You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-23 17:48:25

dkjedi
Member
Registered: 2011-09-29
Posts: 11

[Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

let me start by saying sorry, i'm sure im missing something simple. I can't seem to manage to get xrandr or nvidia popriatry drivers to give me and resolution other than 1920x1200. This all started with the upgrade to 302.17, currently on 302.17-4. I have a 8700m gt. i know they changed the way resolutions work, but i can't figure out if i have one problem or many. as far as i can tell xrandr should still show correct resoultions, but it does not. i have tried http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php?topic=106650.0, setting

Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1280x720 { ViewPortOut=1240x680+20+20, ViewPortIn=1280x720 }"

options like this to no outcome. i also tried the instructions here https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=144545, again with no result. I have seen many recommend going to nvnews.net, but it wants a password for me, and wont let me register. here is the link they recommend http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=184711 & http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=184968. I currenly have no xorg.conf. current xrandr output is :

 Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
TV-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
LVDS-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 367mm x 230mm
   1920x1200      60.0*+
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  1024x768_60.00 (0x258)   63.5MHz
        h: width  1024 start 1072 end 1176 total 1328 skew    0 clock   47.8KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  775 total  798           clock   59.9Hz

i tried adding 1024x768_60 with the output from cvt, but when i addmode i get this

 xrandr --addmode LVDS-0 1024x768_60.00
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  29
  Current serial number in output stream:  30

if you need more information please ask. Thanks for your time.

Last edited by dkjedi (2012-07-23 21:12:49)

Offline

#2 2012-07-23 18:14:32

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,450

Re: [Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

302.17 has an incomplete xrandr1.2 implementation. Use the 304.22 beta. Even in that version, non-native resolutions are only exposed as xrandr1.1, to see them use

xrandr --q1

Last edited by Gusar (2012-07-23 18:15:58)

Offline

#3 2012-07-23 20:39:57

dkjedi
Member
Registered: 2011-09-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

thanks for the response, sorry it took me awhile to get back. I have now installed nvidia-beta from AUR (304.22-1), now xrandr --q1 works but nvidia still shows nothing. i tried add in mode using

 
cvt 800 600 60
# 800x600 59.86 Hz (CVT 0.48M3) hsync: 37.35 kHz; pclk: 38.25 MHz
Modeline "800x600_60.00"   38.25  800 832 912 1024  600 603 607 624 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --newmode "800x600_60.00"   38.25  800 832 912 1024  600 603 607 624 -hsync +vsync

and still get this

 xrandr --addmode LVDS-0 800x600_60.00
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  29
  Current serial number in output stream:  30

am i doing it wrong or do i need to looking into makeing a new xorg.conf?
Thank you again.

edit:
ok got the other resolutions working using this:

Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1920x1080}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1680x1050}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1600x1200}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1440x900}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1400x1050}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1280x1024}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1280x960}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1280x800}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1152x864}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1024x768}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=832x624}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=800x600}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=700x525}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=640x480}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=512x384}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=400x300}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=320x240}"

the applications (wine games) don't auto change resolutions like they use to. Is this normal or is there still a setting i'm missing somewhere

Last edited by dkjedi (2012-07-23 20:56:55)

Offline

#4 2012-07-23 21:01:18

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,450

Re: [Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

What do you mean by "nvidia shows nothing"? nvidia-settings? That's still missing, should be there eventually.

Adding xrandr1.2 modes via the commandline was not yet supported in 302.17, it seems it's still not supported, maybe it'll be there eventually. But why do you want to add 800x600, it's already there if apps want to use it.

dkjedi wrote:

the applications (wine games) don't auto change resolutions like they use to.

If you're actually using the beta, wine should work, that's the main difference between 302 and 304. Unless wine-1.5.9's switch to xrandr1.2 screwed things up again. Older wine versions will work.

Last edited by Gusar (2012-07-23 21:05:21)

Offline

#5 2012-07-23 21:12:24

dkjedi
Member
Registered: 2011-09-29
Posts: 11

Re: [Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

Thanks again, i guess the auto resolution chage problem is a wine 1.5.9 problem . As far as nvidia not seeing the resoultions i meant nvidia-settings, but as you said though it doesn't matter. Thanks again for all you help, will mark as solved.

Offline

#6 2012-07-23 21:26:12

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,450

Re: [Solved] nvidia and xrandr resolutions missing

It's not actually a wine problem. It's like this: Nvidia only exposes the non-native resolutions to xrandr1.1 or the XVidMode extension. Earlier wine versions used one of those, so things were fine. But now wine switched to xrandr1.2. And that means it's up to Nvidia to expose non-native resolutions also to xrandr1.2. Unless you can somehow disable the use of xrandr1.2 in wine-1.5.9, maybe it's possible.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB