You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-11 03:53:38

dave.roberts
Member
Registered: 2005-04-02
Posts: 36

Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

I have a new Thinkpad T22.
alsaconf successfully finds my Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24 Card, however, I need to load snd_cs46xx manually.
After loading the modules, it is visible under lsmod.
/etc/rc.d/alsa start give me an output of:
/usr/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1236: No soundcards found...

Any ideas will be appreciated

Offline

#2 2005-08-11 05:09:52

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

Try adding snd-cs46xx to the MODULES array of rc.conf.  The module will then be loaded automatically.

To solve the "No soundcards found", add:

sleep 5

after the line:

stat_busy "Restoring ALSA Levels"

of /etc/rc.d/alsa.

Offline

#3 2005-08-21 14:15:00

dave.roberts
Member
Registered: 2005-04-02
Posts: 36

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

Thanks, this works
Where was I expected to find this otherwise?

Offline

#4 2005-08-21 17:21:08

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

just curious, if you didn't do the sleep 5 thing and manually entered in that module in modules() array in rc.conf, would it load up?
I thought the sleep command was something that had been fixed a while ago.

Offline

#5 2005-08-21 19:11:11

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

IIRC, without the sleep 5, the module is loaded but you end up with muted sound level.  It seems that the problem is that udev hasn't yet created the sound devices when the alsa script tries to restore the sound volume. 
I don't know if it has been fixed.  Maybe moving alsa to the end of the DAEMONS array will give more time to udev to create the device so the sleep 5 won't be necessary anymore.   I might test that out.

Offline

#6 2005-08-26 21:19:44

dave.roberts
Member
Registered: 2005-04-02
Posts: 36

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

Snowman wrote:

IIRC, without the sleep 5, the module is loaded but you end up with muted sound level.  It seems that the problem is that udev hasn't yet created the sound devices when the alsa script tries to restore the sound volume. 
I don't know if it has been fixed.  Maybe moving alsa to the end of the DAEMONS array will give more time to udev to create the device so the sleep 5 won't be necessary anymore.   I might test that out.

Sounds about right.  I reinstalled Arch and did not add sleep 5.  Now the volume is muted at startup

Offline

#7 2005-08-26 21:56:04

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

strange, works for me without it. Maybe it depends on the module.

Offline

#8 2005-08-26 23:18:11

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

Penguin wrote:

strange, works for me without it. Maybe it depends on the module.

It's possible... I'm using snd_intel8x0.  I'll probably do the tests I suggested above during the week-end.

Offline

#9 2005-08-29 06:53:35

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

Snowman wrote:
Penguin wrote:

strange, works for me without it. Maybe it depends on the module.

It's possible... I'm using snd_intel8x0.  I'll probably do the tests I suggested above during the week-end.

using intel8x0 here and alsa worked out of the box in this situation... though I am using the community ck kernel

Offline

#10 2005-08-29 16:27:48

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

I'm using the snd-cs46xx too and I never had any problems with my Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24 card (TerraTec DMX Xfire 1024). :?


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#11 2005-08-29 18:40:18

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Cirrus Logic snd-cs46xx - No soundcards found [Solved]

phrakture wrote:

using intel8x0 here and alsa worked out of the box in this situation... though I am using the community ck kernel

Which one: kernel26archck or kernel26cko?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB