You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-17 19:49:54

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

NTP issues

Hi all,

For some strange reason, I am having issues with using NTP.  My server which also functions as a router for our network serves time via NTP and gets time via NTP (ntp.org).  The only problem though is that it never actually appears to sync with ntp.org even though it should.  I don't believe NTP is being blocked by my ISP, what else am I missing?

server
ntp.conf
# With the default settings below, ntpd will only synchronize your clock.
#
# For details, see:
# - the ntp.conf man page
# - http://support.ntp.org/bin/view/Support/GettingStarted
# - https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … col_daemon

#https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NTPd

server 0.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 1.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 2.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 3.pool.ntp.org iburst

restrict default ignore
restrict 192.168.5.0 mask 255.255.255.0 notrust nomodify notrap
restrict 192.168.6.0 mask 255.255.255.0 notrust nomodify notrap
#These will allow only ntp clients with an IP
#address in the 192.168.0.xxx range to use your ntp server

driftfile /var/lib/ntp/ntp.drift
logfile /var/log/ntp.log


server
ntpd.conf
# $OpenBSD: ntpd.conf,v 1.7 2004/07/20 17:38:35 henning Exp $
# sample ntpd configuration file, see ntpd.conf(5)

# Addresses to listen on (ntpd does not listen by default)
#listen on 0.0.0.0
#listen on 127.0.0.1
#listen on ::1
listen 192.168.5.1
listen 192.168.6.1


# sync to a single server
#server ntp.example.org

# use a random selection of 8 public stratum 2 servers
# see http://twiki.ntp.org/bin/view/Servers/NTPPoolServers
servers pool.ntp.org


Secondly, along that note, what should by client configuration be to automatically sync with my local NTP server?  I would like to avoid hard-coding it to my server's internal IP since if I travel, I'd like it to use ntp.org or something to that effect.


Walter

Offline

#2 2012-04-17 20:20:23

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,413

Re: NTP issues

See troubleshooting section on wiki page.

Offline

#3 2012-04-18 12:51:56

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: NTP issues

Hi,

Thanks for your post; however, I didn't get much further with that guide.  I can indeed contact the NTP time servers so I don't believe my firewall is too restrictive (perhaps my NTP configuration is not letting me synchronize with those time servers?).  I do indeed see that my laptop has the server listed as a peer, but the time is still different from that of the server.

Walter

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB