You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-04 05:05:21

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Until yesterday, aurget was working fine. Then I started getting complaints from curl about an unknown protocol error. I found I couldn't load the main aur page in firefox either, assumed there was a general problem and left it. Today, I can load the aur main page in firefox but I'm still getting the curl error from aurget:

curl: (35) Unknown SSL protocol error in connection to aur.archlinux.org:443

I checked aurget --help to see if there was a verbose or debug flag I could pass to get more info but can't see anything. Does anybody know what's causing this or how I might obtain more useful output?

Last edited by cfr (2012-02-04 22:33:41)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#2 2012-02-04 20:38:28

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

More specifically, this command (which is executed by aurget) is giving me errors:

curl -fsS 'https://aur.archlinux.org/rpc.php?type=search&arg=acro'
curl: (35) Unknown SSL protocol error in connection to aur.archlinux.org:443

I used 'acro' as the search term just because it was the first thing which came to mind.
If I try to open the link independently of curl, Konsole complains that:

Could not connect to host aur.archlinux.org: SSL negotiation failed.

I don't know much about curl or SSL. Is there something I should have configured somewhere? It worked until a couple of days ago and I try to read the output of pacman updates carefully to see if anything needs doing and didn't notice anything I might not have done correctly. (But unfortunately, if there's a lot of output, it gets hard to be sure you've caught everything - would be helpful if there was a way to get the messages grouped together at the end of the output!)

Last edited by cfr (2012-02-04 20:39:16)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#3 2012-02-04 22:16:21

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

On further investigation, the problem is independent of curl and aurget. The problem is that I cannot access https://aur.archlinux.org/ at all e.g. I can't get the page in firefox. This isn't a general problem with aur.archlinux.org - I can access stuff non-securely. It also isn't a general problem with SSL - I'm currently using https://bbs.archlinux.org/ and I can get gmail over https etc.

Since nobody else seems to have the problem, I'm assuming it must be me but I can't think what might be wrong. Why can't I get https://aur.archlinux.org/?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2012-02-07 19:53:16

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 112

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I can't access it either anymore, at least from my home ISP.

Firefox (-nightly) reports "The connection was interrupted", Chromium (-dev) "Error 107 (net::ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR)".

Updating with yaourt doesn't give any errors, at least. Probably just uses simple http, though.

I've got the testing repos enabled.

Last edited by misc (2012-02-07 19:57:42)

Offline

#5 2012-02-07 23:00:26

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I'm not using testing so if the problem is the same in both our cases, it can't be down to testing. I am up to date. At least, everything from the official repos is current. I can't really say about AUR because aurget uses a secure connection, it seems, even to search.  (I'm not saying this is bad - just right now it means it doesn't work for me at all.)

Did you comment on my bug report, too? (If not, that would make three of us...)

What's getting me most is that I have absolutely no idea how to go about troubleshooting this. I can't think what would cause such a site-specific error except a problem with the site but the latter would affect everyone and that's obviously not the case or the forums would be full of it...

Just a thought: you're using Firefox directly from Mozilla? You said nightly?

I'm using Firefox directly from Mozilla although the latest stable. (The language pack doesn't work with the US version so I can't install Firefox with my preferred interface through Arch.)

But, then again, that wouldn't affect curl...

Last edited by cfr (2012-02-07 23:03:14)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2012-02-08 19:31:43

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 112

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Yes, that's me over at the bugtracker. No idea how to approach this either.

Offline

#7 2012-02-08 21:35:12

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Based on your comment about not having access "at least from my home ISP", I checked on campus today and, sure enough, the page loaded fine. Usually, this isn't a page I would load at work and if I needed to update something urgently, it'd likely be in the official repos (except acroread).

Now I'm back home, and, sure enough, the page fails to load again.

It isn't interface specific - I can't connect from home using either wired or wireless. (I tried this because I realised I was using a wired connection on campus when I tested whereas I always use wireless at home.)

I just have no idea... Since you're in Germany, we can't have the same ISP...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2012-02-08 21:52:29

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#9 2012-02-11 02:50:45

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

For anybody else with this issue, the bug report now includes a work around although I have to keep reapplying it...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2012-02-29 11:58:56

boswbr25
Member
Registered: 2012-02-29
Posts: 63

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I'm pretty new to Arch and I'm not sure if this would be the best place to post it or if it should be going in the 'Newbie Corner' or bug report comments instead.  Let me know if it needs to be moved.

I have the same issue as mentioned above but cannot get it fixed.  I have tried to walk through all of the steps outlined in the bug report a few times but can't seem to connect to AUR no matter what I try.  Is there any way that someone could help me if I provide some information.  Let me know what command I should show output of and I will run it and post asap.

I'm really not sure if I am doing something wrong or if I have a different problem but I would have to assume it is a user error since no one else seems to be having issues.  I hate having to ask on here for stuff like this but I have tried myself for a few nights now and haven't been able to solve the problem.

Thanks for your help! Sorry for being an idiot.

Thanks!

Offline

#11 2012-03-02 23:58:09

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

boswbr25 wrote:

I'm pretty new to Arch and I'm not sure if this would be the best place to post it or if it should be going in the 'Newbie Corner' or bug report comments instead.  Let me know if it needs to be moved.

I have the same issue as mentioned above but cannot get it fixed.  I have tried to walk through all of the steps outlined in the bug report a few times but can't seem to connect to AUR no matter what I try.  Is there any way that someone could help me if I provide some information.  Let me know what command I should show output of and I will run it and post asap.

I'm really not sure if I am doing something wrong or if I have a different problem but I would have to assume it is a user error since no one else seems to be having issues.  I hate having to ask on here for stuff like this but I have tried myself for a few nights now and haven't been able to solve the problem.

Thanks for your help! Sorry for being an idiot.

Thanks!

Sorry, I have no idea whether you are an idiot or not - very possibly not smile - but this is not going to get you the help you are asking for.

What symptoms _exactly_ do you get? When you go through the steps in the bug report, what commands do you issue and what is the output? What methods have you tried and what fixes have you tried? What happened in each case? Do you get the same errors as me if you issue the same commands? What makes you think the issue is the same?

As far as I know, there is no single magic command somebody can give you which will produce output enabling them to hand you a solution. You should provide as much information as possible. That will enable people to either suggest solutions immediately or to see what additional information might be required. If you've spend several nights trying to fix it, you must have something to report from that even if nothing worked (what didn't work? how did it fail?) Posting as much information as you can is much more likely to elicit a response than apologising for not including any.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#12 2012-03-05 22:02:30

karabaja4
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 841

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I have this problem too and messing with MTU didn't help... I wonder how it suddenly came up.

I can't login to AUR. sad

Last edited by karabaja4 (2012-03-05 22:02:46)


pie!

Online

#13 2012-03-05 22:59:45

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

karabaja4 wrote:

I have this problem too and messing with MTU didn't help... I wonder how it suddenly came up.

I can't login to AUR. sad

That sounds like a different problem. If you can load the page to try to login, you don't have the problem discussed here which would prevent you from even trying!


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#14 2012-03-06 00:19:37

karabaja4
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 841

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

cfr wrote:

That sounds like a different problem. If you can load the page to try to login, you don't have the problem discussed here which would prevent you from even trying!

I can only load the page if the URL uses http instead of https (what I meant was I can't login from http, I can only browse). https://aur.archlinux.org won't even load.

Last edited by karabaja4 (2012-03-06 00:23:08)


pie!

Online

#15 2012-03-06 10:28:34

onny
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2010-08-07
Posts: 39
Website

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I'm using https everywhere from the eff and cant access the aur completely. Could please someone fix this? Oo

Offline

#16 2012-03-06 12:48:22

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

karabaja4 wrote:

I can only load the page if the URL uses http instead of https (what I meant was I can't login from http, I can only browse). https://aur.archlinux.org won't even load.

same here

Offline

#17 2012-03-06 16:12:11

p-w
Member
Registered: 2009-03-08
Posts: 5

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

This problem started for me last night. I am unable to access https://aur.archlinux.org but can access it under http. I am able to access all the other archlinux sites using https (and all other https sites that I have tried) Chromium says
Error 107 (net::ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR): SSL protocol error.
When I try to access the site. ip -d link gives
4: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP qlen 1000
so my mtu is 1500 (i.e. the work around in the bug report does not apply and anyway my problem is more recent - I run cower -u as a cron job and yesterday was the first time it failed). I am unable to access the site using safari on my ipod touch as well so it doesn't look like a (straight forward) problem with my arch box.

Offline

#18 2012-03-08 22:17:15

HyprWave
Member
Registered: 2010-12-05
Posts: 1

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

I can't connect through https here either for the last week.
Sorry to post a "me too" post, but I really don't know where else to notify this.

Offline

#19 2012-03-09 01:26:32

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Does any of you use a kind of IP tunneling? You or your ISP for that matter? I noticed that in my case turning off OpenVPN opens access to the AUR. As soon as I enable OpenVPN, AUR is gone again (while there's no problem with other encrypted connections, including those Arch related). I connect to the Internet using a dead simple scheme: wpa_supplicant + iproute2 + dhcpcd + a simple deamon script, and it's exactly the same in two different distros. (I dared to include the same description on the bug tracker, just in case someone in charge reads that one more regularly than posts here.) Any obvious, or at least probable conclusions?


:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#20 2012-03-09 11:11:07

p-w
Member
Registered: 2009-03-08
Posts: 5

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Hi bohoomil, I don't use tunnelling but I do have problems accessing the site over broadband, both tunnelling and broadband have 'non-standard' mtu's

Offline

#21 2012-03-09 12:59:15

p-w
Member
Registered: 2009-03-08
Posts: 5

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Looks like it's fixed now :-)

Offline

#22 2012-04-13 20:42:29

xsmile
Member
Registered: 2012-03-31
Posts: 18

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Got exactly the same problem for several days.
Switching the ISP doesn't help.

Today it started working again.

Last edited by xsmile (2012-04-29 13:40:30)

Offline

#23 2012-06-17 03:41:46

semi225599
Member
Registered: 2012-06-17
Posts: 15

Re: cannot access AUR via SSL [was curl gives SSL error for aur (aurget)]

Problem is still active for me...  Not sure that MTU is the problem, mine is set at 1500 and still no luck connecting.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB