You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-23 11:38:58

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

volume control set to 0 on startup

to get my sound working under gnome i just added myself to the audio group and now the sound works.
but everytime i restart gnome the volume control isn't stored but is set to 0 instead (same for xmms).
how can i get them to store the volumes?

Offline

#2 2005-07-23 12:05:43

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: volume control set to 0 on startup

add alsa to your daemons() array in /etc/rc.conf. That will save/restore volume levels during power down/reboot.

Offline

#3 2005-07-23 16:37:07

Meshuggin
Member
From: /home/meshuggin
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 137

Re: volume control set to 0 on startup

Take a look at the Wiki


Arch GNU/Linux 0.7.1 (Noodle)
Linux 2.6.14-archck1

Offline

#4 2005-07-23 18:54:02

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: volume control set to 0 on startup

Maybe

alsactl restore

in /etc/rc.local?

Offline

#5 2005-07-23 19:01:15

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: volume control set to 0 on startup

tmadhavan wrote:

Maybe

alsactl restore

in /etc/rc.local?

Easyest way is:

$ alsamixer

*put your volumes in*
$su
# alsactl store

then put alsa in the daemons array in rc.conf

that should do the trick


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB