You are not logged in.

#926 2012-02-12 21:17:37

doug piston
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2011-09-11
Posts: 387
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

desm0tes wrote:

Does your $mixer ever show anything else than "0"?
I found the variable is there, but oftenly it's not working.

Anyway, the if-clause does of course work with a script, too.


I find the same issue. The mixer variable is iffy at best for me.

Last edited by doug piston (2012-02-12 21:25:38)

Offline

#927 2012-02-12 21:30:51

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-05-01 13:14:28)

Offline

#928 2012-02-12 21:36:17

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-05-01 13:14:45)

Offline

#929 2012-02-12 21:37:33

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Well, it definately doesn't work perfectly...though it works for you.
I've tried it a few minutes ago to check and it didn't...I got some older screenshots where it worked and I remember it didn't work another few times, though I tried all kinds of things..."iffy", as doug piston mentioned it, fits quite well.

Offline

#930 2012-02-12 21:58:37

doug piston
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2011-09-11
Posts: 387
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

@sector11,  I've seen your conky confgs all over the place and I do not doubt your method at all. Just doesn't seem to work in arch. I have no idea why. Possibly because I send it out CLI.

Last edited by doug piston (2012-02-12 21:59:08)

Offline

#931 2012-02-12 22:09:43

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

^^^ Do you have snd-pcm-oss in your modules in rc.conf? ^^^

Offline

#932 2012-02-12 22:29:26

doug piston
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2011-09-11
Posts: 387
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

stlarch wrote:

^^^ Do you have snd-pcm-oss in your modules in rc.conf? ^^^


Nope.

Offline

#933 2012-02-12 23:08:06

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-05-01 13:15:17)

Offline

#934 2012-02-15 01:49:48

allen875
Member
From: Winchester, VA
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 46
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Here is a modded version of the notifyosd conky script to suite my needs and branded for my distro of choice.
NotifyOSD Conky Mod

######################
# - Conky settings - #
######################
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
net_avg_samples 1
cpu_avg_samples 1
temperature_unit fahrenheit

imlib_cache_size 0
double_buffer yes
no_buffers yes

#####################
# - Text settings - #
#####################
use_xft yes
xftfont Ubuntu:size=9
override_utf8_locale yes
text_buffer_size 2048

#############################
# - Window specifications - #
#############################
own_window_class Conky
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
#own_window_argb_visual yes
#own_window_argb_value 100

alignment top_right
gap_x 0
gap_y 0
maximum_width 339
minimum_size 339 550

default_bar_size 60 8

#########################
# - Graphics settings - #
#########################
draw_shades yes

default_color efefef
default_shade_color 1d1d1d
color0 ffffff
color1 ffffff
color2 ffffff


#lua_load ~/.conky/conkybg.lua
#lua_draw_hook_pre conky_draw_bg

TEXT
${voffset 12}${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}$nodename - $sysname $kernel on $machine${font}${color}
${voffset -4}${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}Intel Core i7 CPU Q740 @ 1.73GHz
${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}Uptime:$uptime
${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}${time %H:%M} - ${time %A}, ${time %B} ${time %d} ${time %Y}
${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=8}${color1}You have ${execi 60 python ~/.conky/notifyosd/gmail.py} new email(s)

${voffset 12}${goto 92}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}CPU  Summary: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${cpu cpu0}%${font}${color} ${alignr 15}Temperature: ${color1}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${execi 30 sensors -f coretemp-isa-0000| grep 'Core 0:' | cut -c15-17}°F${color}${font}
${goto 92}Running Processes: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${alignr 24}$running_processes
${goto 92}Battery  Summary: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${alignr 15}$battery

${voffset 22}${goto 92}RAM:${color1} ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${memperc}%${font}${color}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${font}     Free: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${memeasyfree}${color} ${font}${alignr 22} Used:${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${mem}${color}${font}
${goto 92}SWAP:${color1} ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${swapperc}%${font}${color}      Free: ${color2}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${swapfree}${color}${font} ${alignr 15}Used: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${swap}${color}${font}
${goto 92}HDD:${color1} ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${fs_used_perc /home}%${font}${color}     Free: ${color2}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${fs_free /home}${color}${font} ${alignr 22}Used: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${fs_used /home}${color}${font}

${voffset 25}${goto 92}${voffset -6}Tx Speed: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${upspeed wlan0}${color}${font} ${goto 235}Tx Total: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${totalup wlan0}${color}${font}
${voffset 4}${goto 92}Signal:   ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${wireless_link_qual wlan0}%${color}${font} ${alignr 15}
${voffset 4}${goto 92}Rx Speed: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${downspeed wlan0}${color}${font} ${goto 235}Rx Total: ${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color2}${totaldown wlan0}${color}${font}

${voffset 10}${alignc}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}My Notepad:
${alignc}${font Ubuntu:style=Bold:size=9}${color1}${execpi 30 cat ~/TODO.txt | fold -w60 | sed 's/^/\${goto 40}/'}

${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/base.png -p 10,0 -s 339x86}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/base.png -p 10,146 -s 339x86}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/base.png -p 10,73 -s 339x86}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/base.png -p 10,220 -s 339x86}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/Arch.png -p 32,20 -s 45x45}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/Task_Manager.png -p 32,93 -s 45x45}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/Memory.png -p 32,166 -s 45x45}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/wlan100.png -p 32,240 -s 45x45}
${voffset 25}${image ~/.conky/notifyosd/Notes.png -p 20,295 -s 320x244}

There is a script to get the email notifications from gmail and the needed conky scripts in this file.

Offline

#935 2012-02-24 15:25:30

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Try

You have ${if_match ${execi 60 python ~/.conky/notifyosd/gmail.py} == 0} no new emails.${endif}${if_match ${execi 60 python ~/.conky/notifyosd/gmail.py} == 1} one new email.${endif}${if_match ${execi 60 python ~/.conky/notifyosd/gmail.py} >= 2} ${execi 60 python ~/.conky/notifyosd/gmail.py} new emails.${endif}

Why do it simple, if you can go for complex? big_smile


My conky, minimal style ftw! (shows time, 4 cpus, updates and battery)
bildschirmfoto1_by_desm0tes-d4qstgw.png
Code and Background in link.

Offline

#936 2012-02-24 16:53:24

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

That totally ruins my style, bro.

Offline

#937 2012-02-24 17:12:19

theGunslinger
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 299

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Make the zero black and in same font as the time?

Offline

#938 2012-02-24 17:16:39

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Pff...
if I wanted emails-display, I would add it to the bar and show sth like:  mails - time - - time - whatever...the middle is reserved for updates (but BINARY! red glow)

Offline

#939 2012-02-24 17:46:07

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

big_smile
The emails-code was simply a suggestion for allen875 to have a clear output instead of the kind-of-workaround of a static "email(s)"-display...thought this was clear, since my suggestion was functional and I didn't have any mails-display...^^

EDIT:

Sector11 wrote:
desm0tes wrote:

That totally ruins my style, bro.

No, it was only a suggestion  big_smile
Styles are highly personal and I like yours.  Hard for these "old" eyes to see but nice.
I only used white 000 to display where I was talking about.
No intent to offend at all.

Someone else may be interested.

I didn't take it as an offense, had mistaken it for a suggestion to my setup with which I'm quite satisfied for now (haven't been that happy with my conky for quite a while big_smile)

Last edited by desm0tes (2012-02-24 17:49:26)

Offline

#940 2012-02-24 21:07:18

kazikas
Member
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 5

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

handy wrote:

Here is a link to a couple of somewhat blurry screenshots of where I'm up to using mrpeachy's forecast.v7 Lua script for conky in combination with my "normal" conkyrc:

http://www.users.on.net/~thehands/windowshot.html

My thanks to mrpeachy & Sector11, without their input I'd still be scratching my head.

Could you share your 'normal' one

Offline

#941 2012-02-24 23:13:34

KingX
Member
From: Fremont, CA
Registered: 2010-03-24
Posts: 321

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Hey guys

Back to messing with conky and I am trying to add a clock to it as shown here. But I am getting this error from conky.. I decided to post here so the conky experts *cough* Sector11 *cough* may have encountered this before. smile Anyhow any help/pointers appreciated. Lua and Lua-cairo was enabled while building conky (which I built on my own as I also enabled nvidia support).

conky: llua_load: error loading module 'cairo' from file '/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so':
	/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so: undefined symbol: cairo_copy_path_flat

conky has installed its own version of libcairo in /usr/lib/conky/. If I try to symlink the system installed
cairo library I am getting the following error.

conky: llua_load: error loading module 'cairo' from file '/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so':
	/usr/lib/conky/libcairo.so: undefined symbol: luaopen_cairo

I also tried symlinking libcairo.so.2 but to no avail it gives the same error as above

This is the luascript I am trying to load using these two lines in conky before "TEXT"

# Load Lua scripts
lua_load /home/reed/.conkyscripts/clock.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre draw_clock
--[[
Air Clock by Alison Pitt (2009)

This clock is designed to look like KDE 4.3's "Air" clock, but from inside Conky.

You can adjust the clock's radius and placement, as well as the size and offset of the drop shadow. You can also choose whether to display the seconds hand. This clock updates every time Conky does, so if you want to show seconds, it is recommended that you set update_interval to no more than 0.5s. If you turn off seconds, you can set the update_interval to as long as 30s.  The settings are in the "Settings" section, starting at Line 21.

Call this script in Conky using the following before TEXT (assuming you save this script to ~/scripts/clock.lua):
	lua_load ~/scripts/clock.lua
	lua_draw_hook_pre draw_clock
]]
require 'cairo'
function conky_draw_clock()
	if conky_window==nil then return end
	local w=conky_window.width
	local h=conky_window.height
	local cs=cairo_xlib_surface_create(conky_window.display, conky_window.drawable, conky_window.visual, w, h)
	cr=cairo_create(cs)
			
	-- Settings
	
		-- What radius should the clock face (not including border) be, in pixels?
		
		local clock_r=60
	
		-- x and y coordinates, relative to the top left corner of Conky, in pixels
		
		local xc=w/2
		local yc=h/2
	
		-- Extent of the shadow, in pixels
		
		shadow_width=5
		
		-- x and y offsets of the drop shadow, relative to the centre of the clock face, in pixels. Can be positive (downward) or negative (upward)
		
		shadow_xoffset=0
		shadow_yoffset=2
		
		-- Do you want to show the second hand? Use this if you use a Conky update_interval > 1s. Can be true or false.
		
		show_seconds=false
	
	-- Grab time
	
	local hours=os.date("%I")
	local mins=os.date("%M")
	local secs=os.date("%S")
	
	secs_arc=(2*math.pi/60)*secs
	mins_arc=(2*math.pi/60)*mins
	hours_arc=(2*math.pi/12)*hours+mins_arc/12
	
	-- Drop shadow
	
	local ds_pat=cairo_pattern_create_radial(xc+shadow_xoffset,yc+shadow_yoffset,clock_r*1.25,xc+shadow_xoffset,yc+shadow_yoffset,clock_r*1.25+shadow_width)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(ds_pat,0,0,0,0,0.2)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(ds_pat,1,0,0,0,0)
	
	cairo_move_to(cr,0,0)
	cairo_line_to(cr,w,0)
	cairo_line_to(cr,w,h)
	cairo_line_to(cr,0,h)
	cairo_new_sub_path(cr)
	cairo_arc(cr,xc,yc,clock_r*1.25,0,2*math.pi)
	cairo_set_source(cr,ds_pat)
	cairo_set_fill_rule(cr,CAIRO_FILL_RULE_EVEN_ODD)
	cairo_fill(cr)
	
	-- Glassy border
	
	cairo_arc(cr,xc,yc,clock_r*1.25,0,2*math.pi)
	cairo_set_source_rgba(cr,0.5,0.5,0.5,0.2)
	cairo_set_line_width(cr,1)
	cairo_stroke(cr)
	
	local border_pat=cairo_pattern_create_linear(xc,yc-clock_r*1.25,xc,yc+clock_r*1.25)
	
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(border_pat,0,1,1,1,0.7)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(border_pat,0.3,1,1,1,0)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(border_pat,0.5,1,1,1,0)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(border_pat,0.7,1,1,1,0)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(border_pat,1,1,1,1,0.7)
	cairo_set_source(cr,border_pat)
	cairo_arc(cr,xc,yc,clock_r*1.125,0,2*math.pi)
	cairo_close_path(cr)
	cairo_set_line_width(cr,clock_r*0.25)
	cairo_stroke(cr)
	
	-- Set clock face
	
	cairo_arc(cr,xc,yc,clock_r,0,2*math.pi)
	cairo_close_path(cr)
	
	local face_pat=cairo_pattern_create_radial(xc,yc-clock_r*0.75,0,xc,yc,clock_r)
	
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(face_pat,0,1,1,1,0.9)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(face_pat,0.5,1,1,1,0.9)
	cairo_pattern_add_color_stop_rgba(face_pat,1,0.9,0.9,0.9,0.9)
	cairo_set_source(cr,face_pat)
	cairo_fill_preserve(cr)
	cairo_set_source_rgba(cr,0.5,0.5,0.5,0.2)
	cairo_set_line_width(cr, 1)
	cairo_stroke (cr)
	
	-- Draw hour hand
	
	xh=xc+0.7*clock_r*math.sin(hours_arc)
	yh=yc-0.7*clock_r*math.cos(hours_arc)
	cairo_move_to(cr,xc,yc)
	cairo_line_to(cr,xh,yh)
	
	cairo_set_line_cap(cr,CAIRO_LINE_CAP_ROUND)
	cairo_set_line_width(cr,5)
	cairo_set_source_rgba(cr,0,0,0,0.5)
	cairo_stroke(cr)
	
	-- Draw minute hand
	
	xm=xc+0.9*clock_r*math.sin(mins_arc)
	ym=yc-0.9*clock_r*math.cos(mins_arc)
	cairo_move_to(cr,xc,yc)
	cairo_line_to(cr,xm,ym)
	
	cairo_set_line_width(cr,3)
	cairo_stroke(cr)
	
	-- Draw seconds hand
	
	if show_seconds then
		xs=xc+0.9*clock_r*math.sin(secs_arc)
		ys=yc-0.9*clock_r*math.cos(secs_arc)
		cairo_move_to(cr,xc,yc)
		cairo_line_to(cr,xs,ys)
	
		cairo_set_line_width(cr,1)
		cairo_stroke(cr)
	end
    
end

Offline

#942 2012-02-24 23:38:24

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

kazikas wrote:
handy wrote:

Here is a link to a couple of somewhat blurry screenshots of where I'm up to using mrpeachy's forecast.v7 Lua script for conky in combination with my "normal" conkyrc:

http://www.users.on.net/~thehands/windowshot.html

My thanks to mrpeachy & Sector11, without their input I'd still be scratching my head.

Could you share your 'normal' one

Sure, this should be it:

## This .conkyrc is set to present correctly with forecast.7.conky.  ##
## Check what you are doing before you edit this file as it is GOOD. ##
#######################################################################
##                                                                   ## 
##  The following weather on conky2 has commented out, read the top  ##
## line of this page?                                                ##
##                                                                   ##
## conkyrc for 1600x1200, 4x CPU, ## has simple weather on ~/.conky2 ##
## both start easily in ~/.config/openbox/autostart like this:       ##
##                                                                   ##
## conky &                                                           ##
## conky -c .conky2 &                                                ## 
##                                                                   ##
## without the hash "#" signs of course. :)                          ##
##								     ##	
#######################################################################

background no
use_xft yes
xftfont Bitstream Vera Sans Mono:size=18
xftalpha 0.8
update_interval 3.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type override
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_colour hotpink
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 50 5
maximum_width 500
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
stippled_borders 8
border_width 1
default_color white
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color black
color1 slategrey
color2 ffffff
color3 7d7d7d
alignment top_left
gap_x 990
gap_y 95
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 1
net_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale yes
max_port_monitor_connections 256

TEXT
#${font Sans:bold:size=17}${color1}${time %A, %d %B %Y}  ${alignr}${time %T}
#
#${color3}${alignc}${execi 300 /home/handy/.conky/3.weathers.sh "OCN|AU|NSW|TAREE|"}
#
${font Sans:bold:size=17}${color1}
Kernel: ${color1}$kernel${color3}     ${alignr}Uptime: ${color1}$uptime 
${color3}Frequency: ${color1}${alignr}$freq_g GHz

${alignc}${color3}CPU Cores:${color1}

${cpu cpu0}% ${cpubar cpu0 10,190}${alignr}${cpu cpu1}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu1 10,190}
${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar cpu2 10,190}${alignr}${cpu cpu3}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu3 10,190}

${color3}RAM: ${color1}${alignr}$memperc% ${alignr}${color1}${membar 15,350}

## The way I get hddtemp to work is to use sudo & add
## the following line to visudo so you don't need the user 
## password:
## %users  ALL=NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/hddtemp
${color3}Disks:${alignr}sda:  ${execi 10 sudo hddtemp /dev/sda |cut -c28-32}

${color1}/: ${alignr}${fs_used_perc /} % ${alignr}${fs_bar 10,200 /}
/home: ${alignr}${fs_used_perc /home} % ${alignr}${fs_bar 10,200 /home}
/spacy-2: ${alignr}${fs_used_perc /mnt/spacy-2} % ${alignr}${fs_bar 10,200 /mnt/spacy-2}


${color3}${alignc}Network:
${color1}Down: ${alignr}${downspeed eth0} k/s
Up:      ${alignr}${upspeed eth0} k/s
Total Down: ${alignr}${totaldown eth0}
Total Up: ${alignr}${totalup eth0}

${color3}
Top Processes:${alignr}CPU    MEM${color1}

${top name 1} ${alignr} ${top cpu 1}  ${top mem 1}
${top name 2} ${alignr} ${top cpu 2}  ${top mem 2}
${top name 3} ${alignr} ${top cpu 3}  ${top mem 3}
${top name 4} ${alignr} ${top cpu 4}  ${top mem 4}
${top name 5} ${alignr} ${top cpu 5}  ${top mem 5}

${color3}${alignc}System Log
${hr 1}
${font Sans:normal:size=13}${color1}${exec dmesg | uniq | tail -n 5}

P.S. I just noticed that the sda: temperature isn't working?

It must be due to a recent Arch upgrade. Anyone know anything about that?

[edit:] I just had a look at this problem, it looks to be just a permission problem.

Last edited by handy (2012-02-25 01:00:45)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#943 2012-02-25 00:42:52

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

The hddtemp permission problem is looked at in this thread:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=69332

I modified my visudo as so to get around this problem that I have previously found a way around but forgotten what it was! by adding the following line to visudo:

%users  ALL=NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/hddtemp 

Even so my hddtemp doesn't work in conky & still requires sudo to run it via the command line?

Buggered if I know why...

[edit:] OK, I got there... I stuck a "sudo" before hddtemp in my conkyrc saved it & it worked straight away. I like how conky does that. smile

I'll add the sudo to the code posted above. I still don't know why it used to work & now I've had to do this stuff... ?

Last edited by handy (2012-02-25 00:55:00)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#944 2012-02-25 01:31:55

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

handy wrote:

Even so my hddtemp doesn't work in conky & still requires sudo to run it via the command line?

Buggered if I know why...

Hi Handy --- long time!

To recongigure hddtemp:

  1. sudo dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp

  2. Answer YES

  3. Second Screen - 0 is good [Enter]

  4. Answer NO

That's it - if it didn't start working --- log out and come back, you should NOT see that warning and in conky:

And in a terminal:

  15:05:44 ~
         $ hddtemp /dev/sda
/dev/sda: WDC WD2500AAJS-00VWA0: 31°C

  15:05:59 ~
         $ hddtemp /dev/sdb
/dev/sdb: WDC WD800BB-55JKC0: 45°C

  15:06:06 ~
         $ hddtemp /dev/sda -n
31

  22:30:33 ~
         $ hddtemp /dev/sda -u f
/dev/sda: WDC WD2500AAJS-00VWA0: 96°F

  22:31:30 ~
         $ hddtemp /dev/sda -u f -n
96

  22:31:36 ~
         $ 

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-02-25 01:33:30)

Offline

#945 2012-02-25 01:44:08

KingX
Member
From: Fremont, CA
Registered: 2010-03-24
Posts: 321

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

So this is my conky -v

conky --version
conky 2.0.0 compiled Fri Feb 24 14:38:07 PST 2012 for Linux 3.2.6-2-ARCH x86_64

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky


 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * Curl
  * nvidia
  * builtin default configuration
  * old configuration syntax
  * Imlib2
  * iostats

 Lua bindings:
  * Cairo
  * Imlib2
 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual
  * Own window

 Default values:
  * Netdevice: eth0
  * Local configfile: $HOME/.conkyrc
  * Maximum netdevices: 4
  * Maximum text size: 16384
  * Size text buffer: 256

I realize it doesn't show lua under "General", but I am (or was) under the impression that lua support is builtin in to conky 2.0, so figured it should be enabled by default in git. I also can't find the variable to toggle lua support on/off when I run ccmake, there is lua-cairo and lua-imlib2 but nothing for "lua". So I suppose its built in.

Well I am gonna go back and use the stable 1.8.2 version until they "officially" release 2.0. smile

Edit: Yep using 1.8.1 and no problems with the lua script. Thanks for helping out Sector11. smile

Last edited by KingX (2012-02-25 01:49:45)

Offline

#946 2012-02-25 01:59:53

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

Sector11 wrote:
handy wrote:

Even so my hddtemp doesn't work in conky & still requires sudo to run it via the command line?

Buggered if I know why...

Hi Handy --- long time!

Hi Sector11, hope all's well with you.


Sector11 wrote:

To recongigure hddtemp:

  1. sudo dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp

  2. Answer YES

  3. Second Screen - 0 is good [Enter]

  4. Answer NO

That's it - if it didn't start working --- log out and come back, you should NOT see that warning and in conky:

The dpkg-reconfigure was an unknown command on my system. So I tried to install it & it isn't available in the Arch/AUR repos.

I fixed the problem as stated in my previous post & edited my previously posted .conkyrc providing instructions on how to make hddtemp work without a password.

So all's well again now, though I have no idea what changed that made me have to come up with an alternative to whatever the hell I did last time when I set it up?  lol

Last edited by handy (2012-02-25 02:04:47)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#947 2012-02-25 02:02:39

KingX
Member
From: Fremont, CA
Registered: 2010-03-24
Posts: 321

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

You know handy I am simply using this to display hard drive temps

sda:${hddtemp}°C sdb:${hddtemp /dev/sdb}°C

That dpkg-configure is for Debian/Ubuntu systems. smile

Offline

#948 2012-02-25 02:06:51

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

KingX wrote:

You know handy I am simply using this to display hard drive temps

sda:${hddtemp}°C sdb:${hddtemp /dev/sdb}°C

That dpkg-configure is for Debian/Ubuntu systems. smile

"Today" I couldn't call it from the terminal without sudo before I made the system mods?

[edit:] What did you do to get past having to use sudo? /edit

Yes I kinda worked that out about dpkg-configure. smile

Last edited by handy (2012-02-25 02:26:46)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#949 2012-02-25 02:28:32

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

KingX wrote:

Well I am gonna go back and use the stable 1.8.2 version until they "officially" release 2.0. smile

Edit: Yep using 1.8.1 and no problems with the lua script. Thanks for helping out Sector11. smile

Live and learn ... I had no idea v1.82 was out or that conky v2 was in alpha, beta either.  big_smile

Offline

#950 2012-02-25 02:42:56

Sector11
Banned
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 10

Re: conky configs and screenshots!

handy wrote:
Sector11 wrote:

Hi Handy --- long time!

Hi Sector11, hope all's well with you.

So all's well again now, though I have no idea what changed that made me have to come up with an alternative to whatever the hell I did last time when I set it up?  lol

Doin' great here Handy.  Hope you and yours are all good.  How'er the "little cars" in the big car place. (Don't answer - off topic)  big_smile

I know I use to:

sudo chmod u+s /usr/sbin/hddtemp

with Ubuntu but that does not work with Debian. (Running Debian Testing)

KingX wrote:

You know handy I am simply using this to display hard drive temps

sda:${hddtemp}°C sdb:${hddtemp /dev/sdb}°C

That dpkg-configure is for Debian/Ubuntu systems. smile

NOW you tell me.  :rollseyes:

Strange, because there is no "dpkg-reconfigure" in the repos, but it is here:

/usr/sbin/dpkg-reconfigure

Learn something new every day.  Lets hope it's on a neuron that sticks around for a while.  At my age it's crucial. lol

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB