You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-20 20:41:31

Sample
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 11

nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Hello, everybody smile

$ sudo /etc/rc.d/networkmanager restart
Password: 
:: Stopping NetworkManager                                               [DONE] 
:: Starting NetworkManager                                               [DONE] 

$ nm-applet --sm-disable &
[1] 1305
$ ** Message: applet now removed from the notification area
** Message: applet now embedded in the notification area

** (nm-applet:1305): WARNING **: Failed to add/activate connection: (32) Insufficient privileges.

.xinitrc

exec ck-launch-session openbox-session

The fun part is that it brings up ethernet connection, but once I click on any of the available wireless networks, bam ( see above ) ..

What am I missing here ?

Offline

#2 2012-02-20 21:53:20

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager

This is how I start my Openbox session:

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session openbox-session

"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#3 2012-02-21 07:37:26

Sample
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 11

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

DSpider wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager

This is how I start my Openbox session:

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session openbox-session

Nothing ( literally ) changed.

Offline

#4 2012-02-21 09:10:46

pmd
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 24

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Offline

#5 2012-02-21 10:09:07

Sample
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 11

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

pmd wrote:

The part I do not understand:

This sometimes may still not be enough. You may have to manually start polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 for network manger to work.

Additionally, the user must either (1) run a PolicyKit authentication agent, such as the one provided by polkit-gnome, or (2) be in a group explicitly granted permissions by the system administrator.

Other than that, ConsoleKit is installed and I am already using it ( .xinitrc line in my first post ).

Offline

#6 2012-02-21 10:16:58

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Are you in the wheel group?

# groups $USER

Last edited by DSpider (2012-02-21 10:17:17)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#7 2012-02-21 10:24:19

Sample
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 11

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

DSpider wrote:

Are you in the wheel group?

# groups $USER

Yes ( + network, audio, video, storage ).

Offline

#8 2012-02-22 01:51:47

pmd
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 24

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

I can't find entry about that on wiki, but I'm pretty sure that you need this file

/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pkla

Just create it manually

Here is the content

[nm-applet]
Identity=unix-group:network
Action=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=no
ResultActive=yes

Also process polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 needs to be running. You can check it using:

ps -ef | grep polkit-gnome

It should produce output like that:

root@r500:/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d# ps -ef | grep polkit-gnome
pmd       1425     1  0 Feb16 ?        00:00:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
root      7494  6568  0 02:43 pts/3    00:00:00 grep polkit-gnome

Mine is starting by /etc/xdg/autostart/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1.desktop. If you don't have that file just put...

/usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &

... in your ~/.xinitrc, openbox autostart or whatever.

Check if this file (polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1) exists, if it's not, install polkit-gnome package

Offline

#9 2012-02-22 17:40:08

Sample
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 11

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

pmd wrote:

I can't find entry about that on wiki, but I'm pretty sure that you need this file

/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pkla

Just create it manually

Here is the content

[nm-applet]
Identity=unix-group:network
Action=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=no
ResultActive=yes

Also process polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 needs to be running. You can check it using:

ps -ef | grep polkit-gnome

It should produce output like that:

root@r500:/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d# ps -ef | grep polkit-gnome
pmd       1425     1  0 Feb16 ?        00:00:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
root      7494  6568  0 02:43 pts/3    00:00:00 grep polkit-gnome

Mine is starting by /etc/xdg/autostart/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1.desktop. If you don't have that file just put...

/usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &

... in your ~/.xinitrc, openbox autostart or whatever.

Check if this file (polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1) exists, if it's not, install polkit-gnome package

Why do all the good answers start to roll in right after you have quit trying ?  big_smile

Thank you for the information and I will definitely save this for the future reference, but I have switched to wicd for now and it works just great.

Offline

#10 2012-04-09 10:59:27

android_808
Member
Registered: 2011-10-17
Posts: 19

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Still can't get it to work. Polkit started automatically by xfce, policy in place and added to network group.

[root@host ~]# ps -ef | grep polkit
root       219     1  0 11:38 ?        00:00:00 /usr/lib/polkit-1/polkitd --no-debug
user      395     1  0 11:39 tty1     00:00:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
root       628   606  0 11:43 pts/0    00:00:00 grep polkit

[root@host ~]# cat /etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pkla
[nm-applet]
Identity=unix-group:network
Action=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=no
ResultActive=yes

[user@host ~]$ groups
lp wheel games network video audio optical storage scanner power users

Error:
** (nm-applet:733): WARNING **: Failed to add/activate connection: (32) Not authorized to control networking.

Edit: Changed login manager, seems to have sorted it.

Last edited by android_808 (2012-04-09 11:26:33)

Offline

#11 2012-05-09 11:41:40

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Hey I have the same problems,
untill now was working great, (with the first configuration, followed arch wiki and configured everything properly and never had problems)
today just suddenly ....

# cat /etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pkla
[nm-applet]
Identity=unix-group:network
Action=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=no
ResultActive=yes

grep polkit-gnome
arditi    1651     1  0 14:25 ?        00:00:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
root      2157  2154  0 14:35 pts/1    00:00:00 grep polkit-gnome
$ groups
disk mail uucp log locate cron games clamav kvm network video audio optical storage scanner power users vboxusers usbmux

please somebody suggest something!

Offline

#12 2012-05-09 12:27:14

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

I think this have nothing to do either with how it's configured (nothing changed with my previous configuration) or  how the wm is executed :

.xinitrc
exec openbox-session &
slim config:
login_cmd           exec ck-launch-session /bin/bash -login ~/.xinitrc %session

Running nm-manager as root and than trying to get in the VPN this is shown:

** (nm-applet:1724): WARNING **: Could not create object for /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/2: Method "GetAll" with signature "s" on interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" doesn't exist

and also by doing other operations it seems that this org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties doesn't really exist so this ( I think ) is also the reason of all this trouble.
Maybe some other service is conflicting :
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1594566
or some related bug:
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=723325
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=654874
https://bugs.launchpad.net/upstart/+bug/990636

however this is really bad

Last edited by r0b0t (2012-05-09 12:29:48)

Offline

#13 2012-05-09 19:16:09

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Hi again,

now when I try to connect with my VPN (of course running nm-applet as root sad ) this is what happens:
http://pastie.org/3885730
I found that this is a bug:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/985788
So why I'm posting?
it seems that one of the ubuntu guys found a solution basically it says:
-------------
$ pkill gnome-shell
$ pkill nm-applet
$ nm-applet &
[1] 9782
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area
** Message: using fallback from indicator to GtkStatusIcon
$ gnome-shell &

Now when I try to connect to the VPN, gnome-shell logs the same error(!), but now nm-applet takes over and lets me log in and connect.
-----------------


but I have running only :
ps aux | grep gnome
vak    1685  0.0  0.1 213276  7200 ?        Sl   22:00   0:00 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1
vak    1751  0.0  0.0   8328   724 ?        S    22:00   0:00 gnome-pty-helper
vak    1769  0.0  0.0   8328   712 ?        S    22:01   0:00 gnome-pty-helper


which one of them should I kill?
what to do?

Offline

#14 2012-05-09 20:21:06

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

if you use gnome-shell, you do not need /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 because gnome-shell has its own agent incorporated


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#15 2012-05-09 20:34:37

chamber
Member
From: ~/
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 279

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Also, if you are using slim and it has recently updated you no longer need to have ck-launch-session after the exec in your .xinitrc


meh

Offline

#16 2012-05-09 21:16:01

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

@wonder (don't use gnome-shell) I asked just because I didn't know what to kill (in the command ps aux | grep gnome is shown everything with gnome in it running).

Thanks I found this , was crazy I never imagined slim would do something like this.
If you launch ck-list-sessions you will see th sessions not active.
By downgrading to the previous version everything was solved, the permission issues also the vpn issues.
I JUST DON'T ..... BELIEVE I spent my day on this hmm

@chamber I'v never used it in .xinitrc , I put it in slim.conf

However to anybody to solve this just downgrade slim you can directly pacman -U http://arm.konnichi.com/extra/os/x86_64 … pkg.tar.xz

ENJOY and put slim in
IgnorePkg = (pacman.conf)

Offline

#17 2012-05-09 21:41:58

chamber
Member
From: ~/
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 279

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

or modify your slim.conf so that it reads

login_cmd           exec /bin/bash -login ~/.xinitrc %session

rather than not updating it.

From the wiki

Note: slim is also ConsoleKit capable since version 1.3.3. Unless you happen to run an old version, you must no longer include ck-launch-session from your .xinitrc or slim.conf login_cmd.


meh

Offline

#18 2012-05-09 23:27:25

zyke
Member
Registered: 2012-04-22
Posts: 7

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

I had the exact problem today when I updated my SLIM.

I can confirm that Chambers solution work great

- open up /home/$user/.xinitrc with your favourite text editor.

- on the line that says "exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch" remove the "ck-launch-session"

- save and restart your WM/DE.

Offline

#19 2012-05-10 11:22:01

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Somebody should mark this a solved, thanks all.

@chamber , your solution is better thanks for head's up

Last edited by r0b0t (2012-05-10 11:26:02)

Offline

#20 2012-05-10 11:49:55

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 440

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

Forgot to mention that if this kind of changes are made, at least a comment during the installation should appear for not driving ppl crazy lol

Offline

#21 2012-05-13 18:24:15

Mr_Miyagi
Member
Registered: 2012-05-12
Posts: 8

Re: nm-applet not working ( insufficient privileges )

zyke wrote:

I had the exact problem today when I updated my SLIM.

I can confirm that Chambers solution work great

- open up /home/$user/.xinitrc with your favourite text editor.

- on the line that says "exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch" remove the "ck-launch-session"

- save and restart your WM/DE.

Lol, been trying to solve this issue the whole day...was just about to throw the computer out the window. This solution works.
So irritating since some of the information I have read today has been to make sure "ck-launch-session" is there, and not the opposite.
Glad to see this working, thanks a bunch!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB