You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-24 09:45:38

mouse256
Member
From: Antwerpen, Belgium
Registered: 2005-08-24
Posts: 247

hard freeze

Hi,

I installed arch, it works rather good, but it freezes from time to time sad

I can't do anything anymore, no more mouse movement, ctr-alt-fX does nothing, ctrl-alt-backspace, ... even the num-lock light on my keyboard won't go out anymore.

Has anyone an idea how I can find out what the problem is?

my config:
Archlinux ;-)
nforce2 motherboard with nvsound driver
ati-radeon 9600 with ati-driver
forcedeth driver for networking
I do have a scsi card for my (old) scanner, hotplug loads a driver for it, but I don't have a scsi disk
I'm running x.org with kde
I'm having a bios raid-0 with dmraid

Windows and gentoo run fine and stable on this box, so stability is not the issue

my lsmod:

[root@mouse256 log]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ntfs                  192656  2
uhci_hcd               34192  0
analog                 12960  0
ns558                   6020  0
gameport               17288  3 analog,ns558
snd_opl3_lib           11776  0
snd_hwdep              10016  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_cs4231_lib         28288  0
snd_pcm_oss            56224  0
snd_mixer_oss          20864  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                98180  2 snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              27012  3 snd_opl3_lib,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc         10372  2 snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401              6856  0
snd_mpu401_uart         8704  1 snd_mpu401
snd_rawmidi            26784  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          9228  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    60388  11 snd_opl3_lib,snd_hwdep,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
parport_pc             29892  0
parport                38984  1 parport_pc
pcspkr                  4172  0
3c59x                  43176  0
mii                     6272  1 3c59x
aic7xxx               198100  0
scsi_transport_spi     21120  1 aic7xxx
ohci1394               37556  0
ieee1394              107480  1 ohci1394
shpchp                100740  0
pci_hotplug            30788  1 shpchp
nvnet                  73124  0
ehci_hcd               37128  0
usbhid                 49568  0
ohci_hcd               23044  0
i2c_nforce2             7296  0
i2c_core               23168  1 i2c_nforce2
tsdev                   8384  0
evdev                  10240  0
forcedeth              20736  0
nvsound              1541560  1
soundcore              10848  3 snd,nvsound
fglrx                 264552  7
usbcore               129276  5 uhci_hcd,ehci_hcd,usbhid,ohci_hcd
rtc                    13900  0

I hope somebody can help?
I looked into several log-files, but I can't find a thing, maybe I forgot some files?

Offline

#2 2005-08-24 10:36:56

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: hard freeze

I installed arch

have you done a full system update with pacman yet ?

pacman -Syu

Offline

#3 2005-08-24 20:30:35

mouse256
Member
From: Antwerpen, Belgium
Registered: 2005-08-24
Posts: 247

Re: hard freeze

Yes I did :-)

I also noticed I had both nvnet and forcedeth loaded (shame you hotplug smile )  Now I prevented the system from loading the forcedeth driver, I don't know if this may help, I haven't used my system for longer than 5 minutes since I disabled it...  I'm not using the nvidia ethernet connection but the 3com connection, so I think it will not make a big difference.

Offline

#4 2005-08-24 20:35:30

jftaylor21
Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 237

Re: hard freeze

I can't do anything anymore, no more mouse movement, ctr-alt-fX does nothing, ctrl-alt-backspace, ... even the num-lock light on my keyboard won't go out anymore

Does this happen even if you do not load x or is it a xorg problem?

Offline

#5 2005-08-24 20:45:39

mouse256
Member
From: Antwerpen, Belgium
Registered: 2005-08-24
Posts: 247

Re: hard freeze

jftaylor21 wrote:

Does this happen even if you do not load x or is it a xorg problem?

I will try it.
Problem is that it can take 2 hours before the system freezes, and I don't like links too much for browsing  :mrgreen:

Offline

#6 2005-08-24 20:55:54

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 547

Re: hard freeze

Install and run memtest86+

See if that shows any memory problems.

Offline

#7 2005-08-25 09:45:32

mouse256
Member
From: Antwerpen, Belgium
Registered: 2005-08-24
Posts: 247

Re: hard freeze

I did already run memtest a time ago, it makes no problems

I checked the stability of my computer very well in windows with several burn-in programs and also with memtest, I have no problems.

But it seems that both the forcedeth and nvnet driver loaded was the problem, I'm now running for almost 2 hours with no crash smile

I'll let you know if I still get another crash, otherwise I think the problem is solved.
Thanks for your replys anyway!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB