You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-18 19:13:26

Beetlenut
Member
From: Taipei Taiwan
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 126

3d acceleration

How does one enable 3d acceleration? I looked through the xorg.conf and didn't see anything appropriate. It has never mattered much before but I want to waste my precious time on a silly Neverwinter nights game.

Offline

#2 2005-08-18 19:53:40

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: 3d acceleration

The first question is which graphics vendor are you using? nVidia, ATI?

Offline

#3 2005-08-18 19:59:33

Beetlenut
Member
From: Taipei Taiwan
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 126

Re: 3d acceleration

intel i865 onboard graphics

Offline

#4 2005-08-18 22:36:09

sh__
Member
Registered: 2005-07-19
Posts: 271

Re: 3d acceleration

The first thing to do is to add yourself to group 'video', if you have not already done so. Then... in xorg.conf check that you have

Load  "glx"
Load  "dri"

under the section "Module". You should also have

Section "DRI"
     Mode 0660
EndSection

somewhere in xorg.conf.

Restart X after editing the conf file. If the output of 'glxinfo' contains the magical words "direct rendering: yes", you should be in business...

Offline

#5 2005-08-19 11:01:23

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: 3d acceleration

And if you do not use hotplug, you should modprobe i915 (or add it to the daemons array in rc.conf).

Offline

#6 2005-08-19 11:18:50

Rotonen
Member
From: Espoo, Finland
Registered: 2005-03-08
Posts: 31
Website

Re: 3d acceleration

LB06 wrote:

And if you do not use hotplug, you should modprobe i915 (or add it to the daemons array in rc.conf).

Modules, not daemons.. wink

Offline

#7 2005-08-19 13:17:57

sh__
Member
Registered: 2005-07-19
Posts: 271

Re: 3d acceleration

X loads i915 automagically for me. (not using hotplug...)

Offline

#8 2005-08-19 13:20:12

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: 3d acceleration

sh__ wrote:

X loads i915 automagically for me. (not using hotplug...)

it does indeed. on top of that i810 enables DRI on "supported chipsets" according to the manpage and what i can see in reality. i wouldn't say that NwN will run too great though since i810 still is a pretty slow chipset not meant not gaming.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB