You are not logged in.

#801 2012-07-24 06:47:08

simon.swe
Member
From: sverige
Registered: 2012-02-26
Posts: 148
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

:MonsterWM is great. and bar is great and should be default smile

Offline

#802 2012-07-24 09:56:59

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Here are some stats for monsterwm.c

535 core
580 master
607 xinerama-core
655 xinerama-master

I'm thinking on merging the two core and master branches, so that I dont
have to maintain both non-xinerama and xinerama-enabled versions.
The merge would add a XINERAMA flag in the Makefile, so that:

  - If one sets XINERAMA and has extra monitors, then xinerama
    will be up and working (like xinerama-* with many monitors).
  - If one sets XINERAMA and has no extra monitors, then xinerama will be
    up and working with only one monitor (xinerama-* with one monitor)
  - If one unsets XINERAMA and has extra monitors, then all monitors are treated as one big
    screen (xinerama knows the borders of each screen) (core/master with many monitors).
  - If one unsets XINERAMA and has no extra monitors, then monsterwm
    works like current core/master with one monitor.

After the merge, core and master will be xinerama-enabled by default. The stats with the XINERAMA flag will be:

615 core (with xinerama flag)    +80 from old core
663 master (with xinerama flag)  +83 from old master

748 total - master (with xinerama flag) monsterwm.c + config.def.h

750sloc with 4 layouts and xinerama is pretty good I'd say smile

------------------------

anyway, I wont do it tongue non-xinerama enabled core might be usefull for screens other than PCs (ie small boards etc).

here's the patch to have XINERAMA flag on Makefile.
applied to xinerama-{core,master} will make the code work even if Xinerama is not there.
the anonymous struct (info var) makes the whole trick for initialization.

diff --git a/Makefile b/Makefile
index 3c5f25e..87a3e5c 100644
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -10,11 +10,12 @@ MANPREFIX = ${PREFIX}/share/man
 X11INC = -I/usr/X11R6/include
 X11LIB = -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lX11
 XINERAMALIB = -lXinerama
+XINERAMAFLAG = -DXINERAMA
 
 INCS = -I. -I/usr/include ${X11INC}
 LIBS = -L/usr/lib -lc ${X11LIB} ${XINERAMALIB}
 
-CFLAGS   = -std=c99 -pedantic -Wall -Wextra ${INCS} -DVERSION=\"${VERSION}\"
+CFLAGS   = -std=c99 -pedantic -Wall -Wextra ${INCS} -DVERSION=\"${VERSION}\" ${XINERAMAFLAG}
 LDFLAGS  = ${LIBS}
 
 CC 	 = cc
diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index d9c7ea8..eb94421 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -12,7 +12,9 @@
 #include <X11/XKBlib.h>
 #include <X11/Xproto.h>
 #include <X11/Xatom.h>
+#ifdef XINERAMA
 #include <X11/extensions/Xinerama.h>
+#endif
 
 #define LENGTH(x)       (sizeof(x)/sizeof(*x))
 #define CLEANMASK(mask) (mask & ~(numlockmask | LockMask))
@@ -1119,13 +1121,16 @@ void setup(void) {
     root = RootWindow(dis, screen);
 
     /* initialize monitors and desktops */
+#ifdef XINERAMA
     XineramaScreenInfo *info = XineramaQueryScreens(dis, &nmonitors);
+    if (!nmonitors || !info) errx(EXIT_FAILURE, "Xinerama is not active");
+#else
+    struct { int x_org, y_org, width, height; } info[(nmonitors = 1)];
+    info[0] = { 0, 0, DisplayWidth(dis, screen), DisplayHeight(dis, screen) };
+#endif
 
-    if (!nmonitors || !info)
-        errx(EXIT_FAILURE, "Xinerama is not active");
     if (!(monitors = calloc(nmonitors, sizeof(Monitor))))
         err(EXIT_FAILURE, "cannot allocate monitors");
-
     for (int m = 0; m < nmonitors; m++) {
         monitors[m] = (Monitor){ .next = (m+1 < nmonitors) ? &monitors[m+1]:NULL,
                                     .x = info[m].x_org, .y = info[m].y_org,
@@ -1133,7 +1138,10 @@ void setup(void) {
         for (unsigned int d = 0; d < DESKTOPS; d++)
             monitors[m].desktops[d] = (Desktop){ .mode = DEFAULT_MODE, .sbar = SHOW_PANEL };
     }
+
+#ifdef XINERAMA
     XFree(info);
+#endif
 
     /* get color for focused and unfocused client borders */
     win_focus = getcolor(FOCUS, screen);

maybe I should include that to xinerama-*, dunno ..

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-07-24 10:01:43)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#803 2012-07-24 10:52:47

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Ypnose wrote:

Hi there,
Downloaded the initlayouts branch sources today. I modified configs by copying config.def.h to config.h.
But there is something I don't understand. I'm french and my keyboard layout is a bit strange (azerty).
I try to modify the keys for DESKTOPCHANGE as I do on dwm ( https://github.com/Ypnose/Madfiles/blob … frkey.diff ) but it doesn't work.
Even tried with xev, but it changes nothing.
Could you help me?

I'm not sure I can tell why that works with dwm and not monsterwm.
Looking at the dwm source, the keysyms are read the same way.

With my kbd layout (qwerty/greek), if I replace XK_b with 0x7e2 or XK_Greek_beta, neither monsterwm nor dwm works with it.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#804 2012-07-24 11:20:38

kalle97
Member
Registered: 2012-07-18
Posts: 80

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

simon.swe wrote:

:MonsterWM is great. and bar is great and should be default smile

That's against the philosophy behind monsterwm. tongue

Offline

#805 2012-07-24 11:37:35

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

I'm not sure I can tell why that works with dwm and not monsterwm.
Looking at the dwm source, the keysyms are read the same way.

With my kbd layout (qwerty/greek), if I replace XK_b with 0x7e2 or XK_Greek_beta, neither monsterwm nor dwm works with it.

Hum that's weird.
I would like to bind this keys (with ALT):
5c9dc5b585.jpg
If I press "1 / &" keys, xev says 'ampersand', I write XK_ampersand in config.h as below:

DESKTOPCHANGE(    XK_ampersand,                             0)

but it doesn't work.


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#806 2012-07-24 14:45:06

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

alright, '&' here is 'Shift+7', so trying out different combinations:

     {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_ampersand,          togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* failed */
     {  MOD1,             XK_ampersand,          togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* failed */
     {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_7,                  togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* works! */

can you try with different such combinations ? I suspect it has to do with how modifiers are treated.


kalle97 wrote:
simon.swe wrote:

:MonsterWM is great. and bar is great and should be default smile

That's against the philosophy behind monsterwm. tongue

I mostly stand behind the idea of do one thing, and do it well.
A window manager should manage windows; not draw text or icons, present menus etc.
Having no builtin panel, gives you the ability to choose what software you want to use to get things done.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-07-24 14:48:07)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#807 2012-07-24 15:04:50

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thank you for your help c00kie. Tried all the lignes but it didn't work.
But I modified a line like this:

{  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_1,                  togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* works! */

When I hit these keys (ALT+SHIFT+&), it toggles panel as expected.


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#808 2012-07-24 15:06:48

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

yeah, ampersand is on 1 in your kbd, 7 on mine, so if you need SHIFT+1 to get you '&' then that's what you should put wink


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#809 2012-07-24 16:21:46

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Ok but is there a way I can just use ALT + another key for DESKTOPCHANGE?
About patch I posted, codes like 0x26 are in the keysymdef.h.

#define XK_ampersand                 0x0026

If I use these codes + ALT in my config.h, I don't get why it doesn't work.
Example:

{  MOD1,             0x26,                  togglepanel,       {NULL}},

Added line #include "X11/keysymdef.h" in config.h, it failed too.

Last edited by Ypnose (2012-07-24 17:26:00)


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#810 2012-07-24 18:34:12

simon.swe
Member
From: sverige
Registered: 2012-02-26
Posts: 148
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

alright, '&' here is 'Shift+7', so trying out different combinations:

     {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_ampersand,          togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* failed */
     {  MOD1,             XK_ampersand,          togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* failed */
     {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_7,                  togglepanel,       {NULL}},   /* works! */

can you try with different such combinations ? I suspect it has to do with how modifiers are treated.


kalle97 wrote:
simon.swe wrote:

:MonsterWM is great. and bar is great and should be default smile

That's against the philosophy behind monsterwm. tongue

I mostly stand behind the idea of do one thing, and do it well.
A window manager should manage windows; not draw text or icons, present menus etc.
Having no builtin panel, gives you the ability to choose what software you want to use to get things done.

You are right smile

Offline

#811 2012-07-25 17:45:58

FirePhoenix
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2011-04-04
Posts: 20
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

How about the systray?
Do everybody use it? I can't use fbpanel with monsterwm. It doesn't show. I also can't find any patch (like systray patch in dwm) for this.
Any suggestion?
P/s Sorry if this post is in wrong place and my bad english.
Just come from dwm.

Offline

#812 2012-07-25 20:49:27

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 664

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

No, _everybody_ certantly dosen't use a systray!

There's no patches for monsterwm, but there's however different branches with different functionality... Check out the arch wiki article about monsterwm + of course it' github readme page.

If you want a systray, then i've seen others recommending stalonetray

Offline

#813 2012-07-26 01:57:10

FirePhoenix
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2011-04-04
Posts: 20
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

mhertz wrote:

No, _everybody_ certantly dosen't use a systray!

There's no patches for monsterwm, but there's however different branches with different functionality... Check out the arch wiki article about monsterwm + of course it' github readme page.

If you want a systray, then i've seen others recommending stalonetray

I got it. I have read about branches when i started with monsterwm. I thought it like a patch. Sorry for my mistake.
Thanks, I haven't use systray for a long time. Today I just want to try monsterwm with tray because my friend ask me about that smile.

Offline

#814 2012-07-26 08:46:29

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

FirePhoenix wrote:

I got it. I have read about branches when i started with monsterwm. I thought it like a patch. Sorry for my mistake.
Thanks, I haven't use systray for a long time. Today I just want to try monsterwm with tray because my friend ask me about that smile.

I did systray code for Pandora, when I forked monsterwm for it.
I don't have any patches or so now, but the code is here https://gist.github.com/2400943.

I think it's possible to use application like trayer or so as well, but I don't like them much.

Offline

#815 2012-07-26 12:23:29

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Nobody can help me?


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#816 2012-07-26 18:01:43

simon.swe
Member
From: sverige
Registered: 2012-02-26
Posts: 148
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I remember that it was possible to run subtle on top of xmonad. So I tried to run subtle in monsterwm. And it worked. So.. it must be possible to use the subtle statusbar(it is but not so functional to monsterwm).

Offline

#817 2012-07-27 19:39:03

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I'm having a problem. In monocle mode with 3 or more windows open, when I go to switch windows, it starts flickering and I lose control. It's firefox and two terminals or three terminals. It doesn't happen with two windows. I hacked up my config.h quite a bit and rather quickly, so maybe it's something here on my part. Anybody else experiencing this? Thanks

edit: actually it only happens when I use next_win, which is MOD4+k for me (I have MOD4+j for prev_win). Backwards, I know.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-07-27 20:16:47)

Offline

#818 2012-07-27 20:20:58

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

stlarch wrote:

I'm having a problem. In monocle mode with 3 or more windows open, when I go to switch windows, it starts flickering and I lose control. It's firefox and two terminals or three terminals. It doesn't happen with two windows. I hacked up my config.h quite a bit and rather quickly, so maybe it's something here on my part. Anybody else experiencing this? Thanks

edit: actually it only happens when I use next_win, which is MOD4+k for me (I have MOD4+j for prev_win). Backwards, I know.

Your problem sounds pretty weird. I can't seem to re-produce your problem with MOD4 + j/k. I opened firefox and 2 terminals (urxvts) in monocle mode in another desktop.

Here's my config.def.h if it helps you to trace the issue:

/* see LICENSE for copyright and license */

#ifndef CONFIG_H
#define CONFIG_H

/** buttons **/
#define MOD1            Mod1Mask    /* ALT key */
#define MOD4            Mod4Mask    /* Super key */
#define CTRL		ControlMask /* Control key */
#define SHIFT           ShiftMask   /* Shift key */

/** generic settings **/
#define MASTER_SIZE     0.56
#define SHOW_PANEL      True
#define TOP_PANEL       True
#define PANEL_HEIGHT    15
#define DEFAULT_MODE    TILE
#define ATTACH_ASIDE    True
#define FOLLOW_MOUSE    False
#define FOLLOW_WINDOW   False
#define CLICK_TO_FOCUS  False
#define BORDER_WIDTH    1
#define FOCUS           "#dc7802"
#define UNFOCUS         "#141414"
#define DESKTOPS        4
#define DEFAULT_DESKTOP 0
#define MINWSZ          25

/* open applications to specified desktop with specified mode.
 * if desktop is negative, then current is assumed */
static const AppRule rules[] = { \
    /*  class        desktop  follow  float */
    { "Pidgin",         1,    False,  True },
    { "Gimp",           2,    False,  False},
    { "thunar",        -1,    True,   True },
    { "medit",         -1,    True,   True },
    { "dwb",	       -1,    True,   True },
    { "mplayer2",      -1,    True,   False },
    { "feh",           -1,    True,   True },
    { "URXvt",         -1,    True,   False },
    { "fbpanel",       -1,    True,   True },
    { "PSX",	       -1,    True,   True },
    { "lxappearance",  -1,    True,   True },
    { "Deadbeef",      -1,    True,   True },
    { "nitrogen",      -1,    True,   True },
    { "Snes9x-gtk",    -1,    True,   True },
    { "file-roller",   -1,    True,   True },
    { "7zFM",          -1,    True,   True },
    { "wine",          -1,    True,   True },
    { "winecfg",       -1,    True,   True },
    { "Gpicview",      -1,    True,   True },
    { "Transmission-gtk", -1,    True,   True },
};

/* helper for spawning shell commands */
#define SHCMD(cmd) {.com = (const char*[]){"/bin/sh", "-c", cmd, NULL}}

/** commands **/
static const char *menucmd[]	   = { "dmenu_run", "-fn", "Terminus 12", NULL};
static const char *filecmd[]	   = { "thunar", NULL };
static const char *termcmd[]	   = { "urxvtc", NULL };
static const char *webcmd[]	   = { "dwb", NULL };
static const char *lolicmd[]       = { "lolictrl", NULL };
static const char *gtkmenucmd[]	   = { "mygtkmenu", "/home/shn/.menu", NULL };

#define DESKTOPCHANGE(K,N) \
    {  MOD1,             K,              change_desktop, {.i = N}}, \
    {  MOD1|ShiftMask,   K,              client_to_desktop, {.i = N}},

/** Shortcuts **/
static Key keys[] = {
    /* modifier          key            function           argument */
    {  MOD1,             XK_p,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
    {  CTRL,             XK_p,          spawn,             {.com = gtkmenucmd}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_1,          spawn,             {.com = webcmd}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_3,          spawn,             {.com = filecmd}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_Return,     spawn,             {.com = termcmd}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_b,          togglepanel,       {NULL}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_BackSpace,  focusurgent,       {NULL}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_c,          killclient,        {NULL}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_j,          next_win,          {NULL}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_k,          prev_win,          {NULL}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_h,          resize_master,     {.i = -5}},  /* decrease */
    {  MOD1,             XK_l,          resize_master,     {.i = +5}},  /* increase */
    {  MOD1,             XK_i,          resize_stack,      {.i = -10}}, /* shrink */
    {  MOD1,             XK_o,          resize_stack,      {.i = +10}}, /* grow   */
    {  MOD1|CTRL,	 XK_h,          rotate,            {.i = -1}},
    {  MOD1|CTRL,	 XK_l,          rotate,            {.i = +1}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_h,          rotate_filled,     {.i = -1}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_l,          rotate_filled,     {.i = +1}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_Tab,        last_desktop,      {NULL}},
    {  MOD1,             XK_m,          swap_master,       {NULL}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_j,          move_down,         {NULL}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_k,          move_up,           {NULL}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_t,          switch_mode,       {.i = TILE}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_m,          switch_mode,       {.i = MONOCLE}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_b,          switch_mode,       {.i = BSTACK}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_g,          switch_mode,       {.i = GRID}},
    {  MOD1|SHIFT,       XK_f,          switch_mode,       {.i = FLOAT}},
    {  MOD1|CTRL,	 XK_r,          quit,              {.i = 0}}, /* quit with exit value 0 */
    {  MOD1|CTRL,	 XK_q,          quit,              {.i = 1}}, /* quit with exit value 1 */
    {  CTRL,             XK_Down,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,  20,   0,   0 }}}, /* move up    */
    {  CTRL,             XK_Up,         moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0, -20,   0,   0 }}}, /* move down  */
    {  CTRL,             XK_Right,      moveresize,        {.v = (int []){  20,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move right */
    {  CTRL,             XK_Left,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){ -20,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move left  */
    {  CTRL|SHIFT,       XK_Down,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0,  20 }}}, /* height grow   */
    {  CTRL|SHIFT,       XK_Up,         moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0, -20 }}}, /* height shrink */
    {  CTRL|SHIFT,       XK_Right,      moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,  20,   0 }}}, /* width grow    */
    {  CTRL|SHIFT,       XK_Left,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0, -20,   0 }}}, /* width shrink  */
       DESKTOPCHANGE(    XK_F1,                             0)
       DESKTOPCHANGE(    XK_F2,                             1)
       DESKTOPCHANGE(    XK_F3,                             2)
       DESKTOPCHANGE(    XK_F4,                             3)
};

static Button buttons[] = {
    {  MOD1,    Button1,     mousemotion,   {.i = MOVE}},
    {  MOD1,    Button3,     mousemotion,   {.i = RESIZE}},
    {  CTRL,    Button3,     spawn,         {.com = gtkmenucmd}},
};
#endif

EDIT. Your problem feels similiar to my problem I had before with CLICK_TO_FOCUS or FOLLOW_MOUSE.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-07-27 20:23:18)

Offline

#819 2012-07-27 20:33:08

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks Shinryuu, it was FOLLOW_MOUSE. I've set it to False for now.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-07-27 20:33:55)

Offline

#820 2012-07-27 21:18:32

DoctorSamulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 53

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Probably more of a urxvt issue than a monsterwm one but is anyone having problems with the focus / unfocus border rendering with urxvt? Every single other program works fine with it.. Anyone have a solution for this (aside from switch terminals tongue) ?

borders being displayed correctly (green & grey)
urxvt only renders blue and slightly lighter blue borders
the compositor isn't causing the problem, I disabled it here

Here are my configs..
.Xresources
.config.h

Offline

#821 2012-07-28 09:25:57

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I have no problems with urxvt here. The only difference I can spot is that you are using true transparency with depth option. Try without them or without depth option and see it it affects the border coloring

Here's my urxvt settings

# Shinryuu's config
# Colors

*foreground:	#ebebeb
*background:	#121212

!black
*color0:	#1C1C1C
*color8:	#4d4d4d
!red
*color1:	#D81860
*color9:	#F00060
!green
*color2:	#B7CE42
*color10:	#BDE077
!yellow
*color3:	#FEA63C
*color11:	#FFE863
!blue
*color4:	#66AABB
*color12:	#AACCBB
!magenta
*color5:	#B7416E
*color13:	#BB4466
!cyan
*color6:	#5E7175
*color14:	#A3BABF
!white
*color7:	#DDEEDD
*color15:	#6C887A

urxvt.colorBD:  #857672
urxvt.colorIT:  #bbbbbb
urxvt.colorUL:  #999999

# Settings
urxvt*termName:		screen-256color
urxvt*scrollBar:	false
urxvt.font:		-*-terminusmodx-medium-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
urxvt*boldFont:         -*-terminusmod-bold-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

# Clickable URLs
urxvt.perl-ext-common:  default,matcher
urxvt.urlLauncher:      dwb
urxvt.matcher.button:   1 
urxvt.underlineURLs:	true

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-07-28 09:50:25)

Offline

#822 2012-07-28 09:58:42

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

stlarch wrote:

Thanks Shinryuu, it was FOLLOW_MOUSE. I've set it to False for now.

For the reference, this was the problem I had before https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 5#p1077355 scroll a bit down to see cookieboys answer

Offline

#823 2012-07-28 11:52:30

DoctorSamulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 53

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Shinryuu wrote:

I have no problems with urxvt here. The only difference I can spot is that you are using true transparency with depth option. Try without them or without depth option and see it it affects the border coloring

Here's my urxvt settings

# Shinryuu's config
# Colors

*foreground:	#ebebeb
*background:	#121212

!black
*color0:	#1C1C1C
*color8:	#4d4d4d
!red
*color1:	#D81860
*color9:	#F00060
!green
*color2:	#B7CE42
*color10:	#BDE077
!yellow
*color3:	#FEA63C
*color11:	#FFE863
!blue
*color4:	#66AABB
*color12:	#AACCBB
!magenta
*color5:	#B7416E
*color13:	#BB4466
!cyan
*color6:	#5E7175
*color14:	#A3BABF
!white
*color7:	#DDEEDD
*color15:	#6C887A

urxvt.colorBD:  #857672
urxvt.colorIT:  #bbbbbb
urxvt.colorUL:  #999999

# Settings
urxvt*termName:		screen-256color
urxvt*scrollBar:	false
urxvt.font:		-*-terminusmodx-medium-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
urxvt*boldFont:         -*-terminusmod-bold-r-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

# Clickable URLs
urxvt.perl-ext-common:  default,matcher
urxvt.urlLauncher:      dwb
urxvt.matcher.button:   1 
urxvt.underlineURLs:	true

You were right thanks. I should have tried that... Sucks that I won't be able to use true transparency sad oh well thanks though.

Offline

#824 2012-07-28 15:32:39

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Shinryuu wrote:

For the reference, this was the problem I had before https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 5#p1077355 scroll a bit down to see cookieboys answer

Thanks. It seems I vaguely remember this from before. My memory is about as short as my you know what these days. I think it's the onset of oldtimers. I shouldn't even joke about that. Anyway, I can't remember why I wanted that enabled either. (probably something with firefox?) It works great with it set to false though and solved a couple other things I was noticing too so I'll just leave it disabled.
There are a couple other things I noticed. When I have a terminal open in say monocle and switch to floating, part of the border goes slightly off the screen and when switching from floating to any other layout requires me to hit the key combo a second time for the change to take effect. Neither are a big deal at all to me since i rarely use floating mode (other than for screenshots).

Offline

#825 2012-07-28 16:52:49

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

When you are in a monocle mode, you have no borders and when you switch back to anything else like floating mode, you get borders smile That's explains the behaviour you are experiencing so it should be normal.

But.. I also experience the thing that you have to press the button two times when you want to change your layout mode. I'm not sure but I feel there might be an answer for that in this thread. For some reason I feel it's most likely normal to have that behaviour.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB