You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-11 01:52:52

starch
Member
Registered: 2012-08-11
Posts: 3

[SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

Hi,

Happily running arch on my Thinkpad x220 with "tlp" power manager from the AUR and acpid (*not* laptop-mode-tools.)

When I sleep the system, it will wake upon lid open.
I would like to know if I can disable this function and wake on power button only.

I would be fine with either ignoring the ACPI message or disabling the LID sensor entirely.

Thanks in advance,
Starch

Last edited by starch (2012-08-17 05:41:15)

Offline

#2 2012-08-11 15:12:25

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

Edit the ACPI handler script.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#3 2012-08-11 17:01:46

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,047
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

In case you also want to disable it when closing the lid, you could use keybindings to trigger suspend and remove acpid. On my thinkpad x220i do not have acpid installed.

Offline

#4 2012-08-13 16:21:10

starch
Member
Registered: 2012-08-11
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

.:B:. wrote:

Edit the ACPI handler script.

Thanks. I did edit the script by removing the lines relating to LID.
However, the problem continues - still waking upon lid open.
Here's a link to my /etc/acpi/handler.sh if anyone has some input.
https://gist.github.com/3342287

Take care
starch

Offline

#5 2012-08-13 16:32:58

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

I have done this before, can't remember how exactly, but it involves something in sys or proc... there is a file that lists all the possible ways your computer can be woken (ie. via usb 1 2 3 p/s1 etc.) and to change it you simply echo the given input into the file and it will toggle.  Let me see if I can figure it out for you real quick.


Edit: see here, I remembered I was trying to get my old macbook to make from keyboard (which I never figured out), but maybe it will work for you.
http://prodia.co.uk/blog/doahh/entry/li … from_sleep

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-08-13 16:34:38)

Offline

#6 2012-08-13 16:35:38

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

Mine is labeled as LID0 in /proc/acpi/wakeup

Offline

#7 2012-08-13 16:49:38

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

I think it's best to leave the entry in, but replace the action like this instead:

 logger "ACPI action undefined: $2"
                ;;

Then restart acpid or your system.

Last edited by .:B:. (2012-08-13 16:52:20)


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#8 2012-08-13 16:54:58

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

.:B:. wrote:

I think it's best to leave the entry in, but replace the action like this instead:

 logger "ACPI action undefined: $2"
                ;;

I just commented out everything that I didn't like, then added my own.  I think the logger stuff is useful for debugging though.  Personally I just stopped using acpid as slowly most of the functions were being handled by other stuff I began using.  Until the other day when I installed systemd and then I realized there was no reason to be starting that daemon.  Fortunately the 'acpi' command still works a-okay, because I use it to poll for battery in dwm.

Offline

#9 2012-08-14 09:13:45

fijit
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

WonderWoofy wrote:

I have done this before, can't remember how exactly, but it involves something in sys or proc... there is a file that lists all the possible ways your computer can be woken (ie. via usb 1 2 3 p/s1 etc.) and to change it you simply echo the given input into the file and it will toggle.  Let me see if I can figure it out for you real quick.


Edit: see here, I remembered I was trying to get my old macbook to make from keyboard (which I never figured out), but maybe it will work for you.
http://prodia.co.uk/blog/doahh/entry/li … from_sleep

This post helped with me fix a problem I have been having with my laptop where it would run down the battery when powered off - the ethernet and usb were using power waiting for wake events even though both were disabled in the bios. So thanks WonderWoofy!

Offline

#10 2012-08-14 09:16:32

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

Yeah, no problem, just don't forget to mark the thread as solved.

Offline

#11 2012-08-17 03:39:51

starch
Member
Registered: 2012-08-11
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

WonderWoofy wrote:

Yeah, no problem, just don't forget to mark the thread as solved.

WonderWoofy,
Thanks! Perfect.
Just to clarify so it's in the thread -

# echo LID > /proc/acpi/wakeup

Or whatever your LID happens to be.
I added that to my /etc/rc.local to run on boot.

Best
Starch

Last edited by starch (2012-08-17 03:59:44)

Offline

#12 2012-08-20 00:18:55

Ivyl
Member
From: Gdansk
Registered: 2012-08-19
Posts: 2
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

Note to self: NEVER POST BY NIGHT,

I posted in a wrong thread, sorry.

Last edited by Ivyl (2012-08-20 00:26:35)


"Poets do not go mad; but chess-players do. Mathematicians go mad, and cashiers; but creative artists very seldom. [...] The madman is not the man who has lost his reason. He is the man who has lost everything except his reason."

Offline

#13 2013-01-29 10:03:46

eruditorum
Member
Registered: 2012-11-12
Posts: 130

Re: [SOLVED] How do I: *NOT* wake on lid open

I have opposite problem: I want to make my laptop resume from S3 on lid open, but there is no LID record in "/proc/acpi/wakeup"!!!
It will wake up in Windows (with special vendor-software only, so the LID SENSOR actually exists?), but not in Linux sad

What can I do?

Last edited by eruditorum (2013-01-30 06:56:39)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB