You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-03 20:48:37

Beresford
Member
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 23

[SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

From a clean install of Arch using archlinux-2011.08.19-core-i686.iso, when trying to upgrade I get the following errors.

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem
glibc: /usr/bin/zdump exists in filesystem
glibc: /usr/bin/zic exists in filesystem

Must be a recent package upgrade because it was working yesterday morning.

Last edited by Beresford (2012-04-03 23:14:18)

Offline

#2 2012-04-03 21:30:03

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Have you upgraded that system before or is this the first update you did after installation?

Can you follow https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=130138 and give us the info about which package owns tzselect etc.?
I've updated my systems to glibc 2.15-10 w/o a problem.

Offline

#3 2012-04-03 22:24:21

Beresford
Member
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

First upgrade after installation.
Thanks for the link, it seems to be the tzdata update?
FgAuZ.png

Last edited by Beresford (2012-04-03 22:52:27)

Offline

#4 2012-04-03 22:35:03

Ricepicker
Member
Registered: 2011-10-08
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Good, a thread with the same problem as I have.

I forced the update of glibc and then it went from there. I don't know how safe that was tho, but since I run this on a VM I'm very careless.

Pacman -S glibc --force

Last edited by Ricepicker (2012-04-03 22:35:14)

Offline

#5 2012-04-03 22:36:49

Beresford
Member
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

I upgraded tzdata (without updating pacman) first then did a system upgrade and that seems to have fixed the problem. Is this the correct way to do this, or is there a bug in one of the packages?

Last edited by Beresford (2012-04-03 22:41:47)

Offline

#6 2012-04-03 22:37:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Try removing tzdata first.

Edit: Files are sometimes moved between packages and this creates conflicts. Either removing the package that creates conflicts or using '--force' solves the problem.


Edit 2:
Beresford, in your first post you wrote:

glibc: /usr/bin/aic exists in filesystem

and it turned out to be 'zic' not 'aic'. If you can't copy-paste, please doublecheck if you typed all the important info correctly.

Last edited by karol (2012-04-03 22:45:07)

Offline

#7 2012-04-03 22:49:02

Beresford
Member
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

First post updated, it was a typo.

Also, marked post as having a solution, not sure it's solved though.

Last edited by Beresford (2012-04-03 23:15:00)

Offline

#8 2012-04-04 01:31:49

leebrown66
Member
Registered: 2012-04-04
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Clean install from archlinux-2011.08.19-core-x86_64.iso

same problem

pacman -S tzdata

fixed it for me smile

karol wrote:

Try removing tzdata first.

pacman -R tzdata failed for me as gcc is a dependency

Offline

#9 2012-04-04 01:53:29

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,365
Website

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Just say "N" to upgrading pacman first.

Offline

#10 2012-04-07 21:02:17

ondoheer
Member
From: Lima
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 16

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Also after a fresh install, installing tzdata solved it for me. Thanks everyone


Archlinux KDE user.

Offline

#11 2012-04-26 10:07:19

rohansftw
Member
Registered: 2011-12-09
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

for me this worked perfectly

rm /usr/bin/tzselect /usr/bin/zdump /usr/bin/zic
pacman  -Syu

Offline

#12 2012-04-29 12:43:51

wds
Member
Registered: 2012-04-29
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

Hi rohan,

Thanks for this solution; however, my zdump and zic were in sbin, not bin - i.e.

rm /usr/bin/tzselect /usr/sbin/zdump /usr/sbin/zic

Thanks,

William

Offline

#13 2012-05-16 20:11:35

Joffer
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 69

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

This fixed it for me on a new install and then update:

pacman -S tzdata

Said no to update pacman first.

Offline

#14 2012-07-14 23:47:58

staticextasy
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLUTION] glibc: /usr/bin/tzselect exists in filesystem

I can confirm that

pacman -S --force tzdata

along with saying No to pacman install resolves the issue.


Michael P.
StaticExtasy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB