You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-30 11:17:58

ilembitov
Member
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 124

A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Although this project seems to be out there for a while already, a quick search through ArchLinux forums shows that it didn't get any mentions here.

OpenCDE is a clone of CDE, а vintage DE back from 90s based around the Motif toolkit.

Right now OpenCDE is basically mwm + a custom toolbar (that resembles the look & feel of the original CDE toolbar:

OpenCDE screenshot

However, the project is pretty active (it seems that there is only one developer ATM, however), but I guess it doesn't have any proper attention from the community. I believe, it could be interesting to several groups of users:

-folks who need a lightweight environment

-folks who have access to the original platforms where CDE used to be prominent. OpenCDE is available on FreeBSD and (soon) OpenBSD, so it should be available on these platforms. Thus, those users might get the authentic look&feel

-folks who just want to have something old school smile

The author mentions that he wants to do some extra software using the WxWidgets/OpenMotif toolchain, like a filemanager, a text editor and a network connection manager. So the whole stuff might get even more exciting.

Last edited by ilembitov (2010-08-30 11:28:41)

Offline

#2 2010-08-30 13:06:09

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,522
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

One of my favorite OSNews articles is about how the best graphical user interface is CDE.

Common Usability Terms: pt. VII: CDE

I notice OpenCDE is in the AUR: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=37945

I'm at work and am not able to learn more about OpenCDE at the moment. Does it put minimized windows on the desktop yet? That might be my favorite feature of CDE, Window Maker, and (yes) Windows 3.1. Or, a more general question would be, how much of the functionality of CDE has already been implemented in OpenCDE?

Also, how are you involved with the project?

Thanks!

Offline

#3 2010-09-02 22:49:36

valium97582
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 126

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

This is available on Xfce AFAIK.


I'm also known as zmv on IRC.

Offline

#4 2010-09-03 17:26:05

tomd123
Developer
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 565

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

valium97582 wrote:

This is available on Xfce AFAIK.

I think xfce was originally designed to look like cde, but now is completely different.

Offline

#5 2012-08-06 15:10:40

ch_123
Member
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 17

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Sorry for digging up an old thread, but it may be a good place to point out that the original CDE has been open sourced. See here

Some info here. According to this it is only working with Debian and Ubuntu at the moment while some issues are resolved.

Last edited by ch_123 (2012-08-06 15:12:49)

Offline

#6 2012-08-06 16:49:43

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,522
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

ch_123 wrote:

According to this it is only working with Debian and Ubuntu at the moment while some issues are resolved.

Hah. Challenge accepted.

I wonder if anyone will work on making this wonderful desktop environment a little prettier. big_smile Who knows? Maybe we'll even see a CDEBUNTU release!

Offline

#7 2012-08-06 17:39:50

farvardin
Member
Registered: 2008-09-03
Posts: 120
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

I'd love to see an AUR for the original CDE!

Offline

#8 2012-08-08 22:16:09

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Hi!

I am documentation lead for CDE and I'll be happy to answer any questions you might have.

CDE is pretty stable on Debian Squeeze and Ubuntu.

CDE on Archlinux, like other non-Debian distributions, has issues running CDE. Compiling usually not a problem, running is. There is a bug with CDE's ToolTalk and it's a fairly nasty complex issues that makes tracking it down hard.

Work is in progress to fix this issue. Track git to see progress.

Offline

#9 2012-08-10 01:27:57

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Looks like CDE might work on Archlinux. Pull the latest from git and try it out.

Offline

#10 2012-08-10 17:44:55

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 176
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Almost there! big_smile

2012-08-10--CDE-first-shot-missing-pixmaps.png

Same issue that Juergen reported over here — I'm missing some pixmaps. Any hints on that?

I'm currently running it inside of VirtualBox because I didn't want to mess up my system. Has anybody tried to create a PKGBUILD yet? Hm, maybe it's a bit too early for that.

Online

#11 2012-08-10 21:42:02

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Okay you are getting the same issue Slackware users are. That means it's not a Slack issue but something else, deeper down.

Offline

#12 2012-08-11 12:29:53

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 924

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

On August 6, 2012, CDE was freed under the LGPL free software license

Originally the objetive of openCDE is because the CDE use a clossed source model but, now that CDE is LGPL, what happend in the future of this project?


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#13 2012-08-11 12:38:20

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

The developer of OpenCDE joined CDE. OpenCDE is now officially deprecated.

Offline

#14 2012-08-15 11:34:33

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 176
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

(I'm not exactly sure if this is the right place to post this ... maybe this thread should be split?)

I guess not everyone is following the CDE bugtracker:

One way to fix the broken pixmaps is to patch openmotif. It's not a bug in openmotif per se -- it's that openmotif in conjunction with libjpeg-turbo has some glitches. Refer to the following two bug reports:

https://sourceforge.net/p/cdesktopenv/tickets/7/
http://bugs.motifzone.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1546

On Arch Linux, patching openmotif can be done with the PKGBUILD and patch over here. Note that I also had to adjust the source URL for openmotif (see also). Rebuilding openmotif does the job, there's no need to recompile CDE itself.

Patching openmotif is a workaround, though. People say libjpeg-turbo should be configured with "--without-arith-enc --without-arith-dec" to achieve ABI compatibility with libjpeg (see bugreport on motifzone). But I'm afraid this could trigger a massive rebuild of other packages (I'm not sure), so fixing openmotif is a quicker way to get things working.

2012-08-15--CDE-fixed-pixmaps.png

Online

#15 2012-08-15 16:58:31

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

This really cool! I'll have to add this to the official wiki.

Offline

#16 2012-08-15 19:14:42

ksira
Member
Registered: 2009-10-27
Posts: 31

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Wow, I remember my dad taking me to work when I was like 12. I pointed to this computer that must have been running CDE and asked him what it was, he told me that some people around there used UNIX. 15 year mystery solved!

Offline

#17 2012-08-16 01:39:37

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

The patch works great. I'll update the wiki.

Last edited by woomia (2012-08-16 01:41:17)

Offline

#18 2012-08-16 01:55:40

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Thanks for testing CDE on Archlinux. It's on the Linux Build page:
https://sourceforge.net/p/cdesktopenv/wiki/LinuxBuild/

And the supported platforms page:
https://sourceforge.net/p/cdesktopenv/w … Platforms/

Note: If anyone can test on x86_64 Archlinux, that'd be cool.

Offline

#19 2012-08-16 07:25:05

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 176
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Err, I just got an e-mail that I deleted too quickly (I'm in a rush right now). smile

IIRC, you, woomia, were asking in this thread how to get rpcbind running in insecure mode. I edited /etc/rc.d/rpcbind and changed line 10 from

    [ -z "$PID" ] && /usr/bin/rpcbind &>/dev/null

to

    [ -z "$PID" ] && /usr/bin/rpcbind -i &>/dev/null

Yes, it's ugly, but there's simply no configuration options for rpcbind. Maybe with systemd, I don't know. I'm still using initscripts.

(Maybe I'll get the chance to try CDE on x86_64 this evening.)

Last edited by Vain (2012-08-16 07:26:23)

Online

#20 2012-08-16 13:08:36

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Ah, that explains the problem I was having. I'll add this to the wiki as well.

Offline

#21 2012-08-16 15:58:20

ecmel
Member
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 29
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

Hi, anybody working on a PKGBUILD yet?

I am stuck on installCDE script, is there a way to convince it to install in $pkgdir?

Offline

#22 2012-08-16 16:10:10

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

I dont know, but if you manage to convince it to, it may well very break other stuff since CDE only knows a few places to look for things.

Offline

#23 2012-08-16 17:00:39

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 176
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

ecmel wrote:

Hi, anybody working on a PKGBUILD yet?

I am stuck on installCDE script, is there a way to convince it to install in $pkgdir?

Yes, I am, but installCDE seems to be the smaller problem. I think something like this could do the trick:

build() {
  # ...

  # TODO: Parallel build fails.
  make -j1 World

  # installCDE currently can't install to a directory other than /.
  # Fix that. It will only change one single line. This must only be
  # done once to allow for "makepkg -R".
  sed -i "s:mkProd -D :&$pkgdir:" admin/IntegTools/dbTools/installCDE
}

package() {
  cd "$srcdir/$_gitname-build"

  (
    cd cde/admin/IntegTools/dbTools
    export INSTALL_LOCATION="$pkgdir"/usr/dt
    export CONFIGURE_LOCATION="$pkgdir"/etc/dt
    export LOGFILES_LOCATION="$pkgdir"/var/dt
    ./installCDE -s "$srcdir/$_gitname-build/cde"
  )

  # ...

This is still a WIP. I'm sharing it anyway, maybe it helps.

configRun is really messy, though. I gave up on it. Currently, I'm trying to re-implement in the PKGBUILD what configRun was supposed to do.

Online

#24 2012-08-18 03:54:36

ecmel
Member
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 29
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

I have tried the following for configRun

  sed -e "s:/usr:$pkgdir&:g" -e "s:/var:$pkgdir&:g" \
      -e "s:/etc:$pkgdir&:g" -e "s:ROOT=/:ROOT=$pkgdir/:" \
      -i admin/IntegTools/post_install/linux/configRun

Seems to work but strangely installCDE does not install anything in /usr/dt/bin

Offline

#25 2012-08-18 04:00:57

ecmel
Member
Registered: 2012-02-13
Posts: 29
Website

Re: A re-implementation of CDE, OpenCDE

As a side note, the new gcc-4.7.1-6 does not symlink /usr/bin/cpp to /lib/cpp anymore which breaks CDE compile.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB