You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-22 22:26:23

Hyugga
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2010-03-26
Posts: 335

[SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

That is it, when the system is booting i get a [FAIL] message when loading user specified modules after upgrading udev, and the kmod new module handling or something as say in the news. I dont have a modprobe.conf or a modprobe.conf.pacsave file either and creating a modprobe.conf file doesn't solve the problem. The strange thing is that the modules are loaded anyways. I mean the ones that are specified in rc.conf. I dont know if the system [FAIL] to load that modules or others...The system works fine for now too.
Thanks.

PD: sorry if you notice my poor english.

Last edited by Hyugga (2012-01-22 23:09:02)

Offline

#2 2012-01-22 22:28:11

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

If it fails, there should be something in your logs?


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#3 2012-01-22 22:31:37

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

it means that a module from rc.conf MODULES is missing


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#4 2012-01-22 22:51:20

Hyugga
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2010-03-26
Posts: 335

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

You were right wonder. The cpufreq_performance module is missing. I don't know why.
Thanks. Marking as solved.

Offline

#5 2012-01-23 07:56:39

croma25td
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 4
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

I have the same problem: after the update of udev and the replacement of kmod at the boot the system fails to load the user-specified modules. I checked what modules have failed and it is the cpufreq_performance (powersave and ondemand are ok).

But if i see which governors have been loaded i obtain:

[root@Daniele-NB ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors
powersave ondemand performance 

and if i see which modules have been loaded:

[root@Daniele-NB ~]# lsmod | grep cpu
cpufreq_powersave        990  0 
cpufreq_ondemand        6132  2 
acpi_cpufreq            5877  1 
freq_table              2515  2 acpi_cpufreq,cpufreq_ondemand
processor              24320  3 acpi_cpufreq
mperf                   1275  1 acpi_cpufreq

Last edited by croma25td (2012-01-23 09:12:09)

Offline

#6 2012-01-23 20:48:24

digitalone
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

I have cpufreq_performance in modules but loading user-specified modules fails again.

Offline

#7 2012-01-23 20:54:20

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,604

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

digitalone wrote:

I have cpufreq_performance in modules but loading user-specified modules fails again.

That's exactly what Hyugga and croma25td are telling you, it's the cpufreq_performance entry that's causing the FAIL. I checked the kernel config, the performance governor is built-in, there is no module for it. So just remove it from rc.conf, and you're set.

However, I do have to ask... why do you guys have these modules in rc.conf in the first place? It's totally unnecessary. All you need to put there is the cpufreq driver - acpi_cpufreq most likely, or powernow-k8 if you have an old amd processor.

Last edited by Gusar (2012-01-23 20:55:43)

Offline

#8 2012-01-23 21:07:56

digitalone
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Gusar wrote:
digitalone wrote:

I have cpufreq_performance in modules but loading user-specified modules fails again.

That's exactly what Hyugga and croma25td are telling you, it's the cpufreq_performance entry that's causing the FAIL. I checked the kernel config, the performance governor is built-in, there is no module for it. So just remove it from rc.conf, and you're set.

However, I do have to ask... why do you guys have these modules in rc.conf in the first place? It's totally unnecessary. All you need to put there is the cpufreq driver - acpi_cpufreq most likely, or powernow-k8 if you have an old amd processor.

I followed arch wiki for configuring acpi. So, if it's unnecessary, don't blame me...

Offline

#9 2012-01-23 21:09:05

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,604

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

digitalone wrote:

I followed arch wiki for configuring acpi. So, if it's unnecessary, don't blame me...

Ah, that explains it. Yep, not your fault then.

Offline

#10 2012-01-23 21:12:43

croma25td
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 4
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

When i set up my system on notebook i followed this page of ArchWiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CP … _governors and i added all the useful governors to rc.conf file.

However, now i tried to set manually the "performance" governor with cpufreq-set and works even if the module was not loaded with rc.conf file.

Offline

#11 2012-01-23 21:19:39

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,604

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

From that link: "For Laptops or other mobile systems, the conservative governor can possibly provide significant savings in power consumption."

Ouch, that's completely false. The conservative governor is more or less a hack for buggy old amd processors which can't do fast switching. It shouldn't be used except on those processors. Here's an explanation why: http://www.lesswatts.org/projects/appli … o-idle.php <- and that's why you should always use the ondemand governor.

Offline

#12 2012-01-23 21:22:01

digitalone
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Gusar wrote:

However, I do have to ask... why do you guys have these modules in rc.conf in the first place? It's totally unnecessary. All you need to put there is the cpufreq driver - acpi_cpufreq most likely, or powernow-k8 if you have an old amd processor.

I've solved but don't think it's unnecessary:

[root@archtoshiba ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors
ondemand performance 
[root@archtoshiba ~]# lsmod | grep cpu
acpi_cpufreq            5877  1 
processor              24256  3 acpi_cpufreq
mperf                   1275  1 acpi_cpufreq

I've deleted cpufreq_ondemand cpufreq_powersave and cpufreq_performance, as you see above ondemand and performance are available only. I want cpufreq_powersave too.

Last edited by digitalone (2012-01-23 21:22:25)

Offline

#13 2012-01-23 21:37:30

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,604

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

digitalone wrote:

I've deleted cpufreq_ondemand cpufreq_powersave and cpufreq_performance, as you see above ondemand and performance are available only. I want cpufreq_powersave too.

Kinda weird that ondemand is available. If it's necessary to list the modules, then only performance should be there, it's the only one that's built-in. So somehow cpufreq_ondemand got loaded automatically, but cpufreq_powersave didn't. Oh well, put cpufreq_powersave back then.

Hmm, but here's something interesting - I checked the wiki page again, it says:

MODULES=(acpi-cpufreq cpufreq_ondemand cpufreq_powersave)

Note how it doesn't list cpufreq_performance? So the wiki page is correct actually (well, except for the part I mentioned in the previous post).

Last edited by Gusar (2012-01-23 21:38:24)

Offline

#14 2012-01-23 21:49:01

digitalone
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Deleted cpufreq_performance and the problem is still there...fail on loading user-specified modules.
For me, the problem it's udev, it had to remain in testing...

Offline

#15 2012-01-23 21:58:26

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,604

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Now we're in total weirdness territory. Do you maybe compile your own kernel?

Offline

#16 2012-01-23 22:09:58

digitalone
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 246

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Gusar wrote:

Now we're in total weirdness territory. Do you maybe compile your own kernel?

No, I don't.

Offline

#17 2012-01-24 07:48:47

croma25td
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 4
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

digitalone wrote:

Deleted cpufreq_performance and the problem is still there...fail on loading user-specified modules.
For me, the problem it's udev, it had to remain in testing...

I reboot my pc and i tried the two kernels that i have (3.0.17 and 3.2.2), now the loading of user-specified modules works fine (i removed only the performance governor).
But before the reboot i updated udev and kernel to the latest version in "stable" repository. So try to update the system.

Last edited by croma25td (2012-01-24 07:49:25)

Offline

#18 2012-01-24 15:24:37

boina
Member
From: Paris - France
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 44

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

I had the same problem and removing the governor performance from rc.conf solved the problem. I tried however to remove both governors and only leave powernow-k8 (this is the only one that works for me) leaving rc.conf like this:

MODULES=(brcmsmac powernow-k8)

When I boot the laptop and check which governors are available and being used I get the following:

[netlak@soulrebel ~]$ cpufreq-info 
cpufrequtils 008: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2009
Report errors and bugs to cpufreq@vger.kernel.org, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: powernow-k8
  CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0
  CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0
  maximum transition latency: 8.0 us.
  hardware limits: 800 MHz - 2.10 GHz
  available frequency steps: 2.10 GHz, 1.50 GHz, 800 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 800 MHz and 2.10 GHz.
                  The governor "performance" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 2.10 GHz.

This like as if the ondemand governor would not be available but when unplugging the laptop and check again I get this:

[netlak@soulrebel ~]$ cpufreq-info 
cpufrequtils 008: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2009
Report errors and bugs to cpufreq@vger.kernel.org, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: powernow-k8
  CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0
  CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0
  maximum transition latency: 8.0 us.
  hardware limits: 800 MHz - 2.10 GHz
  available frequency steps: 2.10 GHz, 1.50 GHz, 800 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: ondemand, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 800 MHz and 2.10 GHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 800 MHz.

This shows that the ondemand module can be autoloaded when needed, so I leave rc.conf only with powernow-k8.
Thanks for your help.

Offline

#19 2012-01-24 16:12:38

ajaxas
Member
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Get [FAIL] when loading user specified modules.

Hyugga wrote:

You were right wonder. The cpufreq_performance module is missing. I don't know why.

Ahem. It's hard-built into the kernel, try:

zcat /proc/config.gz | grep CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE

Thus there is no module for it.
You may compile custom kernel and choose another default cpufreq governor (ondemand in my case as I use laptop), and it will be run by default when you start cpufreq daemon even if you don't list it in the MODULES section of /etc/rc.conf.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB