You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-27 00:55:15

elvalith
Member
Registered: 2005-07-26
Posts: 28

Trouble connecting to the network

Yay, its your friendly village idiot here again with a brand new question.

Ok, as the title says, I now seem to have some problems with connecting to my network. I tried to ping my desktop but when I did, I got
"connect: Network is unreachable"
I did a ifconfig and this is what popped up
"""
lo    Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1   Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128  Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 orverruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 orverruns:0 frame:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
"""
This is what is in my rc.conf (what should matter at least)
"""
MODULES(!usbserial !ide-scsi)
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
"""

Can anyone give me any suggestions as to how I can solve my problem?

Offline

#2 2005-07-27 01:04:26

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Trouble connecting to the network

I tried to ping my desktop

I assume you mean the loopback.

Your rc.conf looks ok.

Are you running hotplug and network in your DAEMONS() array.
Maybe your network module is not loading. Do you know what it is? You can run lsmod to check if it is. lshwd may help as well (Pacman -Sy lshwd). Are you running a custom kernel?
If you can ping yourself, are you behind a router?

Offline

#3 2005-07-27 01:52:59

elvalith
Member
Registered: 2005-07-26
Posts: 28

Re: Trouble connecting to the network

Penguin wrote:

I assume you mean the loopback.

No, actually, I meant I pinged my other computer (I installed linux on my laptop) that is part of the same network. I can ping myself (ping 127.0.0.1) btw and I am hooked up to a router. (I am also using the 2.6 IDE kernel that came with arch.)

My rc.conf says this:
"DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hotplug !pcmcia network netfs crond)"

I do not think that either the hotplugs or network module is running though. When I did lsmod, neither popped up. Could you tell me how I might get the two modules to start up automatically on boot?

Offline

#4 2005-07-27 02:02:04

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Trouble connecting to the network

elvalith wrote:

Could you tell me how I might get the two modules to start up automatically on boot?

Sometimes hotplug wont pick up modules. Either that or its not complied in your kernel (unlikely but possible)

If you know what they are, add them to the MODULES() array in /etc/rc.conf

You can test for the proper module first by running modprobe <module>
To remove it, use the -r switch in the same manner.

To manually restart your network connection do (as root):
/etc/rc.d/network restart

Offline

#5 2005-07-27 02:27:00

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Trouble connecting to the network

I just re-read your post. If you can ping yourself and the other computer your network module is loaded up. There must be a config somewhere messed up, DNS maybe? Can you ping an ip address?

Hotplug and Network are not modules, the're daemons. To restart them do the /etc/rc.d/daemon restart thing. You can see if they are running by doing ls /var/run/daemons.

Offline

#6 2005-07-27 02:44:49

elvalith
Member
Registered: 2005-07-26
Posts: 28

Re: Trouble connecting to the network

Actually, I finally got my network up and running (I couldn't ping the other computer but I could ping myself). The problem was that the 8139too module was not running (thats the driver for my ethernet controller) so I just did "modprobe 8139too" and everything was fixed. Thanks a lot for all the help you gave me (it was the lshwd command that finally gave me the clue I needed, I now have that command written down and memorized big_smile). I really appreciate it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB