You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-25 11:14:41

Cz-David
Member
Registered: 2012-05-25
Posts: 25

Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Hi, my synaptics settings

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "touchpad catchall"
        Driver "synaptics"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Option "TapButton1" "1"
        Option "TapButton2" "2"
        Option "TapButton3" "3"
EndSection

keep getting overridden by some deamon to

TapButton2=3 and TapButton3=2

I am using xfce, but I have gnome-deamon running, but as per wiki advice I have

Run dconf-editor
Edit /org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/mouse/
Uncheck the active setting

And I don't know what else could be overriding my settings... I have temporarily solved it with script which runs synclient on boot, but that is only a workaround...

Offline

#2 2012-05-25 23:30:51

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Are you sure there is not an 11-synaptics.conf or a 50-synaptics.conf installed by a package that is overriding your settings?


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#3 2012-05-28 17:08:23

Cz-David
Member
Registered: 2012-05-25
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d$ ls
10-evdev.conf  10-evdev.conf~  10-evdev.conf.pacsave  10-quirks.conf  10-synaptics.conf

Offline

#4 2012-06-10 09:04:01

fakedrake
Member
Registered: 2011-02-09
Posts: 18

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

I am also interested in the solution to this. My settings seem to be overriden by something. BTW I am running kde.

Edit: Turns out it must have been synaptiks. I changed my settings from in there and now everithing works!

Last edited by fakedrake (2012-06-10 09:11:55)

Offline

#5 2012-06-13 15:25:22

Nauman
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13
Posts: 2

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

I have HP 4530s having same issue. When i try for startx It shows same error: I tried to write this configuration on /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf but didnt find this file on my OS. My OS is Oracle Linux 5.5 64bit.

Can some one help me to resolve this issue.

Offline

#6 2012-06-16 01:00:30

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,672

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Just wondering: what is the issue with running synclient on boot? I've always done it this way and it seems to work whereas there often seem to be complaints that alternative methods don't. So I assume there's an advantage to the latter but what is it, exactly? That is, why is the way I do it "only a work around"?

Last edited by cfr (2012-06-16 01:01:15)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Online

#7 2012-06-16 03:29:02

adamrehard
Member
From: NY, USA
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 154

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Nauman:
You should go ask on Oracle's forums. We only support Arch.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … pport_ONLY

Last edited by adamrehard (2012-06-16 03:34:47)


"The box said requires Vista or better, so I installed Arch"
Windows != Linux

Offline

#8 2012-06-24 19:34:30

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 637

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

In gnome I use this method to make tapbutton settings persistant (uses a gnome hook, so gnome settings daemon won't override it), don't know if it will work in xfce though.

http://tombuntu.com/index.php/2011/11/0 … ntu-11-10/

Last edited by bwat47 (2012-06-24 19:35:06)

Offline

#9 2012-10-10 16:08:06

jazzcat
Member
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Hi, I'm Jazzcat.
I've just installed and am trying Arch for the first time so my apologies if I've made a noob mistake here or miss out any required info.

I'm using KDE and have synaptiks installed. Config through the GUI works fine, but it fails to save settings when i reboot. Nothing jumped out at me in systemd. My best guess is it either doesn't have the appropriate permissions, or is getting overwritten by another daemon. I would greatly appreciate any assistance/ideas. I'll keep googling, but I'm kinda stumped on this one.

xorg.conf.d]$ ls
10-evdev.conf  10-quirks.conf  10-synaptics.conf

(I noticed here that unlike Cz-David I didn't have 10-evdev.conf.pacsave but I couldn't find any info on it.)


cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "touchpad catchall"
        Driver "synaptics"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Option "TapButton1" "1"
        Option "TapButton2" "2"
        Option "TapButton3" "3"
EndSection

Offline

#10 2012-10-11 01:36:51

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,672

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Do those settings not persist? Or are those not the settings you want?

(You probably don't have a .pacsave - read the wiki page on pacman for details.)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Online

#11 2012-10-11 06:17:04

jazzcat
Member
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Thank you for your prompt response cfr, I've just read up on pacnew and pacsave files from the wiki. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction with that smile sorry I missed it.

I'm just checking over how the 10-synaptics.conf displays to see if that is the desired configuration. Will post more info shortly.

I understand that I may have to adjust settings via .conf files, but I am hoping to have synaptiks and other GUI tools handle such things where possible.

Offline

#12 2012-10-11 06:37:02

jazzcat
Member
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Ok, upon review the settings in 10-synaptics.conf are the settings the system reverts to upon reboot.

The desired settings do show up (once I've adjusted them via synaptiks) when I run

$synclient  -l | awk '/=/{printf "Option \"%s\" \"%s\"\n",$1,$3}'
Option "TapButton1" "0"
Option "TapButton2" "1"
Option "TapButton3" "3"

Editing 10-synaptics.conf persists ok as a workaround.

Last edited by jazzcat (2012-10-11 06:46:55)

Offline

#13 2012-10-13 19:06:04

jazzcat
Member
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

A little further info.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/synaptiks/kde/widgets/kcm.py", line 138, in save
    self.touchpad_config.save()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/synaptiks/config.py", line 281, in save
    save_json(filename, dict(self))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/synaptiks/util.py", line 103, in save_json
    with open(filename, 'w') as stream:
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: u'/home/christopher/.config/synaptiks/touchpad-config.json'

Last edited by jazzcat (2012-10-13 19:08:36)

Offline

#14 2012-10-13 22:40:56

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,672

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Maybe it's a permission problem?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Online

#15 2012-10-14 06:04:46

jazzcat
Member
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 25

Re: Synaptics tapbutton settings keep getting overridden

Yep, my bad. I ran

chown -R christopher:users /home/christopher

which appears to have resolved the issue. I did temporarily lose the ability to shutdown via the gui but it's ok after a force shutdown (because I made a mistake and logged out when I believe I should have run sudo reboot)

I also had a few issues with other options in systemsettings that have also been resolved. There must have been something wrong with the way I have been adding items to systemsettings.

Thank you kindly for your assistance ^_^

Edit: The above command appears to have messed up my samba shares  as they are are not unmounting on shutdown/reboot, so my system hangs. I've made a post here

Last edited by jazzcat (2012-10-14 17:56:26)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB