You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-17 02:12:32

DarkSniper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 74

[Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

After some forum searching and wiki reading, I finally got pacman 4 setup with package signatures. However, when I run a -Sy, it's throwing 404's at me for the signature files for the databases [the databases still work correctly]. Is this caused by my mirrors not syncing fast enough, or is it something else?
Here's a little of my output illustrating this:

  -> Downloading core.db.sig

2012-01-16 18:01:32.430384 NOTICE - ServerStat file /etc/pacget.stats loaded successfully.

2012-01-16 18:01:32.745747 ERROR - CUID#6 - Download aborted. URI=http://mirrors.lax1.thegcloud.com/arch//core/os/x86_64/core.db.sig
Exception: [AbstractCommand.cc:303] errorCode=3 URI=http://mirrors.lax1.thegcloud.com/arch//core/os/x86_64/core.db.sig
  -> [HttpSkipResponseCommand.cc:211] errorCode=3 Resource not found

2012-01-16 18:01:32.998759 ERROR - CUID#7 - Download aborted. URI=http://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/archlinux/core/os/x86_64/core.db.sig
Exception: [AbstractCommand.cc:303] errorCode=3 URI=http://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/archlinux/core/os/x86_64/core.db.sig
  -> [HttpSkipResponseCommand.cc:211] errorCode=3 Resource not found

Last edited by DarkSniper (2012-01-17 05:31:01)


Failure is not an option... It comes bundled with Windows.

Offline

#2 2012-01-17 02:42:51

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

Can you post your pacman.conf? What command did you run to get this output - it doesn't look like the standard one.

Did you set up database signature checking e.g.

[core]
SigLevel = DatabaseRequired

?

Offline

#3 2012-01-17 03:08:17

DarkSniper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 74

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

I'm using aria2 [via the pacget script] as my dlagent, as opposed to the built in pacman one. Other than that, I uncommented multilib, and turned on signature checking.
Here's the whole thing: http://pastebin.com/GWkvKtXH

The built-in download manager doesn't complain about the lack of these signatures, but it gives a signature fail message if I try to put the option you mentioned on any of the repos: "error: database 'core' is not valid (invalid or corrupted database (PGP signature))"


Failure is not an option... It comes bundled with Windows.

Offline

#4 2012-01-17 03:27:53

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,094
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

I can only recommend using the internal downloader.

"Optional" extends to "DatabaseOptional" which means your downloader will attempt to grab the sig file. You'll need to add in DatabaseNever to your SigLevel if you want to avoid this behavior with an external downloader.

Offline

#5 2012-01-17 04:39:21

DarkSniper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 74

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

Okay, I'll use the internal downloader then.

To satisfy my curiosity: Is there a reason why the .sig files aren't on the mirrors at the moment?


Failure is not an option... It comes bundled with Windows.

Offline

#6 2012-01-17 05:22:49

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,409
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

Because the databases are not signed yet.   The process for doing that is still being worked out...

Offline

#7 2012-01-17 05:30:48

DarkSniper
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 74

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

Ah, I thought it was something along those lines. Thanks for the info!


Failure is not an option... It comes bundled with Windows.

Offline

#8 2015-02-14 19:34:05

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

just found this while switching from the internal downloader to one handling FTP connection closures with reconnecting retries and run into the same 404 on sig files. was there any progress in having sig files on mirrors?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#9 2015-02-15 23:19:53

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

dp wrote:

just found this while switching from the internal downloader to one handling FTP connection closures with reconnecting retries and run into the same 404 on sig files. was there any progress in having sig files on mirrors?

I don't think the databases are signed so there are no files to put on the mirrors.

But this is an old thread and necromancy is frowned upon...

But the advice to use the internal downloader is still good.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2015-02-16 08:45:11

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: [Solved] Pacman 4 Looking for <repo>.db.sig files which aren't there?

Allan wrote:

Because the databases are not signed yet.   The process for doing that is still being worked out...

This.  I've never had it output errors to the console so I don't know why yours did that.  I have ran Wireshark while doing a Pacman sync and it always asks for the repo sig files (to which the server replies "file not found") but Pacman just seems to ignore this and carry on regardless.  Never would have known unless I looked at the raw packets.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB