You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-12 00:42:40

subatomic
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-06-26
Posts: 180

enable vesa for 1280x1024?

is there a way to enable vesa to get a nice 1280x1024 resolution in 24 bit for my monitor?

Offline

#2 2005-08-12 00:55:10

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: enable vesa for 1280x1024?

have you tried xorgcfg -textmode ?

Offline

#3 2005-08-12 08:02:02

subatomic
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-06-26
Posts: 180

Re: enable vesa for 1280x1024?

sure, but with Depth 24 X will only run at 1152x864 and in KDE display panel the screen size 1280x1024 doesn't even appear. I know the card will do it, although it's an older ati.

In the monitor handbook it lists:

1024x768
1152x864
1280x960
1280x1024 VESA

which is why I thought I must enable this somehow, but like I wrote, it won't go to 1280x960 either with a 24 bit depth. KDX for example says it needs 24 bit to run and 16 bit just looks pretty lame.

Offline

#4 2005-08-12 15:36:23

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: enable vesa for 1280x1024?

Ummm try turning ddc stuff off - if you loaded the DDC module in the xorg module section, remove that (don't need it)

What video card are you using? I'm sure it'd be easy outside vesa mode...

Offline

#5 2005-08-12 15:42:36

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: enable vesa for 1280x1024?

it may be because Vesa does not implement 1280x1024 running at 24bpp. Vesa isn't yet another driver, rather an generic interface to directly access gfx card functions on any card that supports it. from what i can tell the Vesa standard implemented in Xorg/Linux is version 2.0. no idea if Vesa was ever capable of doing high resolutions like that.

for you monitor it rather means a specific horizontal and vertival frequency combined with the correct refresh rate. that does not mean you card necessarily supports it with only Vesa driving it.

why do you use Vesa anyway with that ati? and check if you card even has enough memory to display this reolution at this bpp. 8megs and higher should do.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#6 2005-08-12 15:47:06

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: enable vesa for 1280x1024?

the ddcxinfo-arch binary from the hwd package should list all vesa modes supported.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB