You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-29 13:11:31

vaccaaa
Member
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 20

Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

I recently upgraded nvidia from 290 to 295 series.

I found that I cannot switch anymore from my desktop (KDE) to a tty, because the only thing I obtain is a black screen (not even illuminated, just a turned off screen). It's interesting that, if I issue a command in this black screen, I obtain a response: so is only a nvidia graphical issue, not a tty one.

Moreover, when I try to halt the computer, it doesn't completely shut down: it remains stuck at the moment before shutting down, with only the fan and some lights on...
Am I the only one who has such problems or is it a common thing?

Thank you very much!!

Ps: my laptop is a Dell XPS m1330, with a nvidia GeForce 8400M GS

Offline

#2 2012-02-29 13:43:13

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Quite a few reports of that at the nvnews.net forums. Seems to be limited to Geforce 8 (and maybe 9) cards.

Offline

#3 2012-02-29 14:04:21

vaccaaa
Member
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 20

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Gusar wrote:

Quite a few reports of that at the nvnews.net forums.

Thank you! I found this thread on nvnews:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=173214

So it's a common problem... For the period expected to fix this, how can I go back to 290 series?

The problem is that 290 worked with kernel 3.2.7, but with the lastest update (3.2.8) it's not working anymore... X doesn't start sad
Any Ideas??

Thanks smile smile

Offline

#4 2012-02-29 14:07:41

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Yeah, one idea, same as always: Create your own nvidia package. Something changed in 3.2.8 which requires all external modules to be rebuilt. So make your own package and it should work.

Offline

#5 2012-02-29 22:54:08

vaccaaa
Member
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 20

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Good idea smile

Thankfully I still had an old abs tree, with the old PKGBUILD etc smile

So I built my own nvidia and nvidia-utils version 290.10, I blacklisted these two from upgrading in /etc/pacman.conf and all the problems went away! Hoping 295 bugs will be fixed soon...

PS for the ones looking for those old abs entries, I put them on dropbox:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/412776/nvidia%2 … ls.tar.bz2

Offline

#6 2012-03-01 16:40:45

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Hellow, i fave nvidia 8600GT and same problem.

I found that if you press the Ctrl+Alt+F1, before login to KDE, then switching to the console - the text will be visible, and after a switch from KDE to the console will be work properly.
Also, I have had problems after changing screen resolution, changing the frequency of the screen, and after running full-screen games - after these steps - console gone invisible .
If someone is not difficult - conduct this experiment for yourself and accomplish your goal.

Offline

#7 2012-03-04 14:21:20

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

vaccaaa, thanks a lot -  your solution helped me too smile)
it seems that the time to write the title of topic [SOLVED] smile

Offline

#8 2012-03-06 18:31:35

Grenshad
Member
Registered: 2007-02-19
Posts: 22

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

yeah thanks to you all smile it's working again!

Offline

#9 2012-03-09 06:02:08

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

after a kernel upgrade, I had to update the nvidia's driver from the repository - after the update problem is back, maybe it's worth to write a bug-report?

Offline

#10 2012-03-09 21:19:55

vwyodajl
Member
Registered: 2012-01-21
Posts: 183

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Do any of you occasionally also get just a red screen on reboot/shutdown? I have been having the issues stated here and the red screen even on 290. I have had to figure out a different series of fixes to be able to cleanly shutdown, though cant reboot at all I get the red screen everytime, red screen also only happens in reboot only. Shutdown is where I see the stated probelms of the OP.

Offline

#11 2012-03-16 08:21:34

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Current xorg requires driver > 290, its sad, but  but the problem "with a black screen" is come back: (.

Offline

#12 2012-03-16 08:28:29

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

I add a task to https://bugs.archlinux.org
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/28939
Im just a copy-paste a first post.

Offline

#13 2012-03-16 20:20:01

vaccaaa
Member
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 20

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

killer1804 wrote:

Current xorg requires driver > 290, its sad, but  but the problem "with a black screen" is come back: (.

Sad but true sad
It would really be a mess to avoid upgrading the whole xorg server, its libs etc... I hope arch developers will come out with some kind of solution or workaround...

EDIT:
In the thread I linked above (to  nvnews) nvidia developers say they are actively investigating the problem... I hope they are going to solve it soon...!

Last edited by vaccaaa (2012-03-16 20:27:45)

Offline

#14 2012-04-07 13:07:13

crobe2
Member
Registered: 2011-08-09
Posts: 23

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

vaccaaa wrote:

Ps: my laptop is a Dell XPS m1330, with a nvidia GeForce 8400M GS

Yeah, another user running the best laptop ever built big_smile

Offline

#15 2012-04-07 18:52:37

lgolebio
Member
From: Poland / Wroclaw
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 101

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

I was able to downgrade xorg-server and nvidia drivers without downgrading the kernel. I built my own packages.

I put them on my dropbox account http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7157357/Archlin … ges.tar.gz
If you are using touchpad on your laptop, you should also install xf86-input-synaptics, which is included in tarball. All works nice on the latest kernel 3.2.14-1-ARCH. It will fix the poweroff problem and switching to tty's consoles.

Remember that downgrading packages is only a temporary solution. Currently on nvidia 8600M with 290.10 drivers vdpau works only for 720p movies. If you wan't to play 1080p then you will be disappointed.

Last edited by lgolebio (2012-04-08 04:31:49)

Offline

#16 2012-04-12 13:42:29

crobe2
Member
Registered: 2011-08-09
Posts: 23

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Anything new with NVIDIA 295.40?

Offline

#17 2012-04-13 13:47:15

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,491

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Nope, tty switch is still broken

Offline

#18 2012-04-21 13:44:42

delphaber
Member
Registered: 2010-09-24
Posts: 9

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

It happens on my hp dv6560 too (nvidia 8400M GS)

Offline

#19 2012-05-07 15:04:10

crobe2
Member
Registered: 2011-08-09
Posts: 23

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

lgolebio wrote:

I was able to downgrade xorg-server and nvidia drivers without downgrading the kernel. I built my own packages.

I put them on my dropbox account http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7157357/Archlin … ges.tar.gz
If you are using touchpad on your laptop, you should also install xf86-input-synaptics, which is included in tarball. All works nice on the latest kernel 3.2.14-1-ARCH. It will fix the poweroff problem and switching to tty's consoles.

Thanks, your workaround is really good.

I fully upgraded my system (pacman -Syu) today and downgraded the following packages again:

nvidia                                   
xf86-input-synaptics-1.5.0-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz
nvidia-utils-290.10-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz     
xorg-server-1.11.4-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz
opencl-nvidia-290.10-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz   
xorg-server-common-1.11.4-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz
xf86-input-evdev-2.6.0-4-i686.pkg.tar.xz 
xorg-server-devel-1.11.4-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz

The conftest.sh has to be patched in the NVIDIA*/kernel directory to build with kernel 3.3.

Offline

#20 2012-05-11 14:36:25

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

Now I use nuoveau - I was very surprised by his abilities, and I advise you to try.

Offline

#21 2012-05-11 15:47:22

lgolebio
Member
From: Poland / Wroclaw
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 101

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

@killer1804, you are joking right ? Playing videos on youtube in HD format is a horror. Also vdpau is not implemented. So, what is the purpose of using this crap ?

Offline

#22 2012-05-13 06:43:02

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 41

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

@lgolebio, No, I'm serious - video playback in 1080p on the proprietary driver is not too great. On the YouTube video in shades of blue, and most head - to switch to the console does not work - there is nothing visible except a black screen.
I almost do not play games, play only ioquake3 and hedgewars, I use Skype and ICQ.
Yes 90% of games do not work with this driver, but works fine the effects KDE desktop and compiz.
Switching to the console always works. CRAP - the ratio of developers to the proprietary driver, nvidia, or someone else through the fault of someone I did not work to switch to the console.
By the way - at proprietary driver, I have available frequencies (at a resolution of 1280x1024) are shown as 50 and 51 - is this normal?

PS: did you try to install nouveau-dri pakage ?

Last edited by killer1804 (2012-05-13 06:44:22)

Offline

#23 2012-05-13 06:49:36

lgolebio
Member
From: Poland / Wroclaw
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 101

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

@killer1804, I don't watch 1080p movies on my laptop, and I can live without that. But I can not live without powermizer, which makes my GPU much more cooler than on nouveau drivers. The battery lifetime is much greater on proprietary drivers.

I agree, both nvidia proprietary and nouveau suck. But drivers from nvidia just suck less. wink

I am using 290.10-2 for almost a month, and it is ok. Switching to console works, the only thing that doesn't work is 1080p movies.

Last edited by lgolebio (2012-05-13 06:51:34)

Offline

#24 2012-05-13 10:17:09

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

killer1804 wrote:

@lgolebio, No, I'm serious - video playback in 1080p on the proprietary driver is not too great. On the YouTube video in shades of blue

You couldn't find solutions in one of the literally *dozen* threads about flash? Two things: It's a) Adobe's problem, and b) if you have blue people it means you didn't activate hardware decoding.

killer1804 wrote:

I have available frequencies (at a resolution of 1280x1024) are shown as 50 and 51 - is this normal?

If you would've read the documentation, you'd know what those numbers mean. Yes, it's 100% normal.

It seems all the beef you have with nvidia is not actually nvidia's problem, but your problem in not educating yourself. The only thing you have is the console switching thing, that really is a nvidia bug that appeared recently, which affects a few card families.

But even so, comparing nouveau vs. nvidia... lack of power management, lack of hardware decoding, lack of performance. The first two are quite the problem for laptops. Nouveau does great at the basic stuff and is in active development, so it's not all bad. But the thing is, why get a nvidia card for the basics? Intel is very sufficient for those.

Last edited by Gusar (2012-05-13 10:19:13)

Offline

#25 2012-05-13 10:39:07

lgolebio
Member
From: Poland / Wroclaw
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 101

Re: Nvidia upgrade 290->295 broke tty and shutdown process

But the thing is, why get a nvidia card for the basics? Intel is very sufficient for those.

That's true. Buying nvidia and installing nouveau is like buying porshe and driving it with 30km/h on highway.

No, I'm serious - video playback in 1080p on the proprietary driver is not too great. On the YouTube video in shades of blue..

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Nv … celeration

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB