You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-22 20:17:16

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

"shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

Since I got an answer to my first question I'll also trie my luck with this question.

As the topic says, when I do 'shutdown now' the computer goes to something like
"Entering single user mode
Enter Password or type control+D to cancel: "
the biggest problem is, i cant enter a pass or control+d, it simply hangs.
also, i dont want that single user thing there.

-edit-
why cant i change subject to [Solved?]

Offline

#2 2005-07-22 20:35:05

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

try
shutdown -r now
for reboot and
shutdown -h now
for System halt.  (Power off)

Offline

#3 2005-07-22 20:38:51

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

You can also use the commands:

halt

and

reboot

I believe these just call the commands Stinky suggested, but they're easier to remember.

Dusty

Offline

#4 2005-07-22 21:51:01

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

"halt" works fine (unless you use the last stock kernel and have NTFS partitions mounted), as does "reboot" or "telinit 6"- both do the same thing.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#5 2005-07-22 22:14:55

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

All of them works perfect! Thanks!

Offline

#6 2005-07-23 01:18:15

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

/me feels all warm and fuzzy when he actually knows an answer. 

heh  lol

Offline

#7 2005-07-23 01:37:35

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

"shutdown now" goes to single-user mode on my system too, that seems to be a bug... But it doesn't hang last I checked. :? Maybe there's something else going on?

Offline

#8 2005-07-23 08:31:21

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: "shutdown now" goes into single user mode and hang

I always thought it was "shutdown -h now"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB