You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-11 00:26:46

Hutchy
Member
From: NSW,Australia
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 13

Package List

OK, Very Happy So Far. I have followed everyones advice and tips,tutorials kindly given me,. upgraded system etc. AnyHow what I have been searching for is a way to find out what packages PacMan may have , I want to know if there is a command to give pacman that will give me a list of whats available. I havn't added any sources or repos yet'not sure what PacMan uses or what package tool it is closely related to  (apt-get,yum,Portage,etc etc) is there a gui for pacman ,not that I need it , I know how to add install a package but am just curious to see whats available?


Yibbidee Yibbida

Offline

#2 2005-08-11 01:03:58

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Package List

jacman and gtkpacman are gui's available in aur. Both show all available packages.

you can use -Ss switches (for pacman) to search packages and their descriptions.

Offline

#3 2005-08-11 01:09:37

Hutchy
Member
From: NSW,Australia
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 13

Re: Package List

Thanks penguin ,are these downloadable with pacman or do I have to download & compile them as I tried installing them but got this error for both 
  " pacman -S gtkpacman
gtkpacman: not found in sync db
. Sorry not sure what Aur is


Yibbidee Yibbida

Offline

#4 2005-08-11 01:14:13

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Package List

there in aur. Look up top on the right hand side. Go there and do a search there for them. Aur is where users contribute PKGBUILDS (a file used to make an arch package) for various programs not available in the "official" repo. Through a voting system, the packages may get into the unofficial [ community ] repository.

These programs (the gui's I mentioned) are developed by users, thats why they are in AUR and not your official repo.

Offline

#5 2005-08-11 01:18:55

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Package List

to make and install the package, download all the files in compressed archive, cd into that directory and do:
makepkg -cfbi

Offline

#6 2005-08-11 01:39:50

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Package List

Hutchy wrote:

Thanks penguin ,are these downloadable with pacman or do I have to download & compile them as I tried installing them but got this error for both 
  " pacman -S gtkpacman
gtkpacman: not found in sync db
. Sorry not sure what Aur is

The AUR may seem a little daunting if you're a newbie. I know it took me a while to get the hang of it, and I had been using Arch for 6 months, so I understand.

Regarding Jacman, if you wish to bypass the AUR for now, I've already created a pkg.tar.gz and I'm reliably informed that pacman can install from URLs. Therefore, you can do this:

pacman -A http://download.berlios.de/jacman/jacman-0.2-1.pkg.tar.gz

Then it's just a matter of typing 'jacman' at the command prompt.

Offline

#7 2005-08-11 01:51:17

Hutchy
Member
From: NSW,Australia
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 13

Re: Package List

OK thanks 4 That, I probably should of researched abit more through Forum etc before starting post as I found theres a fair bit in regards to this topic in different ways , AnyWay whats more important I found is to get Gnome setup & install gedit even though I prefer Kate but is not available with  the way I have pacman setup at the moment , Thanks Hutchy


Yibbidee Yibbida

Offline

#8 2005-08-11 03:37:32

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Package List

You can find all the packages right on the website...
http://www.archlinux.org/packages.php


I am a gated community.

Offline

#9 2005-08-11 05:03:03

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Package List

Kate is part of kdebase (pacman -S kdebase).  However, it will bring in a lot of dependencies.

Offline

#10 2005-08-11 08:13:46

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,436
Website

Re: Package List

Does rasat have that kde standalone pkg thing going tho?  It might be in there...

Offline

#11 2005-08-11 11:07:30

Hutchy
Member
From: NSW,Australia
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 13

Re: Package List

Thanks ,I have JacMan now installed & looks Good ,


Yibbidee Yibbida

Offline

#12 2005-08-11 11:18:57

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Package List

remember to vote for it if you like it. With enough, it'll get into [community] repo wink

Offline

#13 2005-08-11 11:27:41

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Package List

Well reminded. Hutchy, as you're new, packages like Jacman are hosted on the AUR, but only their PKGBUILD. If you look at the package via AUR, you'll see there's a vote button. Packages that have the most votes will be taken out of the AUR and maintained actively by Arch devs, meaning you can install directly via pacman.

Do read all about AUR in the wiki - you won't survive with Arch for too long without it smile

Offline

#14 2005-08-11 12:28:38

Hutchy
Member
From: NSW,Australia
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 13

Re: Package List

"No Worries Mate" will Do


Yibbidee Yibbida

Offline

#15 2005-08-11 12:50:44

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,436
Website

Re: Package List

I've already considered putting Jacman in community big_smile  But when I tried it it crapped out on me so i thought I'd leave it for a bit lol  No rush is there smile

Offline

#16 2005-08-11 12:54:51

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: Package List

dibblethewrecker wrote:

I've already considered putting Jacman in community big_smile  But when I tried it it crapped out on me so i thought I'd leave it for a bit lol  No rush is there smile

Doesn't bother me. I don't expect Jacman to even be considered unless it reaches the vote threshold.

If you could explain how exactly it "crapped out". I'd like to fix any problems, naturally. (You talking about v0.2?)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB