You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-01 16:30:04

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

My initial plan was to use four monitors on my Radeon HD 6790 as follows:

1 Single-link DVI-D = monitor1 dvi
1 Dual-link DVI-I = monitor2 dvi
1 Display Port = monitor3 dvi with adapter
1 HDMI = new monitor

This did not work as I could not use the hdmi port with the second dvi plugged in so I decided to buy a second cheaper ati card (the 6450) to power the fourth monitor. Well of course that did not work as well since the 2nd video card was identified as UNKNOWN via the Ctalyst control Center(amdcccle).

This is how I currently have my monitors plugged in:
6790 (Main card):
  1x dvi
  1x dvi via DisplayPort
  1x hdmi

6450 (Secondary card):
  1x dvi

I tried for two days to get the second card identified by the Catalyst driver and I ended up borking my system in the process. So now I am on week two of getting this setup to work with no avail so I decided to post a new thread.

Here is some relevant information that may help:

╔═ comhack@Cerberus 11:14 AM 
╚═══ ~-> uname -a
Linux Cerberus 3.3.7-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue May 22 00:26:26 CEST 2012 x86_64 GNU/Linux
╔═ comhack@Cerberus 10:50 AM 
╚═══ ~-> lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Barts LE [AMD Radeon HD 6700 Series]
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Caicos [Radeon HD 6450]
╔═ comhack@Cerberus 11:50 AM 
╚═══ ~-> pacman -Qi xorg-server | grep Version
Version        : 1.11.4-1
╔═ comhack@Cerberus 10:50 AM 
╚═══ ~-> xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 5440 x 1084, maximum 5440 x 1920
DFP1 connected 1600x900+3840+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 443mm x 249mm
   1600x900       60.0*+
   1440x900       60.0  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1152x864       75.0     60.0  
   1280x768       59.8  
   1280x720       60.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     67.0     59.9  
DFP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP5 connected 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 520mm x 290mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+   50.0     59.9     30.0     25.0     30.0  
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1776x1000      50.0     59.9     25.0     30.0  
   1680x1050      50.0     60.0  
   1400x1050      50.0     60.0  
   1600x900       60.0     50.0  
   1360x1024      50.0     60.0  
   1280x1024      50.0     75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       50.0     59.9  
   1280x960       50.0     60.0  
   1152x864       50.0     59.9     75.0  
   1280x768       50.0     60.0  
   1280x720       60.0     50.0     59.9  
   1024x768       50.0     75.0     70.1     60.0  
   1152x648       50.0     59.9  
   800x600        50.0     72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   720x480        50.0     30.0     60.0     30.0     59.9  
   640x480        50.0     75.0     72.8     67.0     60.0     59.9  
DFP6 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP7 connected 1920x1080+0+4 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 477mm x 268mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1600x900       60.0  
   1360x1024      60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1280x768       60.0  
   1280x720       60.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     67.0     59.9  
CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
╔═ comhack@Cerberus 11:02 AM 
╚═══ ~/Cerberus->  pacman -Qi catalyst-total | grep Version
Version        : 12.4-1

Here is my atisysteminfo: https://github.com/securitybreach/Cerbe … report.txt

My xorg.conf:

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "amdcccle Layout"
	Screen      0  "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP1"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1600x900"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "3840 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP5"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "1920 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP7"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 28"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "1-Default monitor"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "480x640"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" ""
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP6"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP1" "0-DFP1"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-Default monitor" "1-Default monitor"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Virtual   5440 1920
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[2]-0"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

https://github.com/securitybreach/Cerbe … g.conf-ati

Notice the fourth monitor is labeled as "1-Default monitor" instead of hdmi (or whatever) and the second card is not listed.

I am literally at my wit's end trying to figure this out. So basically I am wondering if anyone has a clue where to begin trying to get the 2nd video card identified or is it even possible with the current Catalyst driver? I know my hardware can power it fine as it works perfectly on my Windows gaming partition.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by securitybreach (2012-06-01 16:50:47)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#2 2012-06-01 22:28:37

Pres
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 423

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

Offline

#3 2012-06-02 18:45:52

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

I had read through that thread before but I did not really find it useful as I was not using Xinerama to begin with.

I ended up installing the open source driver, xf86-driver-ati, in hopes that I could set it up with separate Xorgs like the above thread mentioned. (I also commented out the xorg11 repo and upgraded to the latest xorg-server per the wiki entry). I figured since I do not move windows between monitors anyway, I would be fine (XMonad). Well now whenever I try to startx, I get a black screen and cannot switch to another terminal(tty) to close it. I have read many threads about the black screen issue but nothing really relates to my setup.

Here is my Xorg0.log if you can make any sense of it: https://github.com/securitybreach/Cerbe … Xorg.0.log

And the rest of my updated /etc/X11 files: https://github.com/securitybreach/Cerbe … master/X11


Thanks

Last edited by securitybreach (2012-06-02 18:56:26)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#4 2012-06-02 19:48:39

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

The worst part is, I could easily just use my old two Geforce 9500s and have my four monitors up and running rather quickly. Of course, I would be taking a major performance hit as far as graphics. I rarely play games but when I do, I like to have good graphics.

I honestly do not know WTF to do as I have a powerful Radeon card (6790) that I just bought like 8 months ago, just bought a second ati card(6450) to get the fourth monitor working, tried both the Catalyst driver and the OSS driver but I still cannot get anything to work correctly. I do not care if I have a seperate X or not, I just need my four monitors working in LInux. I am literally pulling my hair out......

If anyone has any idea at all of what I can do or what I need to buy to get this up and running, I would great appreciate it. I refuse to give up!!!


Thanks


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#5 2012-06-03 20:20:56

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

Well I have all four monitors working now but one is a separate X session. I ended up having to manually edit my xorg.conf in order to get the fourth monitor working.


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#6 2012-06-03 22:44:54

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

I have it working now using catalyst-total but with separate X sessions on each monitor. Not the ideal setup but it works for now.

Here is my xorg.conf for reference:

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "amdcccle Layout"
	Screen      0  "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0" 1599 0
	Screen         "amdcccle-Screen[1]-1" 3518 0
	Screen         "amdcccle-Screen[1]-2" 5437 0
	Screen         "amdcccle-Screen[2]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP1"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1600x900"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP5"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP7"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "1-DFP2"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1600x900"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP2" "1-DFP2"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[1]-1"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP7" "0-DFP7"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[1]-2"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP1" "0-DFP1"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen      2
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[2]-0"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-1"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-1"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-2"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-2"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

I had to manually edit my xorg.conf and add the values for the second video card/fourth monitor. I cannot figure out how to take a screenshot of all 4 X sessions so here is a picture of the setup:

6e0d13193895972.jpg

Last edited by securitybreach (2012-06-03 22:49:20)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#7 2012-06-04 14:19:41

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

Well I enabled Xinerama and now I can move windows between all 4 monitors now!!!!!

Only took me two weeks......


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#8 2012-06-04 14:26:00

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

Screenshot of perfection:

a38350194031895.jpg

Last edited by securitybreach (2012-06-04 15:12:00)


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

#9 2012-06-17 17:28:01

x5x_tim
Member
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 86

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

Sorry to bump, but if you see this: how did you enable Xinerama?

I have a setup with a HD6850 (with two screens connected) and a HD4850 (with one screen connected).
I can start X clients on both cards by using the DISPLAY env variable, but I can't move windows and Gnome Shell does not like the fact that I have two Xorg sessions.

My xorg.conf looks roughly the same as yours except that I'm using the free driver (can't get the proprietary one working, or else I would try it with that).

Offline

#10 2012-06-17 17:32:31

securitybreach
Member
From: In front of my computers
Registered: 2007-11-18
Posts: 409
Website

Re: Dual Radeon video card -- Second card Unknown/4th monitor

I just simply manually added the values in xorg.conf and then used amdcccle to configure the monitors. I just used one xorg.conf and set all of the monitors as separate X sessions using amdcccle. I am not for sure if this works with the OSS driver as I have only tried it with the Catalyst-total binary driver.


"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken
Website      Configs
Forum Admin: Bruno's All Things Linux   
securitybreach<a>archlinux.us

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB