You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-25 12:50:02

Aerodyne
Member
Registered: 2005-07-25
Posts: 43

startkde error...

Hi all,

I've installed Arch as a base install, then installed KDE 3.4.1.
For some reason "startkde" script from the cmd line give me these errors:

xsetroo: unable to open display
:
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
:

How do I solve this problem? And get KDE to start up automatically on system boot?


TIA

Offline

#2 2005-07-25 13:44:35

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: startkde error...

Did you configure the X windows system?

xorgconfig


oz

Offline

#3 2005-07-25 14:59:14

Aerodyne
Member
Registered: 2005-07-25
Posts: 43

Re: startkde error...

I ran "Xorg -configure" but it says unable to get the mouse... which is a USB optical Logitech wheel mouse!!!

I need to edit the xorg.conf file but not sure what to enter in there for mouse support...

InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
:
/dev/mouse

Any comments on what to edit?

Monitor is:
iiyama 1024x768 H 57KHz & V 71.2Hz

Offline

#4 2005-07-25 15:01:15

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: startkde error...

you don't run startkde from the command line. you put the command in a file called .xinitrc in your home directory (don't forget the period at the start) and then run startx. This information is in the wiki.

Dusty

Offline

#5 2005-07-25 15:05:09

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: startkde error...

Aerodyne wrote:

I ran "Xorg -configure" but it says unable to get the mouse... which is a USB optical Logitech wheel mouse!!!

I need to edit the xorg.conf file but not sure what to enter in there for mouse support...

InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
:
/dev/mouse

Any comments on what to edit?

Monitor is:
iiyama 1024x768 H 57KHz & V 71.2Hz

install hwd.  Then run

hwd -x

That will create you a file called xorg.conf.hwd in /etc/X11
Rename that to xorg.conf and (hopefully) that's all you'll have to do to get a working xorg.conf.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB