You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-15 18:44:44

AndreasBWagner
Member
From: Boston, MA, USA
Registered: 2010-03-05
Posts: 17
Website

Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

Has anyone here had success installing arch with the latest iso's from relengine? I tried with these https://releng.archlinux.org/isos/2012.07.15_04-00-01/ but it appears everything must be done manually now (without /arch/setup) and I can't can't find the necessary documentation.

I am using the release engine because I am trying to avoid the problems of the latest glibc update and other problems with updating the pre-2012 official iso. Plus, it looks like a good educational experience but I would like to get it right.

Thank you,

Andreas Wagner

Offline

#2 2012-07-15 19:01:25

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,146

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

The nightly isos have ditched AIF in favor of the Arch Install Scripts. Here is a short installation checklist:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … ll_Scripts

Offline

#3 2012-07-15 19:33:54

AndreasBWagner
Member
From: Boston, MA, USA
Registered: 2010-03-05
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

Thanks for the pointer.

Is this of relevance?

Offline

#4 2012-07-15 19:54:39

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,146

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

AndreasBWagner wrote:

Is this of relevance?

You found the included scripts.
By the way, here is the announcement: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 02625.html

Offline

#5 2012-11-25 23:00:09

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

I just tried to install Arch for the first time in about a year (new machine). The new installation system is a regression from the simplicity and user-friendliness of the old menuconfig-like system. It's a shame the distribution has ditched such a good mechanism for installation. I needed to get a server up and running, not shave a yak, so I used a different distribution instead.

Offline

#6 2012-11-26 00:04:37

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

Very happy to hear you found a solution that suits.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#7 2012-11-26 00:06:43

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,354
Website

Re: Installing arch from the latest relengine isos? There's no /arch/setup

The change away from AIF is well documented and has been discussed here at some length.

Closing.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB