You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-12 15:54:20

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

How can one proceed if installing pacman4 from [testing] via an ssh connection?  This is on a headless box.

# pacman-key --init
gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key...

Not enough random bytes available.  Please do some other work to give
the OS a chance to collect more entropy! (Need 282 more bytes)

Last edited by graysky (2011-11-12 19:01:37)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#2 2011-11-12 17:15:17

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 22269.html - maybe just playing with urandom will work if you're not inside a VM, otherwise try
http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 22273.html

Last edited by karol (2011-11-12 17:18:05)

Offline

#3 2011-11-12 19:01:24

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Wow, what is pain in the balls, thank you!

http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 22273.html contained the solution.

1) https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=14589 <--- build and install
2) rngd -f -r /dev/urandom in one ssh window
3) vim /etc/conf.d/rngd and change 0 to 10
4) pacman-key --init


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#4 2012-01-17 12:22:36

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

I edited the pacman page on the wiki adding this advice now that [core] contains pacman4.  Thanks again, Karol for the links.

Can a mod move this thread to the pacman section of the bbs?

Last edited by graysky (2012-01-17 12:23:46)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2012-01-17 13:23:34

derloy
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 3

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

This is not the proper way to use rng-tools. You are feeding entropy from /dev/urandom back into the kernel - that makes no sense. You are better off just doing some nice IO.

Offline

#6 2012-01-17 13:48:39

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

@derloy - please provide an example that satisfies the need.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#7 2012-01-17 15:09:12

Larsson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 156

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Open some applications, move some windows around, resizing etc. Then entropy goes up.

Last edited by Larsson (2012-01-17 15:09:27)


"If the person you are talking to doesn't appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear." - A.A. Milne (Winnie-the-Pooh)

Offline

#8 2012-01-17 15:10:13

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Larsson wrote:

Open some applications, move some windows around, resizing etc. Then entropy goes up.

http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 22273.html

Offline

#9 2012-01-17 15:15:21

lifeafter2am
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 1,332

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Larsson wrote:

Open some applications, move some windows around, resizing etc. Then entropy goes up.

Please read the first post ... he specifically states that this is a headless box.


#binarii @ irc.binarii.net
Matrix Server: https://matrix.binarii.net
-------------
Allan -> ArchBang is not supported because it is stupid.

Offline

#10 2012-01-17 16:01:19

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,728

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

In light of Pacman 4 moving from testing, this thread should follow.
Moving to Pacman and Package upgrades

edit: Thanks Graysky

Last edited by ewaller (2012-01-17 16:02:32)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#11 2012-01-17 18:01:03

Larsson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 156

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

lifeafter2am wrote:

Please read the first post ... he specifically states that this is a headless box.

Sorry for that, my english is not that good, so I missunderstood the post.


"If the person you are talking to doesn't appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear." - A.A. Milne (Winnie-the-Pooh)

Offline

#12 2012-01-17 18:43:36

jiggpig
Member
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

IO worked for me (like derloy suggested) on my headless box. In another SSH session, I went into a directory with a lot of large video files, and:

cat * > /dev/null

Took a few minutes but did the trick.

Offline

#13 2012-01-17 20:35:22

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

jiggpig wrote:

IO worked for me (like derloy suggested) on my headless box. In another SSH session, I went into a directory with a lot of large video files, and:

cat * > /dev/null

Took a few minutes but did the trick.

I tried this... after catting 10 G of video files, the operation in the 2nd ssh window hasn't moved at all.

Window 1:

$ sudo pacman-key --init
gpg: /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: no ultimately trusted keys found
gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key...

Not enough random bytes available.  Please do some other work to give
the OS a chance to collect more entropy! (Need 277 more bytes)

Window 2:

$ for i in $(ls); do cat "$i" >/dev/null; done

Now, when I repeat using the the instructions I posted to the pacman wiki page, this happens nearly instantaneously:

$ sudo pacman-key --init
gpg: /etc/pacman.d/gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: no ultimately trusted keys found
gpg: Generating pacman keychain master key...

Not enough random bytes available.  Please do some other work to give
the OS a chance to collect more entropy! (Need 277 more bytes)
+++++
.+++++
gpg: key 4D863ABB marked as ultimately trusted
gpg: Done
==> Updating trust database...
gpg: 3 marginal(s) needed, 1 complete(s) needed, PGP trust model
gpg: depth: 0  valid:   1  signed:   0  trust: 0-, 0q, 0n, 0m, 0f, 1u

Last edited by graysky (2012-01-17 20:38:17)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#14 2012-01-17 20:39:15

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,728

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

I found that starting the key generation process and then switching over to the browser and moderating the forums for a while generates more than enough entropy tongue


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#15 2012-01-17 20:40:56

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

ewaller wrote:

I found that starting the key generation process and then switching over to the browser and moderating the forums for a while generates more than enough rage!!! tongue


big_smile


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#16 2012-02-11 19:01:46

madko
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-11
Posts: 6

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Hi,

Same problem here on an ARM box. I'd like to install rng-tools but pacman says no such target sad
I have no big files on this server, so I try to generate some IO but still no luck. Any other idea to solve this problem?

EDIT: I just haven't wait enough

Last edited by madko (2012-02-11 19:10:31)


Totally linuxed !!!

Offline

#17 2012-02-11 19:23:52

Barthalion
Forum Fellow
From: Poland
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 111

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

There is haveged in [community]. Simply start the daemon after installation.

Offline

#18 2012-02-11 19:33:26

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

ewaller wrote:

I found that starting the key generation process and then switching over to the browser and moderating the forums for a while generates more than enough entropy tongue

All that on a headless server huh tongue.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#19 2012-03-06 14:58:02

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 466
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Graysky's post (#4) works without any other issues.  Whether it's the accepted method or not, it's the one that works most quickly.

IM far less than humble opinion, that's what should go in the wiki.  Keep in mind that many people come to Arch because they are tired of overly GUI oriented distributions.

Offline

#20 2012-03-06 15:23:42

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,592
Website

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Scrot - I added it to the pacman page a while ago.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#21 2012-03-06 15:32:55

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,810

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

@graysky

I don't see anything about this on the pacman page hmm

Last edited by alphaniner (2012-03-06 15:40:58)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#22 2012-03-06 15:57:23

xduugu
Member
Registered: 2008-10-16
Posts: 292

Re: pacman v4 -- how to collect entropy via ssh [SOLVED]

Someone moved it to the pacman-key page.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB