You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-03 20:21:02

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

[solved] /sbin/init does not exist

i switched to systemd, but i didn't have systemd-sysvcompat, and i think that i may have some extra line in my syslinux.cfg. when i boot up, i get the following error:

Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist.

and then all that appears is:

[rootfs /]#

how should i proceed?

by the way, i don't have any installation media on me.

thanks.

Last edited by anti-destin (2012-08-03 20:40:17)

Offline

#2 2012-08-03 20:26:36

Pres
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 423

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

Add "init=/bin/systemd" to your kernel line.

Offline

#3 2012-08-03 20:28:17

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

how can i edit it? i can't get into my system.

Offline

#4 2012-08-03 20:32:43

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,656

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

You don't have any live media or rescue CD/USB? (you don't need the install media, just something that can boot) What can you do at that "rootfs" prompt?

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-08-03 20:33:03)

Offline

#5 2012-08-03 20:36:30

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

i have no live media on me at the moment.

i can't do anything at the rootfs prompt, or at least i'm not sure what i should be trying.

Offline

#6 2012-08-03 20:36:30

Pres
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 423

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

Should be able to edit the kernel line through your bootloader. I use Syslinux, so just pressing tab on the menu item allows me to edit it.

Offline

#7 2012-08-03 20:38:32

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,619

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

If a kernel parameter is the issue, just press Tab at the syslinux menu to modify the details of the selected entry.

edit: ninja'd sad

Last edited by alphaniner (2012-08-03 20:39:05)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#8 2012-08-03 20:40:03

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

thank you, pres (and alphaniner)! that worked perfectly.

Offline

#9 2012-08-03 20:50:13

Pres
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 423

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

By the way, you are really living on the edge if you only have one computer and no boot-able media lying around smile.

Offline

#10 2013-03-05 15:24:02

Ghis1964
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 4

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

I tried to edit the booting kernel as offered/explained above and didn't resolve my boot.

I do believe this is a hard-disks issue due to systemd. But I also believe it can be caused by VirtualBox.
I'm (was) planning to install Arch on 2 old machine. They each have 2-3 old small HDDs (10GB to 40GB each with WinXP installed on one disk respectively, and both are dual booting with CrunchBang) So, when fisrt experimenting, I tried Arch install on a setup as my old pc on a Vbox. Fsck was hanging(full stop) at reboot. Changing HDD setup to simplify it cause it to hang at shut down (with a "giving up" message) either with arch or archbang or bridgelinux. Those were on virtual-fixe vdi drives. And now, with 3 virtual-expendable clean drives with "sda1 as /, sda2 for 950mb swap, sdb1 as /usr, and sdc1 for /home", I get this "you are on your own" as a welcome wink ahahahah


I'm only doing this as fun. I like to get my hands dirty at something. Beside, distro-hopping got me to Arch now. I like arch and archbang. It is fast, and not that difficult to resolve when bugs/crash comes along wink

I have another setup in mind for vbox. If that does not, I'll setup one of my old pc with some other HDDs laying around and see what this does, or does not wink

Offline

#11 2013-03-05 16:13:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,147

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

Create a new topic about this, this one has been marked as solved so you probably won't get any additional support here.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#12 2013-03-05 17:03:04

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,552
Website

Re: [solved] /sbin/init does not exist

As WorMzy notes; please respect the perfect form that is the solved thread.


Closing


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB