:26    noxarin| and for ethereal there's missing docsis files that prevent it running

I can confirm the enlightenment issue, the current package is broken. It's strange, since the PKGBUILD works fine lol

Offline

#10 2002-12-11 21:14:37

jon
Member
Registered: 2002-11-28
Posts: 87

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

if i get the 4.0 beta iso and istall it, when you release the 4.0 can i just do a
"pacman -Syu" to update my version or do i need to reinstall.

thanks
jon

Offline

#11 2002-12-12 02:32:16

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

Thanks, jk.  Enlightenment should be fixed now.

Offline

#12 2002-12-12 02:33:17

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

jon wrote:

if i get the 4.0 beta iso and istall it, when you release the 4.0 can i just do a
"pacman -Syu" to update my version or do i need to reinstall.

Yes.  You never have to download a new .iso to upgrade your arch system.  Install once and then use 'pacman -Syu' to keep it up to date.

Offline

#13 2002-12-12 06:15:18

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

I figure this is worth mentioning, as Gentoo has become so popular--with Arch, upgrading, even from the 0.3 with gcc 2.95 (or whatever) to gcc 3.x is painless. The developers have done a fantastic job on this.

(In Gentoo it's not at all painless--most folks gave up and did a new install--same with FreeBSD, though that's a bit smoother--FreeBSD 5.x is using gcc 3.x).

So yes, though I was one of the ones posting about using the new ISO, that was mainly to keep my own Arch Linux page up to date--with pacman -Syu, as has been said, your system gets updated quite smoothly to the most current release and packages.

Scott

Offline

#14 2002-12-12 06:54:56

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

alsa: no modules found after install. e.g. modprobe snd-ice172 doesn't work!
network: where is the dns configured? with 0.2/0.3 I didn't have this problem at all
install: selecting everything takes too long. I rebooted the system after waiting for 30 minutes after "checking dependencies"

on the other hand: the new install/vi configuration is cool.
pacman 2.2 still kicks ass
and this is the first time gnome2 works as it should.

Still a pity about alsa. Without it linux is worthless to me.


apt-get install arch

Offline

#15 2002-12-12 15:12:46

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

alsa can be a bit touchy sometimes. i suggest you rebuild it locally from your abs tree.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#16 2002-12-12 16:16:13

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

that would be cool, but gives a make error.
Was the very frist thing I tried of course smile


apt-get install arch

Offline

#17 2002-12-12 18:41:50

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

What was the error?  Were the modules themselves missing?

[root@saturn root]# find /lib/modules/2.4.20 -name "*ice*"
/lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/sound/pci/ice1712
/lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/sound/pci/ice1712/snd-ice1712.o
/lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/sound/acore/seq/snd-seq-device.o

Did you run depmod -a after installing alsa-driver?

Offline

#18 2002-12-13 18:50:53

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

nope, will try that when I boot back into Arch
Never ever had to do that with ALSA ...


apt-get install arch

Offline

#19 2002-12-14 12:55:05

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

I had the same, but when I installed the base packages only the install continued. Have you tried installing the base packages only?


apt-get install arch

Offline

#20 2002-12-14 19:24:32

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: 0.4beta iso image is available

It's probably not hanging, just taking a long time to check dependencies and conflicts (especially conflicts).   It works much faster when you just install base because there are far less packages to process.

There are a couple of conflicts between packages in the 0.4beta iso.  They'll be resolved for the final release.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB