You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-16 13:46:02

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

[solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Before a recent system update I had pulseaudio working flawlessly, but after doing a recent system update with pacman -Syu,
pulseaudio no longer sees my sound card and only displays the Dummy audio device.  Among the packages updated that I can
remember off the top of my head are the Linux keneral, udev, kmod, instead of trying to roll back my system I figured I would try
to fix the issue.  The only thing suggested in the Pulseaudio wiki is that a asound.conf directory is overriding the /etc/asound.conf
file which is not the case on my system.

Looking at the output from lsmod I can see where the kernel modules for the sound card is getting loaded

snd_hda_intel          23375  0 
snd_hda_codec          89160  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_hwdep               6389  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                74780  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_page_alloc          7153  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              19544  1 snd_pcm

and looking at the output from the ps command I can see that pulseaudio is getting started

 1190 ?        S<l    0:00 /usr/bin/pulseaudio --start
 1195 ?        S      0:00  \_ /usr/lib/pulse/gconf-helper

but pacmd list still reports this

0 card(s) available.
0 sink input(s) available.
0 source outputs(s) available.
0 cache entrie(s) available.

Here is the output of pacmd dump if it helps

### Configuration dump generated at Thu Feb 16 08:45:56 2012

load-module module-device-restore
load-module module-stream-restore
load-module module-card-restore
load-module module-augment-properties
load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0
load-module module-jackdbus-detect
load-module module-bluetooth-discover
load-module module-esound-protocol-unix
load-module module-native-protocol-unix
load-module module-gconf
load-module module-default-device-restore
load-module module-rescue-streams
load-module module-null-sink sink_name=auto_null sink_properties='device.description="Dummy Output"'
load-module module-always-sink
load-module module-intended-roles
load-module module-suspend-on-idle
load-module module-console-kit
load-module module-position-event-sounds
load-module module-cork-music-on-phone
load-module module-filter-heuristics
load-module module-filter-apply
load-module module-dbus-protocol
load-module module-x11-publish display=:0.0
load-module module-cli-protocol-unix

set-sink-volume auto_null 0x10000
set-sink-mute auto_null no
suspend-sink auto_null yes

set-source-volume auto_null.monitor 0x10000
set-source-mute auto_null.monitor no
suspend-source auto_null.monitor yes

set-default-sink auto_null
set-default-source auto_null.monitor

### EOF

EDIT: I should also add that fuser -v /dev/snd/* returns nothing and fuser -v /dev/dsp returns "Specified filename /dev/dsp does not exist".

Last edited by vendion (2012-03-02 23:26:28)

Offline

#2 2012-02-19 15:23:33

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Bump

Offline

#3 2012-02-21 23:34:46

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Can anyone help me figure out what is wrong?  I know it is not the sound card gone bad because I can boot a different OS and sound works there but for some reason Arch thinks I don't have a sound card on my system.

Offline

#4 2012-02-22 09:10:15

wottam
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 59

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

The same thing is happening to me :S

Offline

#5 2012-02-22 21:22:23

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Well at least I know I'm not crazy or deaf

Offline

#6 2012-03-01 13:57:23

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Digging into this further aplay -L gives different output based off of whether or not I ran is as my normal user or with sudo/as root.

As a user (which is how pulseaudio is also being ran):

> aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)

as root it does see both my sound cards when I run it with sudo or as root:

> sudo aplay -L
Password: 
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=SB
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC887-VD Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output

This behavior is confusing to me, and if someone knows what is going on and how to fix it I really want to get sound with pulseaudio working and have sound again.

Offline

#7 2012-03-02 23:15:28

mtao
Member
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 1

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

I was having this issue well until just now when I tried adding myself to the audio group ( "gpasswd -a <username> audio ).  I think this update made our systems enforce needing to be in the audio group tongue.

Offline

#8 2012-03-02 23:25:56

vendion
Member
From: Cleveland, TN
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 190
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Ah that makes sense, some how during the update my user account was reset so the only groups it belonged to was "users" and "golang".  After adding my user back to the audio group and logging out and back in I have audio back.

Offline

#9 2012-11-07 13:13:23

fraantik
Member
Registered: 2011-01-02
Posts: 10

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

This is helpfull. When there are no sound devices check if user is in audio group.

Offline

#10 2012-11-07 14:50:55

stephane
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 25

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

Adding your user to the audio group should not be necessary on systemd.

Offline

#11 2012-11-07 14:52:33

65kid
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 663

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

stephane wrote:

Adding your user to the audio group should not be necessary on systemd.

Exactly, it's a crappy workaround for not setting up your logind session correctly, as has been discussed in over 9000 threads in the past week.

Offline

#12 2016-09-27 12:35:03

smoneck
Member
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 4

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

65kid wrote:

Exactly, it's a crappy workaround for not setting up your logind session correctly, as has been discussed in over 9000 threads in the past week.

Without any instructions or helpful link, this is just spam.

Offline

#13 2016-09-27 14:38:32

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,891
Website

Re: [solved] Pulseaudio doesn't detect sound card after system update

No, necrobumping a four year old topic to complain about one post taken out of context is spam. Please don't do it.

If you are having a similar issue, then here is a link for you: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ge … ermissions if you still have trouble, create a new topic.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping.22

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB