You are not logged in.

#426 2011-12-22 19:44:44

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

¿Te gustaría traducir el sitio web de MATE en inglés? Puedo hacerlo para ti. smile

Last edited by itsbrad212 (2011-12-22 19:56:49)

Offline

#427 2011-12-23 00:09:24

Perberos
Member
From: Rio Negro / Argentina
Registered: 2010-05-30
Posts: 81

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Yo estaría agradecido

Offline

#428 2011-12-23 01:03:32

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Perberos wrote:

Yo estaría agradecido

Bueno, ¿tienes una carpeta del sitio que puedes darme? Sino, puedo usar el HTML de aquí.

Offline

#429 2011-12-23 15:43:01

Perberos
Member
From: Rio Negro / Argentina
Registered: 2010-05-30
Posts: 81

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

use that HTML

Offline

#430 2011-12-23 22:09:30

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

He terminado la traducción. smile Las páginas en el archivo se faltan las fotos originales, por supuesto. Si pones esas páginas en una carpeta diferente (como "http://website.com/en/"), necesitas poner las fotos en la carpeta nueva también, o ajustar el HTML. Probablemente ya sabes, sin embargo. wink

Puedes encontrarlo aquí:
http://ompldr.org/vYnZ6aA/mate-english.tar.gz

Dime si hay problemas con la traducción, por favor.

Offline

#431 2011-12-24 01:16:34

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Could you keep it in english please?

There's a subforum for other languages.

vv⁻⁻ Thank you. smile

Last edited by Zom (2011-12-24 09:48:04)

Offline

#432 2011-12-24 02:08:55

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Zom wrote:

Could you keep it in english please?

There's a subforum for other languages.

He said that he does not speak English very well; I felt it would be helpful to contact him in his native language. I'll refrain from speaking Spanish on our English-only boards from now on. smile

Last edited by itsbrad212 (2011-12-24 18:51:34)

Offline

#433 2011-12-24 22:47:30

Perberos
Member
From: Rio Negro / Argentina
Registered: 2010-05-30
Posts: 81

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Thankyou so much

Offline

#434 2011-12-27 22:45:59

andesho91
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 71

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

kahlil88 wrote:
nticompass wrote:

I have both MATE, and Gnome 3 installed.  In MATE, the places menu opens Nautilus 3, but the desktop icons open Caja.
How can I fix it so that both the desktop and the places menu open the file manager (I'd prefer Nautilus 3)?

I'm curious about this as well. Not running Gnome 3 but I have Nautilus Elementary installed and it opens when I click anything in the places menu but desktop icons open in Caja.

I'm having a similar problem, but I outline it here. In XFCE4, all is fine, thunar behaves and so does caja. When I move to mate, if I open My Computer or any link off the desktop, I get caja, but when I go to places, only my computer opens with caja, the rest with thunar... I applied the suggested fix with no effect...


Laptop: AMD A4-3305M, 4GB RAM, Archlinux 64bit with XFCE4 and Linux Mint Maya with MATE.

Offline

#435 2012-01-02 21:26:09

openricky
Member
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 6

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

OMG I just got MATE installed, along with mate-display-manager. I AM LOVING IT!

one bug or something that i found:

when i go to 'System' -> 'Log Out $user' -> 'Switch User', i get an error message: "Unable to start new display.  The name org.mate.DisplayManager was not provided by any .service files."

is there a known fix for this? and thanks for all the work on this, i left Ubuntu for Arch because of the "arch way" and MATE with fast user switching would be a great environment to use!

Offline

#436 2012-01-03 22:53:16

Kopfweh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-06
Posts: 72

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

How can I use the mate-display-manager(do  I have to use it as daemon or can I also add a line in the /etc/inittab)? There is no entry about the mate-display manager in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/MATE#Starting_MATE yet!

Offline

#437 2012-01-03 23:05:56

andesho91
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 71

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Kopfweh wrote:

How can I use the mate-display-manager(do  I have to use it as daemon or can I also add a line in the /etc/inittab)? There is no entry about the mate-display manager in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/MATE#Starting_MATE yet!

You could always install SLiM and then put the following in the ~/.xinitrc file, thats what I do.

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch mate-session


Laptop: AMD A4-3305M, 4GB RAM, Archlinux 64bit with XFCE4 and Linux Mint Maya with MATE.

Offline

#438 2012-01-04 00:36:48

openricky
Member
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 6

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Kopfweh wrote:

How can I use the mate-display-manager(do  I have to use it as daemon or can I also add a line in the /etc/inittab)? There is no entry about the mate-display manager in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/MATE#Starting_MATE yet!

i installed mate-display-manager from AUR and set my inittab to launch GDM.  it appears that mate-desktop-manager takes over the gdm executable, can anyone confirm that?

either that, or the changes that MATE made to my gnome install drastically changed my GDM and i'm not actually using mate-display-manager...

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=50658

Last edited by openricky (2012-01-04 00:38:40)

Offline

#439 2012-01-05 15:02:15

Kopfweh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-06
Posts: 72

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Thanks, for the answers, andesho91 and openricky!



edit: Sorry, I didn't realize that the answer already is in the comment of that aur-package!

"Comment by: Perberos on Mon, 11 Jul 2011 23:54:35 +0000

    Use /etc/rc.d/gdm start
    as yet"

Last edited by Kopfweh (2012-01-05 16:23:19)

Offline

#440 2012-01-10 09:39:47

aleextra
Member
Registered: 2009-12-02
Posts: 25

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Thanks for your work. Back into normal desktop environment. Works perfect.

Last edited by aleextra (2012-01-10 09:40:01)

Offline

#441 2012-01-13 22:23:09

quietfanatic
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 1

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Thank you very much for providing us with MATE.  It is now my preferred desktop environment.

I had written a post complaining that I couldn't get an IME working in MATE, but then before I pressed 'Submit' I figured out how to get ibus to work.  Oh well.

Instead, I may as well ask why I can't get some special keyboard shortcuts to work (like volume control and suspend)

Offline

#442 2012-01-14 18:20:10

dov
Member
Registered: 2010-12-29
Posts: 9

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I've been really enjoying using MATE, but one thing that was inherited from nautilus bothers me a little. There used to be an option in nautilus to have a text based location bar instead of buttons (until the developers got rid of it.) I'm wondering if there is any possible way in caja get a text based location bar? The old code could conceivably still be there.

Offline

#443 2012-01-15 15:20:37

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 361
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

dov wrote:

I've been really enjoying using MATE, but one thing that was inherited from nautilus bothers me a little. There used to be an option in nautilus to have a text based location bar instead of buttons (until the developers got rid of it.) I'm wondering if there is any possible way in caja get a text based location bar? The old code could conceivably still be there.

I assume you mean the setting found under gconf-editor:

/apps/caja/preferences/always_use_location_entry

--
JSkier

Offline

#444 2012-01-16 23:40:28

themattbeballin
Member
From: Valley Park/Kirkwood, MO
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 84

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I installed MATE recently, and have been using it... Makes me feel at-home like I did in GNOME2. My only complaint is the Applications Menu. It apparently hasn't acknowledged that I have a WINE menu like in other DEs (LXDE, XFCE to be specific).

It just goes into "Other" like this...

tY2F6Nw

Where it should look like this... Because this is how I have it configured...

tY2F6YQ

In GNOME2 this worked fine.

Is there a fix for this?

Offline

#445 2012-01-17 17:17:30

schneida
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 74
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

@Perberos (en): There weren't any changes in your ArchLinux Repository since Dec 16th, are you still maintaining packages for ArchLinux? The reason why I'm asking is because, if you don't I would like to put a new version into the repository at tridex.net
@Perberos (es): No habian cambios en tu repositorio de Arch desde el 16 de deciembre. Todavía estás manteniendo archivos para ArchLinux? Si no podría poner una nueva version de los archivos en el repositorio tridex.net?

Offline

#446 2012-01-19 02:54:55

Amanas
Member
Registered: 2011-10-31
Posts: 3

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Please report all issues to the mate-desktop github from now on. We will no longer be tracking bugs on Perberos' page that was formerly being used. More info can be found here.

schneida wrote:

@Perberos (en): There weren't any changes in your ArchLinux Repository since Dec 16th, are you still maintaining packages for ArchLinux? The reason why I'm asking is because, if you don't I would like to put a new version into the repository at tridex.net
@Perberos (es): No habian cambios en tu repositorio de Arch desde el 16 de deciembre. Todavía estás manteniendo archivos para ArchLinux? Si no podría poner una nueva version de los archivos en el repositorio tridex.net?

Perberos is currently away. bickman2k has started packaging for ArchLinux now. Feel free to stop in #mate on irc.freenode.net to coordinate with him.

Offline

#447 2012-01-19 03:32:03

bickman2k
Member
From: Olathe, KS
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 15

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I'm working on finishing getting the packages made and then put up on my repo on my VPS or I can put them up on the Tridex repo if I can get access to that since it's already up and established. Doesn't matter to me. Once I can verify that they are working from there, I'll post a link to the repo here and on the wiki. I'm also going to be moving to the actual version rather than the date-based versioning that perberos was using, so you may have to reinstall the packages once it is up.

Last edited by bickman2k (2012-01-19 03:33:21)

Offline

#448 2012-01-19 19:28:02

Perberos
Member
From: Rio Negro / Argentina
Registered: 2010-05-30
Posts: 81

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

@themattbeballin: Wine folder is a know issues, I was not able to fix it. And I do not know why it's broken.

schneida wrote:

are you still maintaining packages for ArchLinux?

Yes.

Offline

#449 2012-01-19 19:45:07

schneida
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 74
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

@Perberos: good news, anyway you should try to contact bickman2k because he is working on a new set of packages too. It should better be avoided having to men doing the same work twice.

Offline

#450 2012-01-19 20:57:12

themattbeballin
Member
From: Valley Park/Kirkwood, MO
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 84

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Perberos wrote:

@themattbeballin: Wine folder is a know issues, I was not able to fix it. And I do not know why it's broken.

schneida wrote:

are you still maintaining packages for ArchLinux?

Yes.


I was able to solve my problem by compiling mate-menu-editor (Mozo) from GIT and then moving the items out of the Other folder to their rightful category. So my issue is solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB