You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-27 00:19:02

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

cko is back?

I just tried the URL, as I do every now and then, and it came up - with cko3 there to be grabbed. I know we now have archck (thanks iphitus smile ) , but I figured I'd mention it anyway.

Offline

#2 2005-08-27 22:17:35

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: cko is back?

Ummm

This email is to inform you that we just had to delete the project record
for 'Con Kolivas patchset-based Overloaded kernel' from freshmeat.net. You
are being informed about this circumstance because you were a subscriber to
it.

Sincerely,
freshmeat.net

Officially dead I would say smile

Offline

#3 2005-08-28 05:59:34

aikidoist72
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-04-15
Posts: 63

Re: cko is back?

Hold on..... [Schreeeeeeeech]  :?

I have just compiled kernel 2.6.12 with the -cko3 patchset from the website
http://kem.p.lodz.pl/~peter/cko/

Does this mean the patchset is down only at freshmeat, or no longer supported?


Sitting quietly
Doing nothing
The grass grows
And the flowers bloom
All by themselves

Offline

#4 2005-08-28 07:12:54

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: cko is back?

AFAIK that's the last -cko release

Offline

#5 2005-08-28 08:45:57

aikidoist72
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-04-15
Posts: 63

Re: cko is back?

Hey dibble,

I have two questions when you get some time  smile

First, what is a good patch?  I have compiled quite a few kernels, but have only patched the bootsplash patch and just then the -cko patch.  I can not work out what I need regarding the fbsplash as the versions put me off.  I would like to use a 2.6.12-5 kernel for desktop use only.

Second, comes from my brief Gentoo experience.  When installing Gentoo, the installer auto detected my hardware and wrote a really good config file for the kernel.  I am wondering what is out there that can help to "auto configure" a config file - taking out what is not needed (like Gentoo) to produce a stripped down kernel.  I am able to do this manually but this feature was impressive.  I have googled but keep finding "howto's".

Cheers


Sitting quietly
Doing nothing
The grass grows
And the flowers bloom
All by themselves

Offline

#6 2005-08-28 09:11:02

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: cko is back?

Well dude, if you can find out where that magical gentoo script is I'd be keen to try it out for Arch!

You can always try kernel26archck in [community] - all the patchsets I liked seem to be have deteriorated.

Offline

#7 2005-08-28 10:02:00

aikidoist72
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-04-15
Posts: 63

Re: cko is back?

I still have the ISO image so I will loop mount it and have a look.  I have no idea what I would be looking for, but I'll give it a go!!

As for patchsets - I agree.  It took me two days research before I chose -cko and really, I am only giving it a go.  I think I will recompile but I need a hand with choosing the right fbsplash patch as I like a preety picture behind the scrolling text!.  Could you have a look for me to decipher which one to use please?

http://dev.gentoo.org/~spock/projects/gensplash/

Cheers


Sitting quietly
Doing nothing
The grass grows
And the flowers bloom
All by themselves

Offline

#8 2005-08-28 10:33:41

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: cko is back?

cko contains the fbsplash patches...

As far as the gensplash patches just use the one that is most recent for your kernel version - this is usually the last rc release for that kernel version

Offline

#9 2005-08-29 12:33:46

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: cko is back?

dibblethewrecker wrote:

Officially dead I would say smile

Thanks dibble - just as well I wasn't counting on it.

Offline

#10 2005-08-29 15:30:20

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: cko is back?

aikidoist72 wrote:

Second, comes from my brief Gentoo experience.  When installing Gentoo, the installer auto detected my hardware and wrote a really good config file for the kernel.  I am wondering what is out there that can help to "auto configure" a config file - taking out what is not needed (like Gentoo) to produce a stripped down kernel.  I am able to do this manually but this feature was impressive.  I have googled but keep finding "howto's".

I don't think this is gentoo - I think this is part of the kernel build process, because I remember it happening under arch.

Try this (I don't have the time): Load all your modules, remove (or backup) whatever config file you have, and run "make menuconfig" - I think it pulls in all the stuff currently loaded... i.e. the proper sound module and things like that.

Offline

#11 2005-08-29 20:14:10

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: cko is back?

Just tried that here, and it pulled in a default config from <source>/arch/i386/defconfig - my loaded modules were not included.

Offline

#12 2005-08-29 21:11:16

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: cko is back?

tomk wrote:

Just tried that here, and it pulled in a default config from <source>/arch/i386/defconfig - my loaded modules were not included.

Hmmm there was something - I remember going to the sound areas and only intel8x0 was checked (as Y), the rest were not....

Maybe it was a different "make" option... maybe "make config" or something does it - try "make config && make menuconfig"

Offline

#13 2005-08-29 22:33:21

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: cko is back?

phrakture wrote:

I remember going to the sound areas and only intel8x0 was checked (as Y), the rest were not....

Yup, that's in that defconfig. I'll try your next suggestion whenever I get the time.

Offline

#14 2005-08-29 22:48:35

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: cko is back?

tomk wrote:
phrakture wrote:

I remember going to the sound areas and only intel8x0 was checked (as Y), the rest were not....

Yup, that's in that defconfig. I'll try your next suggestion whenever I get the time.

Ah so maybe things just happened to coincide with my hardware? Heh, that'd be funny

Offline

#15 2005-08-30 06:24:38

jftaylor21
Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 237

Re: cko is back?

phrakture wrote:
tomk wrote:
phrakture wrote:

I remember going to the sound areas and only intel8x0 was checked (as Y), the rest were not....

Yup, that's in that defconfig. I'll try your next suggestion whenever I get the time.

Ah so maybe things just happened to coincide with my hardware? Heh, that'd be funny

Yeah my girlfriends computer uses a sound blaster live card and intel8x0 is selected by default on that as well even though it uses emu10k1.

Offline

#16 2005-08-30 17:36:11

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: cko is back?

Aren't you talking about gentoo's genkernel?

Offline

#17 2005-08-30 17:45:15

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: cko is back?

they are - i found it but couldn't be bothered to mention it - it's hideously complicated and apparently crap smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB