You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-28 14:33:03

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Dual monitor setup

Hi guys,

I have a dual monitor setup and have recently just installed Arch on it.
With Ubuntu my left monitor (monitor 1) successfully operates on 1360x768 and my right monitor (monitor 0) on 1600x900 - both 16:9

Monitor 1 user-manual shows display modes:
640x400
640x480
800x600
1024x768
1152x864
1280x1024
1360x768

(also up to 1080 in TV mode)

In my current Arch setup monitor 1 is using 1280x960 (4:3) and everything looks stretched.
Nvidia Settings shows supported res:
400x300
512x384
700x525
800x600
830x624
1024x768
1152x864
1280x960
1280x1024
1400x1050

---------------------

Firstly, how come I am getting weird supported display modes being identified?
Secondly, more importantly, how can I get monitor 1 to successfully display 1360x768 ? I have tried copying over the xorg.conf from Ubuntu into Arch, but each time I reboot monitor 1 gets disabled and when re-enabled only allows the detected strange modes.

Offline

#2 2012-07-31 21:37:53

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,054

Re: Dual monitor setup

You do not tell what desktop environment you use. You can configure dual monitor with the generic xrandr tool. Type xrandr to see the detected resolution. To put one monitor beside the other, use something like:

xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto --output VGA1 --right-of LVDS1

Offline

#3 2012-07-31 21:54:18

Terminator
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2012-05-07
Posts: 265

Re: Dual monitor setup

kaipee wrote:

Secondly, more importantly, how can I get monitor 1 to successfully display 1360x768 ? I have tried copying over the xorg.conf from Ubuntu into Arch, but each time I reboot monitor 1 gets disabled and when re-enabled only allows the detected strange modes.

xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1360x768 

Note: LVDS might have to be replaced by the name of your output, if you don't figure it out: post the output of xrandr -q.

Getting monitor 0 on 1600x900 will be the difficult one (if 1600x900 indeed is not shown by xrandr).

kaipee wrote:

Firstly, how come I am getting weird supported display modes being identified?

Why are they weird :-)? If in ubuntu other modes are shown, I guess that in ubuntu you are using a different driver.

If you need further support, you should post the full output of 'xrandr -q' and tell us which graphic card and driver you are using.

Offline

#4 2012-08-05 12:40:19

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

Hi there,

Apologies for not getting back, I'm moving house and have no internet connection atm.

@olive - I am using Gnome-shell with nvidia proprietary drivers. My dual monitors do work side by side, what I'm having issues with is enabling (or forcing) the correct resolutions on my left monitor

@Terminator - They are weird because non of the 'detected' display modes are in fact the 'actual' supported display modes as per the screens user manual (I'm not basing it on Ubuntu....which strangely did detect/allow the correct supported modes)
Also all the detected display modes seem to be 4:3 or thereabouts yet the monitor is a widescreen 16:9 monitor lol

[kaipee@zoostorm-arch ~]$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G92 [GeForce 9800 GT] (rev a2)
[kaipee@zoostorm-arch ~]$ xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 2880 x 960, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 connected 1600x900+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 443mm x 249mm
   1600x900       60.0*+
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1280x720       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2  
   700x525       120.0  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9  
   512x384       140.1    120.0  
   400x300       144.4  
DVI-I-1 connected 1280x960+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       75.0 +   70.1     60.0  
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1280x1024      60.0  
   1280x960       60.0* 
   1152x864       75.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        75.0     72.2  
   700x525       120.0  
   512x384       140.1    120.0  
   400x300       144.4  
TV-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
[kaipee@zoostorm-arch ~]$ xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --mode 1360x768
xrandr: cannot find mode 1360x768

What I intend to have is:
Twinview
left monitor: 1360x768 (maybe try to force 1600x900 - the screen does support it but only listed as TV mode and not as PC input mode)
right monitor: 1600x900 default

Offline

#5 2012-08-05 16:50:47

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Dual monitor setup

For the quick-and-easy solution, install arandr, the graphical front-end to xrandr.  You can then stick the output in the "Properties" dialogue into a script.  I've never used Twinview myself, but isn't it just a front-end to Xinerama?

Offline

#6 2012-08-05 17:13:32

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,399

Re: Dual monitor setup

ANOKNUSA wrote:

I've never used Twinview myself, but isn't it just a front-end to Xinerama?

No, it's Nvidia's implementation of a merged framebuffer. xrandr1.2 is another implementation of a merged framebuffer, used by the open drivers. With the 300 series, Nvidia has switched to xrandr1.2, but it's not fully complete yet. So it's a bit of a mess right now.

Xinerama isn't a merged framebuffer, it's some weird strange thingy that does crazy stuff, which among other things has a significant impact on performance.

kaipee wrote:

the screen does support it but only listed as TV mode and not as PC input mode

This kinda sounds to me like marketing BS. As in, the display doesn't actually support it, it lies about it and then does internal scaling.

Offline

#7 2012-09-28 17:13:59

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

Either way Gusar how can I get it to work with the resolution that is both detected and functional on both Ubuntu and Windows 7?
Any ideas about what is it in Ubuntu and Windows 7 that Arch can't seem to handle?

Desired setup:
Twinview
left monitor: 1360x768 (maybe try to force 1600x900 - the screen does support it but only listed as TV mode and not as PC input mode)
right monitor: 1600x900 default

Last edited by kaipee (2012-09-28 17:14:40)

Offline

#8 2012-09-28 17:15:27

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

Would logging into Ubuntu / Win7 and somehow saving the EDID be of any use?

Offline

#9 2012-09-28 18:17:14

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 458
Website

Re: Dual monitor setup

Does nvidia-settings recognize the monitor? What monitors do you have and what graphics card are you using? nvidia-settings works just fine for me, although I just have 2 pretty standard 1920x1080 monitors.


My tech blog: Daemon Dancing in the Dark
My Arch Linux blog: ArChatter

Offline

#10 2012-10-01 12:47:51

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

Hi jdarnold, it only shows up as CRT-1 in nvidia-settings.
Using a Inno3D 9800Gt Green
The monitor is a Sharp LC-22LE22E

VGA + HDMI will not work on the card, so I use VGA + DVI (with DVI > VGA adaptor).

Setup is:-

Main screen
Acer v203h
1600x900
VGA

Second screen
Sharp LC-22LE22E
1152x864  (though it DOES detect and work on both 1360x768 & 1600x900 on other systems - on Arch it doesn't even detect any 16:9 resolutions)
DVI > VGA adaptor

Last edited by kaipee (2012-10-01 19:35:02)

Offline

#11 2012-10-01 19:36:38

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

UPDATE: it's a Sharp LC-22LE22E

I believe this is the datasheet from SHARP'S website : https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B-Crb5 … 1B0RnlzbXM

Last edited by kaipee (2012-10-01 19:53:20)

Offline

#12 2012-10-02 14:28:18

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 458
Website

Re: Dual monitor setup

That is very odd.  I have a GTX 560Ti, both monitors are on DVI->VGA and it detects them both just fine (even with using a KVM switch). I did buy a HDMI TV display that, when you used its VGA port, did not, in fact, support 1920x1080 like it said. My ASUS works just fine though. But you say other OSes do, in fact, see the other resolutions, eh? I repeat - Very odd.


My tech blog: Daemon Dancing in the Dark
My Arch Linux blog: ArChatter

Offline

#13 2012-10-02 14:34:07

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

lol I know jdarnold, this is what I'm saying - it's just really wierd.

With both Ubuntu and Windows 7 it 'works' fine at 1360x768 (widesreen) yet in Arch it doesn't even detect or allow any widescreen settings, let alone up to 1360x768 !
[I also vaguely remember it working on Fedora when I trialled using it]

I have tried adding custom resolution in randr but they would get accepted.

There must be something that can be done. Like I say, would the EDID from another OS help? Is there some way I can brute force Arch to output 1360x768 as the TV will accept it?

Offline

#14 2012-11-10 19:19:14

kaipee
Member
From: Belfast, UK
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 200

Re: Dual monitor setup

So is there no way to force output resolution on a second monitor in Arch?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB