You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-15 15:51:22

gilmoreja
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 71

Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

This morning, after upgrading to kernel 3.4.2-2, powernow-k8 module keeps coughing up errors during boot:

Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.279311] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: No compatible ACPI _PSS objects found.
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.279312] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: Try again with latest BIOS.
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.283565] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: No compatible ACPI _PSS objects found.
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.283567] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: Try again with latest BIOS.
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.383489] sp5100_tco: mmio address 0xbafe00 already in use
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.488294] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.488790] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.489191] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.489617] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.490018] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 15 10:30:32 localhost kernel: [    5.490419] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin

Anyone else getting this?

And here's LSPCI if it helps:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B) (rev 02)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port E)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port F)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port H)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx1 port A)
00:11.0 RAID bus controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [RAID5 mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:15.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB700/SB800/SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:15.1 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB700/SB800/SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:16.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:16.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 5
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF114 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
02:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362 SATA Controller (rev 10)
03:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362 SATA Controller (rev 10)
04:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042 SuperSpeed USB Host Controller
05:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042 SuperSpeed USB Host Controller
06:00.0 PCI bridge: PLX Technology, Inc. PEX8112 x1 Lane PCI Express-to-PCI Bridge (rev aa)
07:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CMI8788 [Oxygen HD Audio]
08:07.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller (rev c0)
0a:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)

Thanks,
James

Last edited by gilmoreja (2012-06-15 15:52:22)


Time you enjoy wasting isn't wasted time.

Offline

#2 2012-06-15 17:43:35

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

I get your microcode error as well since 3.3.8, but not the powernow-k8 one.
Have a look if the "cool-and-quiet" speedstep option is activated in bios (see here).

Offline

#3 2012-06-15 17:53:11

gilmoreja
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 71

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

I do have cool-n-quiet disabled in BIOS like that thread talks about; however, I've always had it turned off and I've never gotten these errors before.

So now I wonder why this issue came up.


Time you enjoy wasting isn't wasted time.

Offline

#4 2012-06-15 18:20:04

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Strangely enough I have those two errors ("powernow-k8" and "microcode") after the upgrade to kernel 3.4.2, too - with Cool'n'Quiet ENabled. They also didn't occur with kernel 3.3.8.

Offline

#5 2012-06-15 18:30:06

gilmoreja
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 71

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

I don't know if it's related, but I'm also getting this now:

Jun 15 13:37:33 localhost kernel: [   23.913896] NOHZ: local_softirq_pending 08

Last edited by gilmoreja (2012-06-15 18:39:53)


Time you enjoy wasting isn't wasted time.

Offline

#6 2012-06-15 21:20:52

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Solution Part I:
By installing the package extra/amd-ucode I got rid of the microcode errors :-)

Solution Part II:
In progress... ... ...

Any ideas about the powernow-k8 error???

Offline

#7 2012-06-15 21:41:37

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

I found/tried out: The easiest way to get rid of the powernow-k8 error is blacklisting the powernow_k8 module. But I guess this isn't exactely an award-winning solution...

Offline

#8 2012-06-16 00:05:20

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

@Thomasplessner: Have you tried the other options in your bios available for speedstep features?
Is cpu frequency scaling functional in your case?

Offline

#9 2012-06-16 00:39:48

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Hm... actually as everything worked so far I didn't bother to look too closely at the BIOS. What would be the "other" speedstep functions provided? I only found the Cool'n'Quiet option under CPU settings.
And to Your second question: I don't know really. Conky shows the CPU running constantly at 800MHz (AMD Phenom II X6).

Offline

#10 2012-06-16 01:09:46

sonoran
Member
From: sonoran desert
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 158

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

thomasplessner wrote:

Solution Part I:
By installing the package extra/amd-ucode I got rid of the microcode errors :-)

Thanks thomasplessner, that eliminated the microcode error. :-)

Oddly, on the first reboot after the kernel update the microcode error was the only one I saw. After installing amd-ucode and rebooting, the microcode error is gone but the "NOHZ: local_softirq_pending 08" network error now appears.

There seems to be an issue with the r8169 ethernet driver:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=115644&p=1
http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 20672.html

I am only getting the warning on boot, no system lockups so far.

Offline

#11 2012-06-16 02:25:29

gilmoreja
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 71

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

thomasplessner wrote:

Solution Part I:
By installing the package extra/amd-ucode I got rid of the microcode errors :-)

I am still getting the microcode errors after installing this. The only difference now is that the microcode errors and the sp5100_tco error are now reported while loading user-specified modules instead of UDev.


Time you enjoy wasting isn't wasted time.

Offline

#12 2012-06-16 18:57:30

triton60
Member
Registered: 2012-04-17
Posts: 23

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

sonoran wrote:
thomasplessner wrote:

Solution Part I:
By installing the package extra/amd-ucode I got rid of the microcode errors :-)

Thanks thomasplessner, that eliminated the microcode error. :-)

Oddly, on the first reboot after the kernel update the microcode error was the only one I saw. After installing amd-ucode and rebooting, the microcode error is gone but the "NOHZ: local_softirq_pending 08" network error now appears.

There seems to be an issue with the r8169 ethernet driver:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=115644&p=1
http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 20672.html

I am only getting the warning on boot, no system lockups so far.

I only noticed this since upgrading to the 3.4.2-2 kernel but the link below indicates it might be an old issue that has returned, I only see this myself on boot up.

http://lkml.org/lkml/2012/5/30/498

Andrew.

Offline

#13 2012-06-16 19:30:04

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

thomasplessner wrote:

Hm... actually as everything worked so far I didn't bother to look too closely at the BIOS. What would be the "other" speedstep functions provided? I only found the Cool'n'Quiet option under CPU settings.

All differing according to the bios I guess - they should be listed all together. If that's the only one there with yours, thats it then. I asked that because the OP's original question about  those "ACPI _PSS objects" refers to frequency scaling and should be directly linked to the speedstep being enabled or not. Google suggests it is not really a bug or error, but a warning that something with frequency scaling does not work as it should with the CPU.

Therefore its not surprising that gilmoreja gets that bug/warning, but that you do.

thomasplessner wrote:

And to Your second question: I don't know really. Conky shows the CPU running constantly at 800MHz (AMD Phenom II X6).

cpufreq-info

tells you more.

Offline

#14 2012-06-16 19:42:12

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

There it is:
[...]
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
  maximum transition latency: 4294.55 ms.
analyzing CPU 1:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
  maximum transition latency: 4294.55 ms.
[...]
Same for all six cores of course.

Offline

#15 2012-06-16 19:55:59

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Can it be that powernow-k8 did not load at all?

Offline

#16 2012-06-16 21:50:19

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Absolutely yes. It doesn't load at all. A modprobe powernow_k8 gives the error:
ERROR: could not insert 'powernow_k8': No such device

Offline

#17 2012-06-16 22:45:53

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

thomasplessner wrote:

Absolutely yes. It doesn't load at all. A modprobe powernow_k8 gives the error:
ERROR: could not insert 'powernow_k8': No such device

Now then something else is seriously wrong, you dont get more errors for that in dmesg?
Maybe google your mainboard and chipset for that and post your "lspci" output like gilmoreja did.

Offline

#18 2012-06-16 22:55:58

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

lspci output is:

00:00.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Host Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 1.1 Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 2.0 Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 440] (rev a1)
02:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
03:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

...and from dmesg:

[    8.603797] powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1100T Processor (6 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[    8.603833] powernow-k8: Core Performance Boosting: on.
[    8.603854] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: No compatible ACPI _PSS objects found.
[    8.603857] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: Try again with latest BIOS.
[    8.606911] powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1100T Processor (6 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[    8.606941] powernow-k8: Core Performance Boosting: on.
[    8.606965] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: No compatible ACPI _PSS objects found.
[    8.606969] [Firmware Bug]: powernow-k8: Try again with latest BIOS.
[    8.629155] microcode: CPU0: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.674135] microcode: CPU0: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.674170] microcode: CPU1: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.675500] microcode: CPU1: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.675536] microcode: CPU2: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.676762] microcode: CPU2: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.676779] microcode: CPU3: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.678015] microcode: CPU3: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.678035] microcode: CPU4: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.679209] microcode: CPU4: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.679256] microcode: CPU5: patch_level=0x010000bf
[    8.680591] microcode: CPU5: new patch_level=0x010000dc
[    8.680792] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

:-|

Last edited by thomasplessner (2012-06-17 10:49:40)

Offline

#19 2012-06-16 23:28:59

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Please edit your post using [ code ] tags.
But hm, no idea currently though why you get that "cpufreq-info" output after a quick google. Have you had a problem with frequency scaling in previous linux kernels?

You could just try that by installing the arch linux-lts kernel in parallel to the current one.

Offline

#20 2012-06-16 23:41:48

thomasplessner
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Since these never seen before errors appeared after the kernel upgrade, and another new one after upgrade of the nVidia driver I am seriously considering downgrading them both and pin them in pacman.conf...
Would it be possible to have two kernels installed and the nVidia driver working for both of them???

Offline

#21 2012-06-16 23:46:58

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Thats no problem with the LTS kernel, but an older one of the current line. There is an nvidia-lts package as well you need then, but it is not conflicting with current.

edit: so it is an alternative to pinning then.

Last edited by Strike0 (2012-06-16 23:51:53)

Offline

#22 2012-06-19 20:39:49

Raxle
Member
Registered: 2007-01-19
Posts: 4

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

gilmoreja wrote:
thomasplessner wrote:

Solution Part I:
By installing the package extra/amd-ucode I got rid of the microcode errors :-)

I am still getting the microcode errors after installing this. The only difference now is that the microcode errors and the sp5100_tco error are now reported while loading user-specified modules instead of UDev.

It's because package amd-ucore doesn't contain file for amd family 15h processors.
Take a look at https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/29685

Offline

#23 2012-06-21 00:15:43

1LordAnubis
Member
Registered: 2008-10-10
Posts: 250
Website

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Getting the same thing here;

Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.921944] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.922977] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.923933] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.924964] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.925891] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin
Jun 20 20:02:05 localhost kernel: [   13.926938] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam15h.bin

Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.
-Benjamin Franklin
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.
-George Bernard Shaw

Offline

#24 2012-06-28 01:56:21

ilkyest
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2010-02-13
Posts: 261

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

same issue with bios 2201, and 2001 (downgrade) with a phenom X4 955BE. Only on this kernel

Offline

#25 2012-08-16 07:57:40

alex404
Member
Registered: 2009-12-03
Posts: 47

Re: Sudden problems from powernow-k8 after kernel update

Has anyone made any progress with this? I'm suffering from this too...

EDIT: Nevermind. I updated my BIOS and the error is gone.

Last edited by alex404 (2012-08-16 08:55:42)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB