You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-03 03:35:22

smoge
Member
Registered: 2011-05-21
Posts: 1

ArchStudio new home

The ArchStudio repository for optimized audio and music packages has a new home.

[archstudio]
# Audio and Music Packages
# optimized for Intel Core i3,i5 i7 
# Detais: https://www.xsounds.org/~archstudio
Server = http://www.xsounds.org/~archstudio/x86_64

Offline

#2 2012-03-04 05:54:49

mrhmouse
Member
From: South Eastern US
Registered: 2011-09-09
Posts: 36

Re: ArchStudio new home

Thank you for the info! Updating my pacman configuration.

Offline

#3 2012-03-04 06:05:12

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: ArchStudio new home

Also thanks for the info!

Offline

#4 2012-03-04 11:29:55

ambientzoo
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-08-02
Posts: 63

Re: ArchStudio new home

Excellent stuff, adding this now.  Looking forward to trying RT kernel, I've had some issues with VST plugins in renoise working under RT in the past, so I haven't bothered with it.


Stephen

Offline

#5 2012-03-04 23:39:00

mrhmouse
Member
From: South Eastern US
Registered: 2011-09-09
Posts: 36

Re: ArchStudio new home

I still have issues with the VSTs I would like to use, so I get things done in Renoise using primarily using LADSPA and native effects. I tend to use samples or live sound for instruments, but I'm hoping they support LV2 soon!

Surprised to see another Renoise/Arch user! Could you PM me with your setup for running VSTs? I've tried dssi-vst compiled with the Steinberg VST 2.4 SDK, but all of my plugins crash on load hmm Using WINE 1.3.37.

Offline

#6 2012-03-05 22:45:48

ambientzoo
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-08-02
Posts: 63

Re: ArchStudio new home

mrhmouse wrote:

I still have issues with the VSTs I would like to use, so I get things done in Renoise using primarily using LADSPA and native effects. I tend to use samples or live sound for instruments, but I'm hoping they support LV2 soon!

Surprised to see another Renoise/Arch user! Could you PM me with your setup for running VSTs? I've tried dssi-vst compiled with the Steinberg VST 2.4 SDK, but all of my plugins crash on load hmm Using WINE 1.3.37.


Sorry, having trouble finding the PM button!! (Lame, I know).

I used to use windows VSTs through Reaper which was very stable. Since moving to 64 bit I haven't got round to installing wine or wineasio - thought I could get away with a 64 bit wineasio (I know there's threads around the net on this topic, I just haven't got round to setting anything up yet). To be honest I've worked fine with linux-only software for a while now and my windows VSTs aren't getting any use. I use only native linux software (including VSTs from linuxvst and loomer), plus the calf plugins and a little bit of hardware. Yes I'd like to see LV2 support in renoise!

On the topic of arch and audio... I found it's by far the best performer out of all the distros I've tried. And the repos are great for keeping up to date with audio applications. I've had some "interesting" experiences with other distros on that score!


Stephen

Offline

#7 2012-03-05 22:55:14

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: ArchStudio new home

There are no PMs on this forum, you can send mrhmouse an e-mail instead.

Offline

#8 2012-03-05 23:41:49

ambientzoo
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2011-08-02
Posts: 63

Re: ArchStudio new home

OK thanks.


Stephen

Offline

#9 2012-03-27 07:04:46

Janarto
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 80

Re: ArchStudio new home

Thank you this is very good, unfortunatly, it's only for 64 bits but i really appreciate the effort

Offline

#10 2012-03-30 00:27:46

Digit
Member
Registered: 2008-04-28
Posts: 67

Re: ArchStudio new home

a new home... i didnt even know about the old home.  this is excellent! *cant contain elation* big_smile big_smile big_smile big_smile


fave quote of the mo': "Man's reach should exceed his grasp, else what's a heaven for." - Robert Browning

have a nice day!

Offline

#11 2013-02-17 17:32:11

overand
Member
Registered: 2008-10-17
Posts: 7

Re: ArchStudio new home

Some serious Thread Necromancy here, but I did want to mention that I'm yet another Arch user using Renoise-64-bit, on Arch 64-bit.  I'm *not* using ArchStudio, and I'm wondering what people's experiences with VSTs (native 64 bit linux ones) has been since this thread.  Should I be migrating over?

Offline

#12 2013-02-17 23:49:07

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,831

Re: ArchStudio new home

overand wrote:

Some serious Thread Necromancy here, but I did want to mention that I'm yet another Arch user using Renoise-64-bit, on Arch 64-bit.  I'm *not* using ArchStudio, and I'm wondering what people's experiences with VSTs (native 64 bit linux ones) has been since this thread.  Should I be migrating over?

If you know its necro-bumping then why do it? This question has nothing at all to do with the thread, start a new one.

Closing.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB