You are not logged in.

#101 2012-01-04 10:13:23

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some snapwm news.

I've added some more colour options in the rc file so the external text shown in the bar can have some colour. The THEME line in the rc file has the first four colours used in window/bar borders and background and the last five are to colour the text. I used the ampersand & as a marker in the external text and it is followed by the number of the text colour that's wanted. To use the first text colour then the fifth the external text should look like:

&0 some text &4 some more text

Here's a pic:
tYzFyNg
and the conkyrc I use (as a reference):

out_to_x no
out_to_console yes
double_buffer yes
use_spacer left
update_interval 1
no_buffers yes

TEXT
&4::&1 &1${mem} &4::&3${execi 20 /home/pnewm/.bin/sensors_out}  ${cpu cpu0}% &4::&1${if_up wlan0}${downspeed wlan0}${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}%$else${downspeed eth0}$endif &4::&3 $battery &4::&1 ${uptime} &4::&1 ${time %a %d/%m} &4:&2 ${execi 60 /home/pnewm/progs/c.files/fuzzyctime} &4::

Some dminiwm news.
The latest quit function had some changes to the kill_client function as well which would kill the wm if it was used and there wasn't an open window so that's fixed now.

Edit: The wm would crash if changing to/from fullscreen mode with no open windows so that's fixed now too.

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:30:57)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#102 2012-01-05 22:10:52

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some snapwm news.

I had a little time so I added 'some' error checking and now the wm won't crash if there is no rc file. I removed the option for some space to show a panel like dzen and added the option for the bar to be shown at the top, since having the wm show some external text uses much less resources then something like dzen. If an unfocused desktop has open windows it gets a different colour in the switcher.
Here's a pic:
tYzM2Zg

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:31:27)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#103 2012-01-09 09:07:47

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

There's been some bug fixes, mostly about window sizing.
The master area and the window at the top of the stack can't be made too large or too small.
It used to be that after the window at the top of the stack was resized and an application closed the windows weren't resized well.
After the second last window is closed the size of the master area is reset.

Cheers


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#104 2012-01-14 02:12:10

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some silliness

I've added an alpha value to the unfocused windows in snapwm so with cairo-compmgr or xcompmgr they're semi transparent.
Here's a pic:
tYzh5bw

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:32:21)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#105 2012-01-14 20:13:53

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some snapwm news.

Adding an alpha value to the unfocused windows doesn't seem to add anything to the resources used so I'm keeping it. The value can be changed from the rc file 'on the run' and using cairo-compmgr can be a little fun. (Xcompmgr has a broken arse so I wouldn't bother with it.)
tYzlpdg

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:32:58)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#106 2012-01-15 08:46:25

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Hey moe, I started playing with snapwm. My status bar still flickers occasionally either using my status script or conky. And another small thing I noticed is that when I configure it to start in monocle mode, it shows [T] until I open a window and then switches to [M], but it is in monocle mode. I changed it to [T] for vertical and [M] for monocle. Otherwise, I really like it a lot. Here's a screenshot of what I have so far. I haven't really messed with the colors yet.   tYzl1aA

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-15 09:26:20)

Offline

#107 2012-01-15 20:15:39

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

stlarch wrote:

Hey moe, I started playing with snapwm. My status bar still flickers occasionally either using my status script or conky. And another small thing I noticed is that when I configure it to start in monocle mode, it shows [T] until I open a window and then switches to [M], but it is in monocle mode. I changed it to [T] for vertical and [M] for monocle. Otherwise, I really like it a lot. Here's a screenshot of what I have so far. I haven't really messed with the colors yet.   http://omploader.org/tYzl1aA

Thanks for giving it a try stlarch smile The external text flickers here too. It doesn't happen often, less than once a minute here, and I have no idea why it happens but I have a couple of things I can try that might fix it so we'll see.
I always have a urxvtc open at startup so I've never noticed the mode wasn't displayed right, cheers for that.
if (you don't want to edit the code)
    a git pull will fix it
else
    moving the lines about the rc file and bar - lines 1256-1263
    to below the change_desktop line - line 1298
    is all it takes.

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:34:17)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#108 2012-01-15 21:05:13

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Thanks moe, that fixed it.

edit: never mind what I said about urxvtcmd, it must have been something I did. I was messing with my config. I redid it and it seems fine now. I really liking it. Thanks again for this.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-15 21:25:46)

Offline

#109 2012-01-15 21:28:41

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

stlarch wrote:

Thanks moe, that fixed it.

edit: never mind what I said about urxvtcmd, it must have been something I did. I was messing with my config. I redid it and it seems fine now. I really liking it. Thanks again for this.

I started having issues with the keys and firefox went weird so I've pushed a better fix to github which seems to do things properly so far.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#110 2012-01-15 21:49:05

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

I had a chance to put the colors back to sort of my usual theme. tongue Here's an updated screenshot:
tY2E4Zw
I actually kinda like your colors too. I might play around with those some.

Offline

#111 2012-01-15 22:00:34

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

stlarch wrote:

I had a chance to put the colors back to sort of my usual theme. tongue Here's an updated screenshot:
http://omploader.org/tY2E4Zw
I actually kinda like your colors too. I might play around with those some.

Looking good there.
It's easy to change the colours, just edit and save the rc file and hit Alt+u. wink

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-02-16 19:35:12)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#112 2012-01-16 03:43:15

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some snapwm news.

I've added more options to the rc file so there's lots that can be changed in the running wm.

THEME #443311,#002030,#004050,#001020,#999977,#777755,#339933,#aa6644,#ffffff,
BORDERWIDTH 2
MASTERSIZE 52
ATTACHASIDE 1
DEFAULTMODE 0
UF_WIN_ALPHA 65
FOLLOWMOUSE 0
CLICKTOFOCUS 1
TOPBAR 0
MODENAME [V],[F],[H ],[G],
DESKTOP_NAMES term,edit,web,media,mail,play,
FONTNAME "-*-terminusmod.icons-medium-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*"

Just edit the rc file and save it then hit Alt+u.
If there's a value in config.h for something it doesn't have to be in the rc file.
If someone tries this and finds an issue please speak up. There is an issue where the bar is swapped from being at the top to the bottom and the desktop switcher doesn't show the desktop names but I'll sort that out soon.

Cheers

Last edited by ewaller (2012-01-16 05:38:50)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#113 2012-01-16 05:42:51

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

moetunes,
I saw your report, and that is a strange bug.  I tried changing it to a capital H, and it reverts to a lower case h.  The [ H ] looks like BBcode and seems to be the root of the problem.  I broke the BBcode in your post by adding space after the H, and it does not revert.

Feel free to edit your post back however you want.  I'll try to get a bug report to the correct people.

edit: To all those reading the post above, there is not supposed to be a space ofter the the H in [H ], if it is posted that way, the H turns to an h hmm

Last edited by ewaller (2012-01-16 05:44:22)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#114 2012-01-16 22:16:28

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Some snapwm news.

When the default mode was changed in the rc file and the wm updated it didn't go through all the desktops adjusting the master area to suit.
That's been fixed.

Cheers


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#115 2012-01-18 10:39:53

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

crosspost

Ultra-light setup - dminiwm and just conky:

screenshot

I finally got conky to stop moving too.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-18 19:24:38)

Offline

#116 2012-01-19 01:01:34

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

stlarch wrote:

I finally got conky to stop moving too.

Can we have a look at your conkyrc please?


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#117 2012-01-19 06:52:30

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

It's in my configs, in the dminiwm directory. I just did another one with icons doing it the same way as the degree symbols. I don't know of another way to get it to work. About it not moving, I basically used the gap_x and ${goto} after the cpu. My battery never hits 100 so it doesn't move. But I guess you could use ${goto} for anything that moves. I have use_spacer left because of the temperature stuff. It seems to have some spacing issues. If you don't use those you could maybe use use_spacer right. The mem has spacing issues too, so I use ${memfree} and no space between the icon and it works better. If any of that makes any sense. tongue

So in other words, I had to jump through hoops. I had to finagle it like Macgyver (more like Macgruber) tongue  It seems like more trouble than it should be. I'm still playing with it, so maybe I'm just missing something and there's any easier way. I never really messed with conky much. Here's a screenshot of the icons one:

screenshot

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-19 07:30:43)

Offline

#118 2012-01-20 06:50:19

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Hey moe, I was thinking, since I'm running conky out to x, instead you could maybe just use bars and graphs for an easy way to keep it from moving without any of the nonsense above. And they look kinda cool too. Here's a screenshot of monsterwm with a similar setup:
tY2NqdQ
I'm doing the same thing with dminiwm. The .conkyrc is in my configs. At least it seems to work good like this with a black background. I haven't tried it on anything else but it may not be this simple.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-20 06:50:48)

Offline

#119 2012-01-20 20:17:05

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Hey stlarch, thanks for the tips. I was hoping you'd found some setting I'd missed or something easy to stop conky moving around but it doesn't look like it's simple to do. I'm using snapwm all the time now so having bars in conky isn't an option. Thanks tho smile

Some snapwm news.
Some bug fixes. If the bar is swapped from top to bottom or bottom to top the desktop switcher shows the desktop names now and adjusting the border width doesn't affect the bar at all anymore.

Cheers


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#120 2012-01-29 20:11:49

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Is there any way to have no borders on the status bar? It's not a big deal, just wondering. It kind of throws dmenu off a little too. I can work around that by using a different font but it might work better without a border. Anyway, did you ever get a chance to look into the flickering? Also, I noticed that when I use dmenu, the status part of the bar dissapears - it seems until my script refreshes after 1 minute. I don't know if it's designed that way or not but again, not a real big deal. I probably didn't notice it before because the other script updated every second or two. Thanks

Last edited by stlarch (2012-01-29 20:29:27)

Offline

#121 2012-01-29 22:55:53

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Hi stlarch, if there's no borders there won't be any seperation between the different desktops in the desktop switcher and they won't look like the clickable buttons that they are so I'm reluctant to go down that path. How does it throw dmenu off? The border width is hard coded as being 2 so start dmenu 2 down from the top if you have the bar at the top. To be honest I have no idea how you are using dmenu that would have the bar affecting it. I've tried a half dozen things to fix the flicker but haven't been able to make it either better or worse even. I've spent a fair bit of time watching for the flicker seeing if my attempts at a fix work and it's not something that happens with any regularity here, could be 5 secs or ten minutes between flickers so at the moment I'm at a loss as to what to try next. If anyone has a clue I'd appreciate it smile I think it needs to watch for an expose event to redraw the text in the bar after it has been covered then uncovered so that shouldn't be hard to fix.

Cheers

Last edited by moetunes (2012-01-29 22:59:00)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#122 2012-01-29 23:45:58

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Just pushed a fix to git for the bar text not showing after the bar has been covered/uncovered.

Cheers


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#123 2012-01-30 04:16:14

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Thanks for the quick fix! It seems to work fine now. About dmenu, it doesn't completely cover up the panel at the top with the same font, that's all. I think dmenu just adds 2 pixels to the size of the font you're using and I don't know of another way to change the height of it, unless I'm just stupid. But it's really not an issue for me at all. I thought maybe there was an easy way to get rid of the border that I was overlooking, but I can totally live with that or work around it easily enough if I want to or put it at the bottom. I see what you mean about the clickable workspaces. I'd try to help you with the flicker if I could but I'm afraid I can't. Like he said, if someone else out there knows how to fix it, please speak up. It's a great little wm. Thanks again.

Offline

#124 2012-01-31 08:34:51

kittykatt
Member
From: Missouri, USA
Registered: 2009-11-04
Posts: 260
Website

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

Playing around with adding this to my screenFetch script. The process, when running, is dminiwm correct?


- [ My Blog ] | [ AUR Packages ] | [ My deviantART ] | [ screenFetch ] | [ SilverIRC ] -

Offline

#125 2012-01-31 09:17:19

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: dminiwm snapwm & bipolarbar

kittykatt wrote:

Playing around with adding this to my screenFetch script. The process, when running, is dminiwm correct?

The makefile produces a binary called dminiwm, so yep the running process is dminiwm smile

Last edited by moetunes (2012-01-31 09:19:24)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB