You are not logged in.

#26 2012-01-19 19:29:15

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Hi all, i did all, the script with new packages gone, but when i tried to recover pacman-4.0.1-4 , this gave me this error:
var/lib/pacman/
pacman: error while loading shared libraries: libgpgme.so.11: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
What i can do with this?
Thanks

Offline

#27 2012-01-19 19:39:24

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Do you have gpgme installed? If so, reinstall it.

Offline

#28 2012-01-19 19:42:22

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

gpgme is a new dependency of pacman, download the package and untar to root like with the other dependencies  (tar -xvpf ${pkgname} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL).

Last edited by hokasch (2012-01-19 19:42:47)

Offline

#29 2012-01-19 19:56:43

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

first of all thanks, i tried, (tar -xvpf ${gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL).
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `.'

Last edited by trazalca (2012-01-19 20:00:16)

Offline

#30 2012-01-19 19:58:06

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

trazalca wrote:

first of all thanks, i tried, i downloaded gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz but i can't install and can't unzip....

Why can't you extract it? What errors are you getting?

Offline

#31 2012-01-19 20:01:51

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

i tried, (tar -xvpf ${gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL).
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `.'

Offline

#32 2012-01-19 20:03:38

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Did you run

(tar -xvpf ${gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL).

with the parentheses and the dot? Try

tar -xvpf ${gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL

Offline

#33 2012-01-19 20:07:54

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

tar -xvpf ${gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL
tar: 1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz: funzione "open" non riuscita: File o directory non esistente
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
sorry but some is in italian, say that file or directory don't exist.... but, otherwise, the file is there... i'm sure.

Offline

#34 2012-01-19 20:08:38

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

I took the snippet from the first page, where pgkname is a variable in the script - you have to specify the filename as it is, without ${..}

tar -xvpf gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL

Last edited by hokasch (2012-01-19 20:09:11)

Offline

#35 2012-01-19 20:10:09

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Run

LC_ALL=C <command>

to get output in English.


What is the filename of the package you downloaded? I hope you know you have to run this command in the directory containing this file.

Offline

#36 2012-01-19 20:18:20

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

ok, little step... i installed gpme... but now when try to recover pacman i had this
var/lib/pacman/
pacman: error while loading shared libraries: libassuan.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
i search for this lib, i thought was on gnupg but wasn't... you know the package??
thanks you are very kindly..

Offline

#37 2012-01-19 20:20:23

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

dirmngr and gnupg2 require libassuan,
Download it and extract. Do the same thing with ALL the dependencies.

Offline

#38 2012-01-19 20:22:19

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Oh dear. Its from libassuan package, a dependency of gnupg2. You might have to repeat this with all dependencies you are somehow missing. Take note of what you are untaring!
When pacman works again, install all the packages you untared manually again with pacman (you will have to apply force, see man pacman).

Offline

#39 2012-01-19 20:32:51

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

ok thanks to you two!! i love you... but.. now i had this...
:: I seguenti pacchetti dovrebbero essere aggiornati prima :
    pacman
:: Vuoi annullare l'operazione corrente
:: e aggiornare adesso questi pacchetti? [S/n]
attenzione: openssl-1.0.0.f-1 è aggiornato, sarà reinstallato
attenzione: libfetch-2.33-3 è aggiornato, sarà reinstallato
risoluzione delle dipendenze in corso...
ricerca dei conflitti in corso...
errore: impossibile eseguire l'operazione richiesta (impossibile soddisfare le dipendenze)
:: packagekit: richiede pacman<3.6.0

Offline

#40 2012-01-19 20:40:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Please post in English.

The last line means you have to remove packagekit. You can install it later, after the update.

Offline

#41 2012-01-19 20:49:01

trazalca
Member
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 11

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

ok, thanks guys.. read this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=133684 and solved!!! sorry for italian comments... i'll do better next time!! ))
+1 for u!

Offline

#42 2012-01-31 18:22:20

dr_relling
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-02-24
Posts: 6

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Whoooops.
I had the same problem and did a manual download followed by a

 tar xvpf gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL

Guss what; everything in /usr/bin /usr/lib /usr/include was deleted and replaced by the content of this package. I had  bettter luck with

 mkdir tmpdir; cd tmpdir
 tar xvpf ../gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz
 rsync -av usr/ /usr/

But do not know if this is a recomended way of doing things

Offline

#43 2012-07-24 02:19:28

SeducingOrange
Member
Registered: 2012-07-24
Posts: 12

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Did you try
<code> pacman -S pacman </code>

I joke I joke big_smile


The John Blog for humor and linux smile

Offline

#44 2012-07-24 02:23:14

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,833

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

SeducingOrange wrote:

Did you try
<code> pacman -S pacman </code>

I joke I joke big_smile

This is not 'Off-topic', so please don't post empty posts.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#45 2013-03-30 20:46:44

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Offline

#46 2013-05-11 07:35:48

quayasil
Member
Registered: 2008-11-09
Posts: 92

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

Why don't do it simple?
Take any working installation (even a pendrive) and combine `pacman -Ql pacman' with `rsync'?

Last edited by quayasil (2013-05-11 07:39:03)

Offline

#47 2013-06-08 04:09:10

ravisghosh
Member
From: Intergalactic Spaces
Registered: 2006-10-12
Posts: 516
Website

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

mods, please excuse me for necrobumping, just wanted to add a valuable piece of info if someone is hit by the same issue.

The solution is to download the package from archlinux.org>package and then installing it with:

tar -xvpf gpgme-1.3.1-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL

However, one should be careful enough to download the right version. If you have a 32-bit machine, download i686 version and for 64-bit machine, download x86_64 version.

If you happen to install an incorrect version, you would be hit by the following error:

pacman: error while loading shared libraries: libgpgme.so.11: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

Offline

#48 2016-02-02 06:09:58

pethead
Member
From: RU
Registered: 2015-02-25
Posts: 32

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

It is surprising that after the release of pacman in the core, the system is broken and needs to be repaired. But not even that surprising, we'll fix it, but... nowhere on this not notified! In the news silence...


This Must Be The Place I Waited Years To Leave

Offline

#49 2016-02-02 06:12:03

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,984

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

pethead wrote:

It is surprising that after the release of pacman in the core, the system is broken and needs to be repaired. But not even that surprising, we'll fix it, but... nowhere on this not notified! In the news silence...

News is silent because this update should cause no problems.

Offline

#50 2016-02-02 06:20:00

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,831
Website

Re: How to reinstall pacman when pacman is broken

The system isn't broken, unless you are referring to yaourt/package-query, in which case it is PEBCAK. No need for a news item.

Closing.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB