You are not logged in.

#51 2012-06-19 19:04:51

joepvd
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 31

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

n3b wrote:

I try to did it but a new workspace are created with the new name but the original one will style exist.... Strange.

We wil have [1][1:irssi][2][2:iceweasel]

I fixed it by using some vars in the config:

set $1  1: browse
set $2  2
set $3  3: irc
set $4  4: mail
(...)

bindsym $mod+1 workspace $1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $2
(...)

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+exclam      move workspace $1
bindsym $mod+Shift+at          move workspace $2

# move and follow focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Control+1 move workspace $1; workspace $1
bindsym $mod+Control+2 move workspace $2; workspace $2

If you want to create workspace names on the fly, you should also focus 'em with a i3-msg command:

i3-msg workspace 2: irssi

Offline

#52 2012-06-26 00:09:49

n3b
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 8

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

joepvd wrote:
n3b wrote:

I try to did it but a new workspace are created with the new name but the original one will style exist.... Strange.

We wil have [1][1:irssi][2][2:iceweasel]

I fixed it by using some vars in the config:

set $1  1: browse
set $2  2
set $3  3: irc
set $4  4: mail
(...)

bindsym $mod+1 workspace $1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $2
(...)

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+exclam      move workspace $1
bindsym $mod+Shift+at          move workspace $2

# move and follow focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Control+1 move workspace $1; workspace $1
bindsym $mod+Control+2 move workspace $2; workspace $2

If you want to create workspace names on the fly, you should also focus 'em with a i3-msg command:

i3-msg workspace 2: irssi

Thanks a lot. I will test it.

Offline

#53 2012-06-26 00:21:00

n3b
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 8

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Here it's the bug I have

wVUvW.png

Offline

#54 2012-06-26 12:15:19

joepvd
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 31

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

It is not a bug, but a mis[configuration|understanding]. Show your config, and tell what you do exactly.

Hint: Before posting, do some close reading of some of the comments. You might be able to figure it out yourself wink

Offline

#55 2012-06-26 14:18:43

ghost
Member
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 41

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

joepvd wrote:

It is not a bug, but a mis[configuration|understanding]. Show your config, and tell what you do exactly.

Hint: Before posting, do some close reading of some of the comments. You might be able to figure it out yourself wink

Part of the User Manual

Note that the workspace will really be named "1: mail". i3 treats workspace names beginning with a number in a slightly special way. Normally, named workspaces are ordered the way they appeared. When they start with a number, i3 will order them numerically. Also, you will be able to use workspace number 1 to switch to the workspace which begins with number 1, regardless of which name it has. This is useful in case you are changing the workspace’s name dynamically.


I tried it and this feature does not work. I tried i3-wm and i3-git.

Last edited by ghost (2012-06-26 14:22:19)

Offline

#56 2012-06-26 17:03:08

joepvd
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 31

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Do we have to guess what you put in your config?

Offline

#57 2012-06-26 17:30:24

n3b
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 8

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

I had to reboot. The i3 restart was enough. Thanks joepvd it's work!

MQN4d.jpg

Offline

#58 2012-06-26 19:20:14

ghost
Member
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 41

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

n3b wrote:

I had to reboot. The i3 restart was enough. Thanks joepvd it's work!

http://i.imgur.com/MQN4d.jpg

But still the behaviour described in the manual does not work.

you will be able to use workspace number 1 to switch to the workspace which begins with number 1, regardless of which name it has

Offline

#59 2012-06-26 19:58:47

joepvd
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 31

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

For me it works as described:

i3-msg workspace number 1

focuses the workspace with the name 1: www. A wild guess: You missed the word 'number' in the manual.

Edit: I sent a patch to the devopers to stress the fact that a config change is needed for this behavior, as this is easy to overlook.

Last edited by joepvd (2012-06-26 20:26:45)

Offline

#60 2012-06-26 20:14:31

ghost
Member
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 41

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

joepvd wrote:

For me it works as described:

i3-msg workspace number 1

focuses the workspace with the name 1: www. A wild guess: You missed the word 'number' in the manual.

I execute "rename workspace 2 to 2:www".

uBnRO.png

But when "workspace 2" is executed, I still go to workspace with the name "2".

Offline

#61 2012-06-26 20:28:58

joepvd
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 31

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Please. Read. Precisely.

Dont do: "workspace 2". Do instead: "workspace number 2".

Offline

#62 2012-10-24 00:25:21

nabukadnezar43
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 14

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Clean:

h7ibE.png

Fake busy:

KJIyv.jpg

I love this setup.

Offline

#63 2012-11-19 23:37:33

Atmoz
Member
Registered: 2012-04-01
Posts: 4

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Just made some screenshots for /r/minimalism on reddit to show off arch linux and i3wm: http://www.reddit.com/r/minimalism/comm … linux_i3wm

i<3

Offline

#64 2012-11-30 17:17:45

Iao
Member
Registered: 2012-11-09
Posts: 20

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Here's a previous desktop when I was using i3. I thought I may as well share.

Offline

#65 2012-11-30 20:18:19

Drumitar
Member
Registered: 2011-04-13
Posts: 73

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

nabukadnezar43 wrote:

could you share your i3bar config if it uses conky and dzen ?

Offline

#66 2012-12-05 08:49:45

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Here's my latest smile

pastel_assassins_by_eternalkernel-d5n5ni1.png
(Click to visit in my DA gallery)


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#67 2012-12-05 15:06:14

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

@Starfall, what is displaying the volume, heart (battery I assume), and time on the bottom of your terminal window?  Is that tmux or is that part of your prompt? 

Anyway, I like it.  Typically I am attracted more to dark setups, maybe because they are just easier (physically) on my eyes, but your pastel extravaganza in pretty sweet.

Offline

#68 2012-12-05 15:21:58

sime
Member
Registered: 2007-12-14
Posts: 96

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

@Starfall Xresources please?

Offline

#69 2012-12-05 17:11:34

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

WonderWoofy wrote:

@Starfall, what is displaying the volume, heart (battery I assume), and time on the bottom of your terminal window?  Is that tmux or is that part of your prompt? 

Anyway, I like it.  Typically I am attracted more to dark setups, maybe because they are just easier (physically) on my eyes, but your pastel extravaganza in pretty sweet.

Yup! That is indeed tmux smile

Yeah, I usually stick to dark themes, but I fancied a change. Thanks for the kind words!


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#70 2012-12-05 17:12:24

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

sime wrote:

@Starfall Xresources please?

Assuming you want the colours; here ya go


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#71 2012-12-05 17:34:53

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Could you also share the relevent section of your tmux config?

Offline

#72 2012-12-06 08:48:04

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

WonderWoofy wrote:

Could you also share the relevent section of your tmux config?

What's the magic word? wink

I'm just at work at the moment so I can't get the configs (really need to get my dotfiles on Github...), but I just have little shell scripts for each 'widget' which I then reference in tmux's right status section. Was it the scripts in particular you're looking for (battery/volume)?

**EDIT**

I just wrote up a blog post on this, all the configs are at the bottom, so go give it a read smile

Last edited by Starfall (2012-12-06 14:48:36)


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#73 2012-12-06 15:38:46

n3b
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 8

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Mine. Quite simple. No fancy things... Just few tips for background, lauched app, config...

proxy.jpg?t=FQQVBBgeaHR0cDovL2kuaW1ndXIuY29tL1Z6bGtSLnBuZz8xFAIWABIA&s=XjkQwyJNzHwok5wengoKjFW3yv-vB6tpAqRPKwFaJe8

.i3/config
http://pastebin.archlinux.fr/454180

Soon i will try to set up better colors. Inspired maybe by Sunburst or Solarized (lot's of idea here http://wiki.macromates.com/Themes/UserSubmittedThemes )

Last edited by n3b (2012-12-06 15:41:57)

Offline

#74 2012-12-06 16:23:21

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

Starfall wrote:
WonderWoofy wrote:

Could you also share the relevent section of your tmux config?

What's the magic word? wink

I'm just at work at the moment so I can't get the configs (really need to get my dotfiles on Github...), but I just have little shell scripts for each 'widget' which I then reference in tmux's right status section. Was it the scripts in particular you're looking for (battery/volume)?

**EDIT**

I just wrote up a blog post on this, all the configs are at the bottom, so go give it a read smile

I gues I kinda missed the boat on the please thing, so I will try my best for redemption, and say "Thanks for the link!  I'll give it a read."

Offline

#75 2012-12-06 16:42:16

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: i3 desktop screenshots and config sharing

WonderWoofy wrote:

I gues I kinda missed the boat on the please thing, so I will try my best for redemption, and say "Thanks for the link!  I'll give it a read."

Haha, I was only messing wink You have redeemed yourself good sir!


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB