You are not logged in.

#1 2005-09-03 23:14:48

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

I'm not sure if there is a solution to my problem...but here goes:

I have a webserver up (not up right now...but you get the point).  I have it set up so i can ssh from school and such.  We have cygwin at work so i can, in theory, ssh to my pc.  Unfortunately, I can't reach my home computer because i need to use a proxy to get there.  I think I read somewhere that cygwin doesn't let you use proxy.  I would love to do some of my programming stuff at work since i have absolutely no free time at home between school and work.  Any possible solutions/suggestions would be appreciated.

Offline

#2 2005-09-04 10:38:51

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

Have you tried PuTTY? It works well with proxies.

Offline

#3 2005-09-04 20:07:52

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

I have tried putty (from school).  I would rather not have to install any software at work, because its not allowed.  I was hoping that there would be a way to set this up with cygwin.

However, if putty is my only option, I'm willing to try that as well.

Offline

#4 2005-09-04 20:14:15

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

So your work proxies all connections? Or just http connections?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-09-05 01:56:17

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

Yes, i think it proxies all connections.

Offline

#6 2005-09-05 03:23:39

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

I believe you can download the putty.exe binary by itself, without all the other stuff (PuTTYtel, PSCP, PSFTP, etc.) included in the complete installer.  That way it will just run off of your desktop with no installation necessary...

Offline

#7 2005-09-05 03:46:01

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

hmm. i wonder how it proxies https connections..securely..
/me scratches head

Well, you could try tunnelling, but if it is proxied, then I don't know, as most secure connections dont proxy very well...


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#8 2005-09-05 05:15:00

jftaylor21
Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 237

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

elasticdog wrote:

I believe you can download the putty.exe binary by itself, without all the other stuff (PuTTYtel, PSCP, PSFTP, etc.) included in the complete installer.  That way it will just run off of your desktop with no installation necessary...

Yeah you can here:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgta … nload.html

I think it is only about 400-500k so it should be able to even fit on a floppy disk if necessary.

Offline

#9 2005-09-05 08:13:51

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

In my last job, I found I was unable to ssh to my home network with PuTTY, even after setting the proxy details correctly. I decided not to bother the admins about it, so instead I tunnelled out using httptunnel (Arch package here). Worked perfectly. Of course, this may not be relevant to your situation.

Offline

#10 2005-09-05 21:08:34

Euphoric Nightmare
Member
From: Kentucky
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 283

Re: Can't ssh from work, and i really need gcc.

tomk wrote:

In my last job, I found I was unable to ssh to my home network with PuTTY, even after setting the proxy details correctly. I decided not to bother the admins about it, so instead I tunnelled out using httptunnel (Arch package here). Worked perfectly. Of course, this may not be relevant to your situation.

Interesting...I will check it out.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB