You are not logged in.

#876 2012-07-04 07:30:12

Harey
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2007-03-24
Posts: 292

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

3.4.4-4 does not work anymore with testing repo enabled. I guess this is due to the recent changes in removing /lib.


Linux is like a wigwam: No Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside

Offline

#877 2012-07-04 07:47:26

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Harey wrote:

3.4.4-4 does not work anymore with testing repo enabled. I guess this is due to the recent changes in removing /lib.

I don't have [testing] enabled on my system but I do see that the ARCH package has been incremented up one with the following changes:

upgpkg: linux 3.4.4-3
- rebuild for /usr move
- run depmod only AFTER compressing modules

https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … dc93f6959d

EDIT: Made these changes and testing on my system.  Thank you for the report.

Last edited by graysky (2012-07-04 07:56:00)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#878 2012-07-04 07:57:21

Harey
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2007-03-24
Posts: 292

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

This will hit us all sooner or later ...

I would say the culprit is here:

+ # move module tree /lib -> /usr/lib
+ mv "$pkgdir/lib" "$pkgdir/usr"

Harvey

Last edited by Harey (2012-07-04 07:57:40)


Linux is like a wigwam: No Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside

Offline

#879 2012-07-04 13:25:22

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 653

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

It's not just catalyst, oss4 and virtualbox break, too.

For now I've symlinked /lib/modules back to /usr/lib/modules until everything else gets updated.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#880 2012-07-04 13:31:20

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Yeah, there isn't a whole lot I can do until the Arch packages move from [testing] to [core].  See this thread for discussion: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 23178.html


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#881 2012-07-06 15:01:19

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Is there a way to set this repo as default for linux and nvidia upgrades?
Otherwise when a new release of linux hits the core repo it will still download
and run mkinitcpio against it to produce a kernel image which I won't use anyway.

Offline

#882 2012-07-06 15:04:36

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Just remove the ARCH kernel and nvidia package.  Also edit your menu.lst or regenerate your grub2 config.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#883 2012-07-06 15:06:35

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

blackout23 wrote:

Is there a way to set this repo as default for linux and nvidia upgrades?
Otherwise when a new release of linux hits the core repo it will still download
and run mkinitcpio against it to produce a kernel image which I won't use anyway.

Are you sure you really want this? You would fully depend on only one user-supplied kernel with no other possibility to boot your system when anything (for instance now with the /lib/ -> /usr/lib move) goes wrong!

This is strongly not advised to do!

But if you still want to, I think you should uninstull linux

Best,

Jakob

Offline

#884 2012-07-06 15:16:22

Banton
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 67

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

If you want to keep it, and just don't want to upgrade the ARCH kernel add

 IgnorePkg   = linux nvidia 

to your pacman.conf

Offline

#885 2012-07-06 15:52:06

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

@jakob - No fear about the /lib --> /usr/lib with linux-ck.  I have it running on a machine w/ [testing] enabled just fine.  Once the devs push the other packages from [testing] to [core], I will release  the version that is built off them.  (If you want to built it yourself, make sure you box is up-to-date with [testing] enabled and download the tarball from http://repo-ck.com/PKG_source -- it is currently version 3.4.4-5).  As a fail-safe, I have added a dep to the new version requiring 'kmod>=9-2' which will protect against partial upgrades and out-of-sync mirrors.

Please take this conversation out of this thread (open a new one) since it is not repo-related.

Last edited by graysky (2012-07-06 15:53:58)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#886 2012-07-07 12:29:36

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Banton wrote:

If you want to keep it, and just don't want to upgrade the ARCH kernel add

 IgnorePkg   = linux nvidia 

to your pacman.conf

Thank you. I knew that something like this exists but i thought linux is a place holder much like java-environment which can be either openjdk or proprietary java and would result in not getting any kernel updates.

Last edited by blackout23 (2012-07-07 12:30:05)

Offline

#887 2012-07-09 09:36:14

goran'agar
Member
From: Nothern Italy
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 167

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Hello everyone,
As a root-on-zfs user (using the package zfs from AUR) I'd like to know if there will be a zfs-ck package anytime soon.
Thanks.


Sony Vaio VPCM13M1E  - Arch Linux - ZFS - Syslinux - XFCE .
Samsung SGS - CM10.1 - Semaphore 2.8.0 .

Offline

#888 2012-07-09 15:06:28

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

No plans here but feel free to modify the PKGBUILD.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#889 2012-07-09 15:23:37

goran'agar
Member
From: Nothern Italy
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 167

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

graysky wrote:

No plans here but feel free to modify the PKGBUILD.

The problem is that I should be running linux-ck to test the compile process of the zfs package and its prerequisite spl AFAIK. Of course this is not possible, as my rootfs is already on zfs and linux-ck does not have the module in it.


Sony Vaio VPCM13M1E  - Arch Linux - ZFS - Syslinux - XFCE .
Samsung SGS - CM10.1 - Semaphore 2.8.0 .

Offline

#890 2012-07-09 16:12:30

Banton
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 67

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

goran'agar wrote:
graysky wrote:

No plans here but feel free to modify the PKGBUILD.

The problem is that I should be running linux-ck to test the compile process of the zfs package and its prerequisite spl AFAIK. Of course this is not possible, as my rootfs is already on zfs and linux-ck does not have the module in it.

for ./configure you can set other source dirs.

  --with-linux=PATH       Path to kernel source
  --with-linux-obj=PATH   Path to kernel build objects
  --with-spl=PATH         Path to spl source
  --with-spl-obj=PATH     Path to spl build objects

but maybe you should open an extra thread. this is not really about the ck repo.

Offline

#891 2012-07-10 12:55:28

goran'agar
Member
From: Nothern Italy
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 167

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Banton wrote:
goran'agar wrote:
graysky wrote:

No plans here but feel free to modify the PKGBUILD.

The problem is that I should be running linux-ck to test the compile process of the zfs package and its prerequisite spl AFAIK. Of course this is not possible, as my rootfs is already on zfs and linux-ck does not have the module in it.

for ./configure you can set other source dirs.

  --with-linux=PATH       Path to kernel source
  --with-linux-obj=PATH   Path to kernel build objects
  --with-spl=PATH         Path to spl source
  --with-spl-obj=PATH     Path to spl build objects

but maybe you should open an extra thread. this is not really about the ck repo.

OK, understood. BTW, I succeeded and now I'm running a ck-enabled kernel with root-on zfs :-)


Sony Vaio VPCM13M1E  - Arch Linux - ZFS - Syslinux - XFCE .
Samsung SGS - CM10.1 - Semaphore 2.8.0 .

Offline

#892 2012-07-12 14:38:19

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Hi there, hoping someone can help me with this.

I have installed the linux-ck kernel from Graysky's repo and followed the necessary steps for enabling BFS globally in Grub2 as stated on the wiki, however, I am receiving a kernel panic with the below output when trying to boot with said kernel:

Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)
Pid: 1, comm: BFS/0 Not tainted 3.4.4-ck #1

I have tried without the 'elevator=bfq' line in grub, however the issue persists.

I am able to boot from the 'repo core' kernel in Grub2, however tty1's boot messages report that the BFS I/O scheduler is not available, it then proceeds to boot correctly (so I'm using this as a sort of fallback for now)

In case it's necessary here's my grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_GB
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux GNU/Linux, with Linux ck kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-ck kernel-true-22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06' {
        load_video
        set gfxpayload=keep
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,gpt2'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux ck kernel ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-linux-ck root=/dev/sda2 ro  quiet splash i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 add_efi_memmap
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-true-22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06' {
        load_video
        set gfxpayload=keep
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,gpt2'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06 ro  quiet splash i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 add_efi_memmap
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux GNU/Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (Fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-fallback-22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06' {
        load_video
        set gfxpayload=keep
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,gpt2'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06 ro  quiet splash i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 add_efi_memmap
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

And here's my fstab (as it states it's related to the root fs)

/etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system> <dir>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
tmpfs           /tmp    tmpfs   nodev,nosuid    0       0
# DEVICE DETAILS: /dev/sda2 UUID=22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06 LABEL=/
UUID=22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06 / ext4 discard,defaults 0 1

Many thanks in advance for any help in this, it'd be greatly appreciated smile

EDIT: I've noticed how the first entry in the Grub2 config for the kernel states '/boot/vmlinuz-linux-ck root=/dev/sda2' but the 'core repo' entry states '/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=22843656-47cd-428f-9e27-0af678c96a06'. Could this perhaps be the issue?

(I should also state; I realise that the 'elevator=bfq' flag is not present, this is simply because this is my config after I've removed it from the /etc/defaults/grub file and rebuilt the config, in either case, with or with the bfq flag, it's the same results)

Last edited by Starfall (2012-07-12 14:56:23)


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#893 2012-07-12 14:48:50

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

sorry not related but i'm really impressed how grub2 configuration file sucks. that deserved a post.


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#894 2012-07-12 19:30:39

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

@star - try booting to the ck kernel without any modification to your grub.cfg... Any kernel panics there?  If not, use the echo method for enabling BFQ on your disks which is described on the wiki.  Does it panic then?  I do not use BFQ myself so I can't comment on the stability of it, but many others do just fine.

@bangkok - please keep discussions in this thread limited to repo issues.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#895 2012-07-13 09:04:08

Starfall
Member
From: /home/
Registered: 2011-05-24
Posts: 209
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

graysky wrote:

@star - try booting to the ck kernel without any modification to your grub.cfg... Any kernel panics there?  If not, use the echo method for enabling BFQ on your disks which is described on the wiki.  Does it panic then?  I do not use BFQ myself so I can't comment on the stability of it, but many others do just fine.

Cheers for the response graysky.

Fortunately I managed to compile the kernel from the AUR with the BFS option enabled. I'm not getting this issue anymore smile


Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

Offline

#896 2012-07-14 14:21:05

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

EVERYONE needs to read the following news item: http://www.archlinux.org/news/the-lib-d … -a-symlink

Note that the devs did this push faster than I expected.  Usually there is a 24 hour warning.  In any case, I am compiling the repo packages now, but they shouldn't be online for another few hours.  My recommendation is DO NOT update your systems until [repo-ck] is fully populated.  I will post another message in this thread when that happens.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#897 2012-07-14 14:48:42

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Thanks for the hint.

BTW:
In my /lib directory there are many directories with modules from older linux-ck versions.
Seems pacman does not remove old version after updating to a new linux-ck version.

Shouldn't the old directories be deleted after installing a newer version?


EDIT:
ok, mainly there are virtualbox modules which aren't part of the kernel packages. wink

Last edited by SiD (2012-07-14 14:50:48)

Offline

#898 2012-07-14 15:00:27

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

@Sid - correct, since those modules are owned by a script that created them, pacman does not own them.  Virtualbox one example.  OSS is another example.  I will post again when all packages have. Been rebuilt.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#899 2012-07-14 16:58:35

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,441
Website

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

OK!  All repo packages have been successfully compiled and the repo has been populated.  I have used the repo packages no issues on 6 test machines before pushing them out to the repo at large, it is now safe to update your systems...

...EVERYONE needs to read and follow the instructions for updating in this news item.  As mentioned previously, some packages leave orphaned files in your /lib/* for example, virtualbox-source, OSS, and others.  Just follow Allan's instructions in the news item and this should be painless.

Last edited by graysky (2012-07-14 16:59:53)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#900 2012-07-14 17:33:39

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: unofficial linux-ck repo with cpu optimized packages is ONLINE

Done, thank you for providing the pre-built packages.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB