You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-19 09:01:29

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Questions about fluxbox

1.Is there a 'Run Program' menu like that in xfce?

2.What's that bar in the right side of the screen? I can see a bar in many screenshot. It's so cool.

Offline

#2 2005-08-19 09:29:09

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

fluke wrote:

1.Is there a 'Run Program' menu like that in xfce?

yes, look in the menu

fluke wrote:

2.What's that bar in the right side of the screen? I can see a bar in many screenshot. It's so cool.

Probably gkrellm

Offline

#3 2005-08-19 09:37:20

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

1. I have only a 'Fluxbox Command', it seems no use for me.

2. Yes, it's what i want.Thanks.

Offline

#4 2005-08-19 09:39:48

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

And I don't know what's the meaning of the word gkrellm or rellm?

Offline

#5 2005-08-19 10:36:02

jackmetal
Member
From: US
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 164

Re: Questions about fluxbox

fluke wrote:

And I don't know what's the meaning of the word gkrellm or rellm?

gkrellm is a System monitor package for GTK2, it has a number of little plugins you can use.  I use conky for that type of info myself.

They're all either in the repo or AUR.

gkrellm is in the current/ repo:

pacman -S gkrellm

will get it for you.

conky is in the AUR: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?d … _Orphans=0
-or-
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?d … _Orphans=0


--

Some of the world's greatest feats were
accomplished by people not smart enough
to know they were impossible.
-- Doug Larson

Offline

#6 2005-08-19 10:50:01

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

I fail to see how that answers the question...

To pronounce GKrellM say the "G" then "krellm" as in bell. The name stands for (with a little flexibility, take your pick):

      GNU (or Gtk) Krell Monitors (or Meters).

If you have seen the movie Forbidden Planet, you might recall the Krell had a room with wall to wall meters for monitoring their power systems, and that is what I was thinking of when I came up with the GKrellM name.

Offline

#7 2005-08-19 11:16:54

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

Anyway, your answer does some help for me to remember the software.

Offline

#8 2005-08-19 11:26:39

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

To jackmetal, I can't install conky because my system is lack of mdsplib.
And I find it is not in the repo.

Offline

#9 2005-08-19 11:34:09

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

There is one question left, I cant find 'Run Program' in the menu, that 'Fluxbox Command' seems doesn't work.

Offline

#10 2005-08-19 11:42:04

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Questions about fluxbox

fluke wrote:

To jackmetal, I can't install conky because my system is lack of mdsplib.
And I find it is not in the repo.

mdsplib is in aur. Build that first then conky.

Offline

#11 2005-08-19 13:07:56

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

OK. I will download it myself

Offline

#12 2005-08-19 14:05:29

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

fluke wrote:

There is one question left, I cant find 'Run Program' in the menu, that 'Fluxbox Command' seems doesn't work.

fbrun is what you're after. Might need to put a shortcut in your menu if there isn't one. fluxbox-generate_menu should add one though...

Offline

#13 2005-08-19 14:52:59

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

Yes, I generated my menu with fluxbox-generate_menu, but I still havn't the fbrun.
I can only run it from terminal.
Can I add fbrun to my menu by edit any config file?

Offline

#14 2005-08-19 20:11:42

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: Questions about fluxbox

fluke: add this to your menu
[exec] (Run) {fbrun}
that will give you the run command.

Offline

#15 2005-08-19 22:36:46

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

The file to add lester's line to is ~/.fluxbox/menu

Offline

#16 2005-08-20 04:13:48

fluke
Member
From: Shaoguan Univ., PRC
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 241
Website

Re: Questions about fluxbox

Thanks wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB