You are not logged in.

#326 2012-02-07 22:39:44

rich_o
Member
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 48

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

topcat-software wrote:

-1 here. I use root-tail to pipe logs from /var, & an empty desktop is very much needed...

or you can use the showhide branch and hide all windows/show the root window with a shortcut. i use it because of conky, which uses all space it can get (on a rather small netbook). i don't know why people bother with those small panels anymore...

Offline

#327 2012-02-08 11:01:32

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

alright, pushed a fix for this
transient windows are always on top
unless obscured by a floating window

Popups are ok now, but floating windows still go to background.

Offline

#328 2012-02-08 15:11:23

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Šaran wrote:
c00kiemon5ter wrote:

alright, pushed a fix for this
transient windows are always on top
unless obscured by a floating window

Popups are ok now, but floating windows still go to background.

shouldn't they?
I can fix it once I'm back home, in a couple of hours
not sure what the behaviour should be.
I'll push the new behaviour and you (the users) tell me if you prefer it that way


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#329 2012-02-08 16:12:20

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It doesn't really matter to me, since I rarely use floating mode, but I think he's right? At least, that's the way dwm does it and it is useful in some situations.

edit:but then again, I guess there are times when you would want it to go to the background? I guess you can't have it both ways, or can you? Anyway, whatever you decide c00kie is good for me personally.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-02-08 16:31:00)

Offline

#330 2012-02-08 16:36:47

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

stlarch wrote:

It doesn't really matter to me, since I rarely use floating mode, but I think he's right? At least, that's the way dwm does it and it is useful in some situations.

Like stlarch said, it's default on dwm. With current behaviour, floating, at least for me, is unusable.
It's impossible to have floating window visible while doing work in another tiled window.
eg. I open gcolor2 (color picker, defined as floating), select a color, but soon as mouse leaves its window
so I can paste color code somewhere else, gcolor2 vanishes to background.

stlarch wrote:

edit:but then again, I guess there are times when you would want it to go to the background? I guess you can't have it both ways, or can you? Anyway, whatever you decide c00kie is good for me personally.

I didn't look at this that way, but if I you don't want to see certain window, it makes more sense to just send it to another workspace.

Offline

#331 2012-02-08 17:33:46

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

stlarch wrote:

It doesn't really matter to me, since I rarely use floating mode,

me too, so I don't mind either

Šaran wrote:

I didn't look at this that way, but if I you don't want to see certain window, it makes more sense to just send it to another workspace.

yeah, that makes sense

with the parsing output to panel you can even have a
hidden desktop - no name , no window count nothing shown
and send windows there tongue

edit: forgot to say I pushed it

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-02-08 17:40:03)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#332 2012-02-08 17:44:54

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It works perfectly now!
Float like dwm, sting like a monster smile

Offline

#333 2012-02-09 01:09:39

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

How to configure shortcuts to start app with defined parameter? This is the relevant code:

/** my apps **/
static const char *web_browser[]    = { "app_launcher.sh", "--web-browser",   NULL };
static const char *text_editor[]    = { "app_launcher.sh", "--ide",           NULL };
...

I just created that script to enable me to dynamically change GUI apps which can be launched in monsterwm. The problem in compiler is this:

...
In file included from monsterwm.c:160:0:
config.h:62:79: error: called object ‘"--file-manager"’ is not a function
...

Any help? I just need to use "app_launcher.sh --parameter"  to launch everything i need smile

[Edit]
It sems that i lost one comma when i defined those commands :-/
It is working now.

Last edited by kuraku (2012-02-09 02:26:18)

Offline

#334 2012-02-10 05:35:14

Poplus
Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 9

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Using monsterwm and loving it smile But I have a few questions:
-Would it be a lot different from dwm  to make a patch to increase the amount of master clients?
- Also, is there any reason why some fancy panels, like pypanel or bmpanel, doesn't work with monsterwm? nevermind, bmpanel2 works fine, pypanel print an error.

Thanks for the good work wink

Last edited by Poplus (2012-02-10 18:59:15)

Offline

#335 2012-02-11 15:53:34

topcat-software
Member
Registered: 2011-12-17
Posts: 20
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

rich_o wrote:

or you can use the showhide branch and hide all windows/show the root window with a shortcut. i use it because of conky, which uses all space it can get (on a rather small netbook). i don't know why people bother with those small panels anymore...

Hi rich, nice to meet you. Thanks, appreciate it, I'll give it a spin.

Offline

#336 2012-02-12 01:02:08

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Poplus wrote:

Would it be a lot different from dwm  to make a patch to increase the amount of master clients?

this can be done, if anyone is willing to make a patch.
I may try this, but I've been a bit busy lately with exams.

btw, grid layout with 5 clients will give you 2 "master" windows and 3 in "stack"
which kinda emulates what you want.
I guess having more that 3 stack windows or two master ones isn't much usable,
so until someone or I makes a patch, you can try that

thanks for trying it out wink

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-02-12 01:04:07)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#337 2012-02-13 05:48:41

Poplus
Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 9

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

hum... what about making resize stack function to work with grid layout too? I've been looking at some dminiwm screens and just noticed that using grid layout with + resizing, there would be no need to add more masters and it would still be possible to create some usefull custom layouts, like this http://ompldr.org/vYzlpdg
Of course that would be only good if it doesn't take a lot of sloc and work wink

Offline

#338 2012-02-13 11:58:33

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

grid layout in monsterwm is very different than the one in dminwm. I will take a look when I get some free time


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#339 2012-02-13 19:03:21

Poplus
Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 9

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Oh thanks smile no need to rush tho

Offline

#340 2012-02-20 00:42:59

whooper
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 37

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hi,

I've found a new bug: when a program spawns a floating window on top of another floating window, monsterwm flickers and becomes unresponsive during a few seconds. (noticed this using gparted and exfalso).

I'm using the core branch


*edit: The quit function it's not working also.

Last edited by whooper (2012-02-20 01:20:18)

Offline

#341 2012-02-20 12:33:31

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

whooper wrote:

I've found a new bug: when a program spawns a floating window on top of another floating window, monsterwm flickers

monsterwm raises every floating window it finds. If you have two or more on top of each other they could be ordered in such a way that the one on the back is raised, and then the one that was on top is raised after, which would cause a flicker there.
I don't think I want to "fix" that. It's just a minor flicker, and choosing a floating wm but having many floating windows sound like not a good choice (not directed to whooper, I'm talking in general).

whooper wrote:

and becomes unresponsive during a few seconds. (noticed this using gparted and exfalso).

I do not think that is related to monsterwm. If you can tell what you were doing when that happened, I might be able to reproduce it, but there no reason for something like that to happen. Most usual reason for such effects, is great IO work (ie lots of compiling, or use of converters (ie for images, pdfs etc), or compressing etc)

whooper wrote:

*edit: The quit function it's not working also.

The quit in core was binded to "Mod1-Ctrl-r" by default (dah, got there by mistake)
I changed it to "Mod1-Ctrl-q" as one would expect. I tested and works as expected. 
Also note that core doesn't return a value on exit, as master does. So anything like:

while true; do monsterwm || break; done

will _not_ work for the core branch (as it never exits with !=0, except on error).

thanks wink

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-02-20 12:34:06)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#342 2012-02-22 13:16:00

whooper
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 37

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Monsterwm becomes unresponsive when I open gparted, go to help -> about -> credits and after a while goes back to normal. This happens with exfalso too.

ulrwVs.png

Sorry, didn't know that the core branch doesn't return a value on exit, it's not quitting because I launch it on a while true; do function.

Offline

#343 2012-02-22 13:31:25

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

whooper wrote:

Monsterwm becomes unresponsive when I open gparted, go to help -> about -> credits and after a while goes back to normal. This happens with exfalso too.
http://i.imgur.com/ulrwVs.png

I'm not able to reproduce this on either monsterwm_xcb or monsterwm.

Offline

#344 2012-02-22 13:32:35

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

hmmm, I cannot reproduce this. Both gparted(help/credits and other menus) and exfalso work as expected.
I tried different combinations (many/non windows) with all the layouts, but all seem fine.

Can anyone else reproduce/try this ?

edit: ah, thanks for the quick reply cloudef

see if you get any error from gtk, by running gparted from a terminal, although I think gparted hides all output..

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-02-22 13:33:42)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#345 2012-02-22 17:20:44

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@c00kiemon5ter
Monocleborders branch: working fine with exfalso on debian system (sid here).

Offline

#346 2012-02-22 22:08:38

whooper
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 37

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Ran gparted from a terminal but it doesnt output any error. As other people cant reproduce this bug I would just forget about this minor issue, it doesn't affect the usability for me.

Thank you for your attention.

Offline

#347 2012-02-22 23:30:07

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

If I were you, I'd try changing the gtk-theme, or play with the gtk settings in general.
Probably just mv every .gtk* dir under home to a backup place and try with default settings.
If that works you'll know it's gtk causing that.
If not, uhm, I cant thing of something now, but will say if somethings comes to mind.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#348 2012-02-23 21:10:16

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I just pushed a fix to restore the fullscreen state of a window, if it is moved or resized.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#349 2012-02-23 23:36:02

whooper
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 37

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I set follow_mouse false and the bug doesn't happen anymore. Don't know if it has to do with my mouse or with monsterwm itself.

Last edited by whooper (2012-02-23 23:36:31)

Offline

#350 2012-02-24 02:25:33

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

ah, yes, I see what you mean now. It's not that contents are not drawn, it's  just that the windows keep raising one on top of the other. I've encountered that too with FOLLOW_MOUSE and the warp_cursor patch.
I pushed quick fix for now. It should be working. Test with exfalso and tell me.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-02-24 02:39:28)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB